We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend at Wrea Hall”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend at Wrea Hall”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Wrea Hall 26th and 27th July. It is a grand and imposing building in a beautiful setting. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food was good.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    315
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
208
1,275
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having just returned from a lovely weekend in the delightful setting of Wrea Head, we feel much refreshed and re-invigorated by the experience. Tastefully refurbished accommodation coupled with good food and quality service all contributed to this outcome and we look forward to returning to the Hotel in future.

Room Tip: Room 1 has been refurbished and was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just enjoyed a 3 night break at the Hall. It was our first visit to the Hall but it certainly will not be the last. The staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. Our room had been refurbished and it was lovely, but it was a very warm room. We needed a fan to help keep us cool. The views from the room was superb - overlooking the grounds and the lawn. We stayed on a D, B & B basis and I am so glad we did. Every meal we had was superb and it was nice to be able to enjoy breakfast on the pebbled terrace. Very good value for money. Would certainly recommend Wrea Head Hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheDevil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself, husband and fifteen year old daughter spent two nights here (18th & 19th July) to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday.

We last visited in 2012 to celebrate our silver wedding anniversay, we thought it was fantastic then but two years later even better. The staff work very hard to ensure you have everything you require and the 1881 restaurant meals are superb, a big thanks to Ann once again for helping my plain eating daughter find something to her taste. She enjoyed all her meals and so did we.

We stayed in room 10 that is more than lagre enough for three or four to comfortably spend time. Furnished to a very high standard, the bathroom is fantastic renovated to a high spec, really did not want to come home!

I would recommend that if you want to celebrate an occasion or simply want a peaceful spot on the east coast, there is nowhere better than Wrea Head Hall, clearly a lot and time and effort has been invested into the Hall and there are plans for this to continue. The renovations are in keeping with the Hall's character and charm. You can sit out on the terrace and have a drink or afternoon tea and hear nothing but birds singing and sheep bleeting in the distance.

We shall visit again and recommend to friends and family, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaznet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything was perfect for us during our stay at the hotel. Our room was good, the service excellent and the food fantastic. As for the cost, we thought they had made a mistake as it was such good value.

The setting is fantastic and the building has a lot of character. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: We were told all rooms were good and ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeB708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just had my first stay here, but it won't be the last! Splendid country house hotel with original features throughout, located amidst spectacular grounds and gardens overlooking a restful and relaxing pastoral scene, yet only a few minutes away from the beauty of the Yorkshire Coast at Scarborough. All this with excellent rooms, delicious food and high quality service from very friendly staff means this is a real find - Pimms on the terrace and Croquet on the lawn, just fabulous!

Room Tip: The hotel is currently mid room refurbishment so ring reception if possible and grab the chance to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisM732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Travel Dates 3rd and 4th July


A friendly welcome from the proprietor with minimum formality who carried our bag up to our 1st floor room no 14. Our room recently refurbished (except carpets) around 14’ square and with a huge 7’ bed overlooked the conservatory below, sweeping lawns and on to pasture land.- idyllic. Decorated in Victorian style of painted wood panelled walls perfectly in keeping with the houses age and style. The flat screen TV on the wall did not detract from the ambiance. The bathroom tastefully refurbished in style with l’Occitaine toiletries and lovely soft towels. The hot water was too hot to the hands and so was the cold until it had run for around a minute as a result of both hot and cold using parallel tracts.

Free Wifi is available in the room with a commendable download speed of 30Mps

The hotel was purchased two years ago and since then the owners have spent considerable sums on restoring the house to its original state with all public areas completed and most of the bedrooms. The lounge and library rooms gave a restful air which allowed you to think you were back in time. The “modern” bar blended well with the Victorian style which continued into the dining room, itself of necessity a little more functional with tables a little close. Bar staff and dining staff were all pleasant helpful and efficient and smartly turned out as befits a fine dining restaurant. This is not a place for torn jeans and tee shirt so dress up a little and enjoy the experience

At dinner ironed tablecloths and a choice of two menus standard and indulgent though it is possible to mix and match across the two. The food was excellently presented and cooked on both nights though on our first night it could have been a little warmer.

And so to bed. We slept with windows open on our comfortable bed until around 4.0am when the birds decided it was time to get up. We did to close the windows then back to sleep!

Breakfast was made individually to order with a Standard English and fresh hot toast and many other options including kippers which I resolved to have the following morning. This was the biggest kipper I have ever seen and delicious.

A lovely two day restful break. Would we go again? Yes!

We wish the proprietors well with continuing restoration as they bring this lovely old house back to its former glory inside and out.

Room Tip: The web site gives a good description of all rooms. Most will overlook the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing