We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway country house hotel”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
York England
1 review
“A perfect getaway country house hotel”
Reviewed 12 December 2009

I have visited this hotel on several occasions in Winter, Spring, Summer and Autumn and never found it to be less than outstanding.
The service at reception, in the bar and in the restaurant cannot be faulted, the staff are friendly (you're in Yorkshire!), professional, attentive and efficient.

Rooms are fine, bear in mind that this is an Edwardian Country House, the rooms are spotlessly clean with period decor and furniture, beds are comfortable, bathrooms well equipped. But my advice is not to spend too much time in the room other than for sleepig and changing, the public part of the hotel is the place to be. Panelled rooms and a roaring fire.in winter, a beautiful terrace and gardens when the weather is nice.

Close (but not too close) to the seaside town of Scarborough with it's beaches and livley atmosphere. Also close to the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and the Dalby forest, THe Wrea Head Hotel is an ideal base for exploring some of the finest coast and countryside in the UK.

The restaurant serves excellent food too and their amazing 'Full English Breakfast' which will last you all day is worth particular praise.

We are planning our next visits already.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenzelYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    315
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
208
1,275
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east riding of yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Stayed for two nights DBB/BB. Everything was enjoyable. The food lovely, and the staff really helpful. Our room was fairly small,but was adequate for all needs, but as it was a standard room, you would not expect anything special. We saw some of the other rooms which I believe for an extra £10.00 per person per night would have been available so if you like to pay a little extra for a superior this is available. In my opinion this is the kind of place to stay when you need to have a little piece and quiet , some fine food and relax away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. My husband particularly enjoyed relaxing in the armchair next to the glowing open fire. It is a lovely place to stay and we are looking forward to being able to go again . Thanks to all, and Anne the Manager who strives to make sure everything is to your liking.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

My wife and booked this hotel with Friends as a last minute and we got the last room, unfortunately it was on the 3rd floor, and a knee problem didn't help. The room was spacious a little cool but the staff did give me another heater which was welcome. The staff were young, what they lacked in experience was more than made up by their enthusiasm, they were pleasant and helpful. The Manageress, Anne, was always on hand, after 2 days there it's hard to imagine this hotel without her friendliness and watchful eye .
The food was excellent, breakfast ample with a wide choice. We were doubtful about the inclusion of dinner but after the first evening we were delighted and looking forward to our dinner the following evening. We did speak to the manageress about the menu choice, on a limited menu the inclusion of turkey, duck and wood pigeon was a little biased on the feathered side, there was still an option of two meat one fish and one veggi. The wine list had plenty of choice with a good range of wines and prices from £16.00. The ambiance was excellent, it was very comfortable.
I will be coming back here, this is the best 3 star hotel I have stayed in, Next time I may stop in the Rob Brydon suite

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnJYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Myself and three girlfriends stayed for dinner/bed & breakfast. We couldn't have asked for better. The service was second to none, and we were made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms were well furnished, clean and comfortable. We had a look at some of the refurbished rooms and they are spectacular. We are already talking about our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We have just returned from a three day break at the Wrea Head Country House hotel. The staff where friendly and helpful . Our rooms where clean and warm.
Breafast was good and freshly cooked, with a good choice .I think they could do with some nice bakers bread for toast though.
Dinner again was good with plenty of choice ,but the dinning room was just a little cold.
Parking was good . It was very peaceful and the ground very well looked after.
If in the area we would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Just as you would expect a country house to look located at the top of a winding driveway.
Furnished in keeping with its character but with an elegant and inviting lounge bar.
Staff are all very helpful and friendley Ann,the Manager,amongst her many other duties has time for all her guest and makes sure your stay is enjoyable.
The menu choices are very good and we both enjoyed the meals.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekenders35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

service brilliant,ann and all of her staff,especially dean,the barman/waiter.he was wonderful.they couldn't do enough for you.were made to feel very welcome,indeed!the room was immaculate.spotlessly clean with beautiful decor.location was ideal.peaceful surroundings but not far from town center.i cant thank ann and her staff enough.we would definitely recommend this to freinds and will be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayxmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,795 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing