We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,112)
Filter reviews
2,112 results
Traveller rating
1,650
344
77
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
344
77
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indulgence menu country house roll top bath new owners beautiful hotel the general manager four poster bed public rooms dining room standard room relaxing break evening meal kippers wonderful stay nothing is too much trouble short break warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,112 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We stayed three nights in a superior room with wonderful views over the vast grounds. The public rooms are beautiful and extremely comfortable. If the weather was awful one could easily relax in the hotel and enjoy oneself. The staff are so willing and attentive - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast menu is extensive and includes porridge, kippers, haddock with poached eggs, eggs benedict and royale etc. Others have described this as a hidden gem and it really is. We shall return.

Room tip: Go for a superior room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worsteadweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Our daughters booked my husband and I in here for a treat and wow it truly was Beautiful hotel, amazing, helpful and friendly staff nothing was too much for them. 5 star service and meals . How this is not 5* I just dont know . Ideal for special a occasion you will not be disappointed. A hidden gem ! Thank You to Kevin and his team there.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ambassador29080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

A breathtakingly beautiful hotel with amazing views and a 5* experience.
Myself and partner felt truely swept away by the magic of Wrea Head hall.
Greeted with a warm, friendly atmosphere, the staff were so attentive, kind and helpful. We had such a special time at Wrea Head we cannot wait to visit again.
Two nights stay definitely wasn’t long enough for us, we wanted to move in permanently!! :)
My parents also visited soon after and they shared the same experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 841209naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Afternoon tea in the conservatory an a sunny September afternoon. Pure bliss with excellent food and service. This place is a hidden gem that takes you back to a time when the world did not rush frantically around. All in a wonderful setting just outside Scarborough.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lmorgan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

We were looking for an alternative break when rail strikes ruined our weekend plans. We love Scarborough, so had a look on websites to see what was available. We booked a double room for £90 with breakfast which was reasonable for this type of hotel.
What an absolutely lovely place. A warm welcome, shown to our room, asked if we would like to book dinner and an iron/iron board provided when asked.
All of the staff were very polite; reception, bar and restaurant. The bar was cosy and welcoming. Orders for dinner were taken before your reservation time, so that your choice was ready when your table was ready. A lovely meal with great service.

We will definitely return here again, what a gem of a find. My only grumble was that LateRooms gave us a check-in time of 1630hrs, which meant that by the time we arrived there was only one table left for dinner, which was a bit early for us. The actual check-in time is 1500hrs. No fault of the hotel.

Room tip: We were in room 20. Birds very noisy on a morning. Toilet flush is a bit dodgy!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews