We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning with warm friendly feel, excellent food, everyone made to feel very special”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Ste Helens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning with warm friendly feel, excellent food, everyone made to feel very special”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We arrived after a busy week for a special birthday weekend from my husband. The service was out of this world. Anne the manager treats everyone in a very special way, with great care and attention to professionalism and detail.
The room was amazing, a superior double, very clean, comfortable and very well appointed. The location is stunning, restaurant fabulous, and the staff knowledgeable and very friendly and again professional. Also very helpful about places to go, things to do and interested on your return. Nothing is too much trouble.
Couldn't possibly choose the best thing, as my 5* scoring will suggest. We will most definitely return,which speaks for itself! Cannot believe it is not at least a 4*! Anne works really hard and the whole set up is a credit to her. If I had any criticism, the initial welcome at check-in was a little starchy and matter of fact, initially off putting, but James took over and accompanied us to our room, so it was soon forgotten. Fabulous all round experience. We have thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Fiona and Stephen Glover Haydock

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaSteHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,267
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2010

stayed for five nights and enjoyed wonderful food and hospitality.The staff work as agreat team. The room was very comfortable with very large bed!!! and relaxing chairs to sit for reading or watching the large flat screen television. It is a few minutes walk from a coastal path and few minutes drive into Scarborough and near a bus route if required. We liked the tranquil setting and being able to wander around the grounds,especially seeing the lambs at this time of the year. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We were the organisers of a group of ten couples, coming to Scarborough area to play golf and to visit the surrounding countryside. We were extremely pleased with the comfort of the hotel, the first class service from the staff and the excellence of the cuisine. However, we were astonished that the hotel had no internet access for guests, and in this day and age, especially as it was during the election time, that was a big minus. Unsuitable therefore for a conference or business venue.
For this reason we could not forsee staying there again. A great pity.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravelston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My husband and I booked a three night DBB deal. We arrived early but our room was ready and we found all the staff friendly and helpful. The service cannot be faulted; Anne runs a good hotel and she and all her staff make your stay memorable. The location is wonderful and to sit on the sun terrace looking out at the countryside watching the lambs jumping around is just the thing to help you relax straight into a lovely break.
Breakfast was excellent as was dinner - and it was always hot and served on very hot plates.
We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABACHOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Once again we had a really enjoyable holiday thanks to Ann Hodgson's hands on approach to management. If you want a hotel which puts the customer first, and LISTENS to your requirements and aims to always to achieve them, this is the place for you.

The Evening Dinner Menu arrangement has been changed since last time, a move in the right direction we feel. Guests staying on a Dinner inclusive rate choose from the al a carte menu with the realistic allowance provided. The meals are attractively presented,
HOT PLATES when they are meant to be, and mmmmmm!!

The hotel is set in lovely peaceful grounds with veiws to realax and recharge you. There are plenty of lovely walks. We particularly enjoyed walking part of the Cleavland way, along the cliffs lookin out to sea, blows the cobwebs away.

Like all things in life perfection is hard to attain. However it is a compliment to Ann and her team that they strive so hard to acheive it,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The grounds are beautiful and the house is stunning. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food excellent and when asked for a salad only as a starter - no problem (can I have the recipe for the basil dressing). Ann (manager) should be commended for her staff and the welcoming feeling that pervades the hotel.
Room was spacious although in the attic with a more than adequate en-suite.
I would have liked more time to explore the grounds although I did purchase apples to feed the horses which made the sheep jealous.
I found this break to be excellent value and a lot cheaper than some comparable hotels that I have stayed - You truly get what you pay for plus a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darzona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Wrea Head is a hotel we've considered staying at for some years so it comes as something of a disappointment to have to write a less than favourable review and from the moment we arrived the minuses began to be chalked up.
The hospitality of reception staff was well short of welcoming, our room was not available on time and neither were we offered help with our bags. While awaiting our room we decided to take a sandwich and drinks in the bar. The lone barman also doubled as porter etc. etc. and it was a further 30 minutes before anyone came to take our refreshments order. Despite being shown on the bar menu no warm food was available.
When we booked we were told that we had a room upgrade to come but the room we were given was pokey and cold and the two opening windows were broken and wouldn't close leaving a full 1" gap along the whole length of each. The bathroom was adequate but again less than we had hoped for.
Dinner was also disappointing with the fayre obviously not cooked fresh and certainly not to the standard that I was hoping for. Drinks too were very expensive and the range on offer less than acceptable for a hotel of this reputation. On the whole I very much doubt that I would stay at this hotel again. Too Expensive for poor quality and an unfriendly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing