We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place in which to discover one another again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place in which to discover one another again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

The hotel is set amongst a wonderful rural landscape and the grounds are stunning - this adds to the feeling that you have arrived at a country idyle. We stayed in room 4, which had just been rennovated (the bathroom is yet to be completed - this was highlighted at time of booking and does require attention) however the room itself was plush and spacious with real efforts made to add an air of luxury. The bed was excellent with crisp white sheets and plenty of comfortable pillows. A minor critisism would be the inside of the wardrobe which was dusty - I was pleased to have tissue paper with me in order to protect underwear etc. Dinner was excellent - we opted for the dbb rate which we felt was good value as was the £4 additional charge for breakfast served in the room - a definate must! We paid the additional £10 to keep the room until 2pm - which was a lovely way to extend our morning. Service was good and staff were pleasant, friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    312
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
202
1,238
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Our booking was extremely last minute ,only deciding the evening before that we needed a night away after a difficult few weeks. As usual we based our choice on the comments made on tripadvisor & we were pleased to find them accurate. In many ways this is a quaintly old fashioned hotel, but what it lacks in sophistication it more than makes up for in friendly service . By the hotel's own admission we didn't have the best room in the house,but as we had booked very late & in the middle of the summer holidays we were pleased to find a room at all! Despite beng an attic room it was light & very spacious- two double beds so would have been ideal for a family. The menu for the evening meal was excellent;modern international cuisine but unpretentious in its delivery. Every course was delicious.A good night's sleep & an excellent cooked breakfast(all cooked to order) set us up for our day's walk from Filey to Scarborough. We will definitely return & definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katykins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

had a lovley nights stay at the wrea head the staff was very helpful and anne the manager was always around to answer any questions we had evening meal which was just perfect would defoe go back

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

We had an delightful short break during at an especially stressful period of our lives. The level of service and care was exemplary, the hotel is superbly managed with an excellent ethos. The surroundings are delightful, our room was both comfortable and characterful, public rooms and outdoor spaces mirrored that. Food was well planned, prepared and presented. The only criticism is that the hotel could be better signposted off its access road.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0gers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

This has got to be a must hotel if you are visiting scarborough. Service great, staff great and food also great...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds, the views are lovely ... you can sit with your afternoon tea looking out at the sheep grazing. The drive up to the hotel is also very nice. We enjoyed our stay here very much. We had a good deal from Travelzoo, and it was great value for money. The staff couldn't do enough for you, and the food was very good throughout our stay. The only disappointing thing was the room, while it was clean and roomy and comfortable, it was very dated and did need a total re dec. When chatting to the manager Ann, she did inform us that the room we were staying in was due to be decorated.

The barman could not have been more helpful and informative on things to do in the surrounding area - even printing off train time tables for the nearby Steam trains.

We would definitely go back to this hotel - we had a very relaxing stay - and loved the surrounding areas of Whitby and Robin Hood Bay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warrior24Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Pat, my wife and I, have just had two days at our favourite Scarborough hotel. This was our fifth visit. and we were looked after very very well again. We will be going back for the friendly staff and great food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindsay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing