We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Nobody offered to help with our bags. The room had a nice view but was small, bed very hard & uncomfortable. Bathroom clean but really no need for a scrappy computer generated A4 notice stuck to the back of the door reminding guests to wash their hands! Barman was welcoming & efficient. The meal was generally satisfactory but we had to ask for additional cheese as the portions provided were miniscule. Breakfast was a bit of a stampede as everyone seemed to arrive at 8am, which overwhelmed the well meaning staff on duty. We are unlikely to return which is a pity as there is great potential here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missannajobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Dear Miss Annajobelle

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, without this we are unable to improve our standards of service. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment, It is rare that our guests do not enjoy the hospitality we offer at Wrea Head Country House. If I may respond to a couple of your comments;

Normally when guests check in at the reception desk we automatically offer to carry luggage and in fact escort guests to their bedroom, I am therefore at a loss why this did not happen, consequently I have reiterated to all members of the front of house team that is a must to carry out these instructions.

I apologise for the miniscule portion of cheese, again this is not normal, I have brought it to the attention of the Head Chef. Often the food receives excellent comments as you can see from various reviews on this site.

Thank you for your complimentary comments regarding the bar man, I agree he is welcoming and efficient. The team as a whole do their utmost to provide a professional friendly service to our guests.

Our breakfast service is from 7.45 - 9.45 giving guests a two hour period, unfortunately everyone ascending for breakfast at 8am and wanting full english breakfast , which we cook to order, the logistics of producing quickly as you say would overwhelm the well meaning staff .

In conclusion I am sad to hear you will not return to Wrea Head as I feel your experience is not typical of the service and hospitality we provide. Should you change your mind please let me know, I would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you personally to the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Anne Hodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    314
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
1,265
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Went to a superb wedding hosted at the Wrea Head this weekend. The marquee was fabulous, the staff very courteous and the food absolutely amazing.

The setting of the Wrea Head is brilliant too with superb sweeping views of the countryside, that combined with the beautiful country house hotel behind you made for a really perfect weekend. The atmosphere was capped off with an excellent piano player on the terrace too, so I can't recommend The Wrea Head any higher to people!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The trip we had was amazing. The hotel was beautiful as ever, we had stayed a few years ago and has never lost its charm. The manageress could not do enough for us. The food is absolutely fantastic. Well worth going.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We were enticed by a two night special offer and enjoyed our stay. The setting is beautiful. The rooms vary in size and convenience because it was formerly a large house. The interior is quite grand and very comfortable. The staff are very attentive and the service excellent. A good menu but not variable. I'm always supicious when I get a laminated menu and see a 3663 delivery van outside. One would expect to be offered fresh crab in a good Scarborough Hotel but it was not on the menu.. A few words of caution: they do not keep a real ale which is always a disappointment for me. The bottles of beer are acceptable but astronomically priced as was a gin and tonic. So brace yourself when you get your bar bill.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedsbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have just arrived back from 3 fabulous nights at the hotel. This was our second visit and we were not disappinted. The room was tastefully decorated and high standards of cleanliness are maintained. The food was delicous and a very wide choice. The service was impeccable. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Wrea Head Country House Hotel, we appreciate your lovely comments, it makes our job so much more worthwhile when we know we have achieved the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kindest regards

Anne and the team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel
Scarborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Booked this hotel as the location and photos look great, was not disappointed. Only gripe was the room was small, especially for the money we paid, and the bed was a small double.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinderwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Got a special offer to stay here for a couple of days and it was very pleasant. We had a deal that included room, continental breakfast and dinner for two nights. Arrived just in time for afternoon tea - very refined with crusts cut off the cucumber sandwiches and gorgeous scones with cream and strawberries. Room was comfortable, if rather over the top in the way of decor - heavy velvet curtains and bedspread (overwhich a previous guest had split nail polish, by the look of it) with bolsters and cushions. TV was on the windowsill which made viewing a little uncomfortable but nevertheless the room was fine. Bathroom was OK but a little worn around the edges. Our meals were fine - adventurous cooking but quite bland tasting. Bar area comfortable, library was dark and unheated when we were there and didn't feel very welcoming on a cold wet day in July. The grounds are spendid with wonderful views all around. However, you are a captive audience when staying here, there is nothing within walking distance so you are reliant on the hotel bar prices. and not much to do after dinner. It would be good if you were part of a larger party, I suspect, as you could chat and lounge after dinner. Continental breakfast was generous and one could pay extra if you wanted the whole cooked bacon and egg shebang, but there was plenty to eat for those who didn't want to pay extra. All in all, a bargain break but not as wonderful as previous reviewers have reported.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing