We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a quality country house hotel ideal for a relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a quality country house hotel ideal for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful break at Wrea head. We were warmly welcolmed by the manager Ann on arrival and throughout our stay the staff reflected her example. They were all polite, friendly and helpful. The dining room, bar and library have a true country house feel.The room was one of the best we have stayed in. All meals were excellent. The surroundings are beautiful(even in the pouring rain) All in all we had an outstanding time and would not hesitate to return in the near future

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_deller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    312
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
202
1,238
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

just had a nice weekend away in this hotel the manageress was really helpful had a nice big clean room with a great four poster bed and beautiful views travelled with a paddington bear as part of a work project and he was made to feel very welcome enjoyed the books in the library and the marmalade for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank battLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed in the Wrea Head hotel over Christmas 2009 . We were pleasantly surprised when booking with the hotel that the lady dealing with our enquiry was able to talk knowledgeably about each of the bedrooms available so we were confident that we had booked one which matched our requirements - decent size, proper shower, quiet with good views. The hotel is on the outskirts of Scarborough, set in its own grounds which were lovely to walk in before lunch on Christmas Day and with lots of snow on the ground it felt very Christmassy. The service we experienced throughout our stay was friendly and professional and the chef consistently delivered a varied menu of high quality food. There was also a good choice of wines. Our room had been refurbished and was very comfortable. We did have a problem in the bathroom with water catching in the drain and smelling, however , once we reported the problem this was sorted out quickly and without fuss. Overall we had a very relaxing break.

Liked best - the food
Liked least - nothing

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FHR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Hotel has a superb setting for a quiet existence,well out of the bustle. The food is really first class,really award winning. Staff are very friendly , attentive , efficient and welcoming, a really pleasant atmosphere. A good place to stay.
One or two small minor negatives-- some "tiredness" in room/bathroom decor/fittings,room windows need a good clean etc.
Also, as with the hotel industry in general, the prices charged for wine etc. are grossly inflated , to the extent where one feels being ripped off, and thus acts as a deterrent to consume the same. (Perhaps we should be grateful !! )

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Frrom the moment we arrived we enjoyed the experience of this hotel.Beautiful surroundings,lovely garden,quiet,peaceful yet only a short drive from scarborough and the york moors.The staff are friendly end helpful Rooms clean and comfortable.Excellent food,although some of the dishes were not to my elderly mother's taste we only had to ask,and the chef prepared her what she wanted.Would recommend th e Wrea Head to anyone,and why it is only classed as a three star is beyond belief.Should be a four definately

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterAnnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

It was easy to unwind in a charming building served by attentive, friendly staff. Our suite was large and beautifully furnished; communal areas felt cosy and intimate without being overcrowded. Menu was broad and the food excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camotteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambersart, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

As a french mountain bike team, we stayed here for a World Cup in Dalby Forest. After a long travel, we were delighted discovering such a beautiful Hotel. The staff was welcoming and friendly, even with the Frogs we were! (We are spreaking English as I write it...very bad!)

The food was very good, we just asked to have bigger portions, because we eat a lot!

Nice, comfortable, and clean rooms, beautiful garden and landscape, excellent service.

Don't know about the prices, not aware of the amounts in Yorkshire.

We'd like to come back!

BH Suntour Mountain Bike Team

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierrekiroule78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing