We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could not fault my visit”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“could not fault my visit”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

would recommend this hotel to any one . very helpful and pleasent staff especially manager Anne and head barman Clive.Excellent food, lovely bedroom. A nice touch is coffee scone jam and cream on arrival. hotel is full of old world charme.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Wrea Head Country House, and look forward to your return very soon!

It would be nice to see you during December when we are decorated for Christmas, the trees look fabulous. You can keep warm relaxing by the blazing log fires enjoying tea and scones, or home made mince pies and Xmas cake.

However if you are unable to join us for the festive season, the staff and I would like to wish you the very best for a wonderful Christmas, good health and a prosperous New Year 2011.

Kindest regards

Anne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,266
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Took my boyfriend away for a surprise birthday night away. Unfortunately we arrive after dark which was a mistake as we saw in the morning that the grounds and view from the hotel bar were lovely! On a fresh autumn day, would be nice to drink a hot chocolate and admire the view. But, nevertheless, the room was great, breakfast delicious. Excellent quality and in a good location to get to central scarborough. Plus, the lady who checked us out in the morning was delightful and had helpful information about what activities to do in the area. Definately recommend for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lausbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Wrea Head Country House, - a nice birthday treat for your boyfriend! Keep in mind for your next visit that for a small extra charge you can check into your room as early as 12pm instead of the normal 3pm.

The hotel is especially nice during the festive season, the trees and decorations are fabulous - a great Christmas gift for someone special!

We look forward to seeing you on your next "quiet getaway"

Meanwhile the team and I would like to wish you and your boyfriend, much health wealth and happiness for the coming year 2011.

Kindest regards

Anne and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

we had a fabulous 3 night break . we could not have had a nicer time , the staff ,the food , the hotel all were excellent

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnendick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
The team and I are delighted you had a superb time celebrating your silver wedding anniversay at Wrea Head Country House Hotel.

The hotel is ideal for celebrations such as yours and makes it more worthwhile for us when guests have such an enjoyable time.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Had a great two nights with a room upgrade that gave us a really big room with beautiful view over the grounds room 4 the service was second to none and as you would expect from Yorkshire people.the food was 1st class with a good selection of wines. Nothing was to much trouble and again the staff were great will use this hotel again and recomend it to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
We are thrilled that you had such a great time at Wrea Head Country House Hotel. It certainly makes our job worthwhile when people such as yourselves appreciate being looked after.

Look forward to seeing very soon.

Wishing you both a wonderful Christmas and the very best for 2011.

kindest regards

Anne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Impressive building, friendly service, a good location for wonderful countryside, moors and beaches.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lez54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and surroundings at Wrea Head Country House. We do hope we shall see you in the very near future.

Meanwhile the team and I would like to wish you a wonderful Christmas and all the best for the year 2011.

Kindest regards

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My sister and I enjoyed a 3 night break together last week and it was perfect from the moment we arrived to the moment we had to leave, for we really would have loved to have been able to stay longer. Clive made us feel very special and looked after and Ann chatted to us like old friends. We felt welcome and enjoyed the whole Wrea Head experience, particularly the dinners we enjoyed each evening which were absolutely delicious and so beautifully presented. A wander around the grounds was peaceful, the character of the building was majestic and I can't wait to make a return trip. Try this hotel if you want to escape the boring familiarity of the large chain hotels and savour the individuality that this genuine country house offers.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChattyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
We are delighted you and your sister enjoyed your time with us at Wrea Head Country House. It's good that Clive made you feel special, the team as a whole try very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their experience during their stay. Chef has been at Wrea Head a long time, and continues to be creative with his flavours and presentation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as "Old friends".

Meanwhile may we wish you the very best of happiness for Christmas and the coming New Year.

Kindest regards

Anne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penshaw Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The location is beautiful and the house is stunning. Our room was very dated and was full of flys. We complained at 5pm about the flys and we went out at 7pm and upon our return at 1am a can of fly spray was left outside the room. It would of been nice if someone had gone in and sprayed the spray whilst we were out!

Im 5 foot 11 tall and had to bend over to use the shower. The bathroom suite was very 80's and in need of refurbishment. The room was like the crystal maze to find after having to go up 5 sets of stairs and along corridors! My boyfriend had booked it as a treat and for the price we paid expected a lot more. Maybe we were just unlucky with the room we were given.

The breakfast was excellent, very filling and the reception staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAnn-Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing