We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to stay”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed at the Wrea Head for a long weekend with our family, 12 of us in total ranging from 11mths to 80yrs! We had a really fantastic time, the food was great and the service was especially excellent...nothing was too much trouble. This was our first visit but certainly won't be our last. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebbsNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,267
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed for two nights and it was freezing outside, but the hotel was so warm and cosy. We spent most of our time in the hotel and were really well looked after. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We will certainly be going back in the near future and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggiedepression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Had a wonderful weekend here. It's a beautifully situated country house with lots of comforting, relaxing spaces to have a drink, read and generally chill out. Anne, the Manager, ensured that we were very well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very friendly and service was of a very high standard - as was the food.
We enjoyed a gorgeous evening meal there.
We'd quite like to have been snowed in for a few days, but no such luck! However, we'll have to make time for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Wrea Head is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location, totally conducive to well being. The room we had was extremely comfortable and had a window seat giving views across the vast, well maintained grounds and countryside beyond.The manageress, Anne, made us welcome from the outset and gave the impression that she absolutely loved her job. She was warm, attentive and very professional.
The other staff we came across who are worthy of a mention are the restaurant staff Lizzie, James and Kumar who all seemed happy in their work with nothing too much trouble.
Scalby is a beautiful village and the village pub is well worth a visit. Plenty to do/see nearby with scarborough and whitby being on the doorstep. We did a clifftop walk from Runswick bay to Whitby. We will definately stay again and have returned home feeling totally relaxed . Other guests seemed happy and content too and there was a relaxed atmosphere throughout. Dining in the restaurant is a special experience with excellent food and service. It would be difficult to say what wasn't good, though I guess some rooms are better than others as all are individually decorated and furnished It would be down to personal taste. It snowed whilst there and we were hoping for more as this would have been the perfect place to be snowed in!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed yesterday for one night at the Wrea Head, it was a gift from our son and daughter in law , the weather had been very inclement but on entering the doorway of this hotel the warmth really hit us .
A roaring log fire in the lounge area, beautifully decorated xmas trees and trimmings and very welcoming staff.
We ate a delightful lunch of Smoked Salmon for me and a club sandwich for hubby in the Library accompanied by a glass of wine.
Our room was on the second floor with far reaching views from the windows, At this time i am currently using crutches, Anne was very obliging and suggested that we may like to re locate to a first floor room, this we did and what a lovely room it was! It was tastefully decorated in yellows and greens , very calming , a beautiful spacious bathroom with large fluffy towels.
Our Evening Dinner was excellent and the choice was sufficient to cater for all needs.Hubby had the Lamb and I had the Herb Crusted Haddock Loin, followed by Iced Grand Marnier Souffle and Apple and Plum Crumble...
We will most certainly be returning to this warm and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Wrea Head Country House, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad we were able to offer you another room on the first floor, I can imagine it must be tough going on those crutches!

We look forward to seeing you very soon, meanwhile have a wonderful Christmas, good health and happiness for the New Year.

Kindest regards

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

This is a lovely hotel, full of character with attentive and personal service. The dining experience is particularly good with your order taken in the cosy bar before being invited to the table for service. The menu is traditional, the wine list extensive - everything immaculately presented and very tasty.

The bedroom and bathroom facilities, however, are becoming a little tired and in need of updating. In our room, the shower produced only a trickle of water - it was literally impossible to shower. The walls are wafer thin so you can here exactly what is going on next door. The bedroom furnishings are OK, but a little scruffy in places. On a positive note, there is a new wide screen TV, so clearly attention is being given to improving the in-room experience. These slightly critical comments do not detract from what was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes there are a couple of rooms that are in need of a little refurbishment, we are currently in the process of an ongoing maintenance schedule that will improve these rooms to the standard and quality that our guests expect. Your comments are useful and help us to strive to achieve a better experience for you and others.

We look forward to seeing you soon, meanwhile we wish you very good wishes for Christmas and the coming year.

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We had a wonderful two day stay at The Wrea Head.We felt very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Anne and her staff.The hotel was immaculate,very welcoming and cosy.The food was absolutely superb.Although the Wrea Head is a very old building built in 1818 it was always kept very warm which was lovely as the weather was so cold outside.This was our second visit and we will definately return soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel310_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whgm, General Manager at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and for your kind comments.

It certainly makes our job worthwhile knowing that efforts are appreciated!

I guess you will be having better weather in Spain - Wrea Head is looking quite picturesque in the snow albeit it cold, thankfully the log fires are keeping guests cosy and warm.

We look forward to seeing you soon, meanwhile our very best wishes for a good Christmas and New Year.

Anne and the Team
Wrea Head Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing