We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful location very restful.”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“peaceful location very restful.”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Weekend stay Valentines,difficult to fault slight niggle lady who booked us in polite but lacked warmth and smile,while other staff were chatty and helpful.Room although not large very comfotrable clean with nice modern bathroom lovely views over open country side.Lounges, bar and dining room full of character and old world charm.Food excellent presented very nicely,wine list extensive and varied and of good quality.Intend to visit wrea house in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosanna94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,266
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Me and my husband wanted a weekend away it was my 40th birthday and our wedding anniversary we looked on the internet and came across the Wrea Head Country House Hotel. Well where do i start for us it was beautiful the perfect Hotel. It has many lovely period features with its wooden panels cozy seating areas open fires and stained glass windows with lovely views. The food is excellent and the Hotel has a wonderful atmosphere very romantic and so peaceful. We left this Hotel totally relaxed and regenerated. I must just mention one very special lady who's name is Anne this lady is the manager of this Hotel and she is an asset and a little gem. Anne and her team really do look after you . I could nit pick and say maybe the bathroom is a little tierd but i don't care because the towels,bedding room and hotel is spotless and a very magical place in our eyes carnt wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandaflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Impressive approach and internal oak pannelled ambience sets the scene for well managed service, comfortable and restfull facilities (open fire in lounge, edwardian library and sun trap Conservatory) and quality food from a varied, though not extensive menu. Mostly excellent service. Some a little pedestrian, but none the less attentive. Outstandingly good value (apart, perhaps for the wine list). The superior room was just that, and, even with the modest surcharge, still provided value that is inlikely to be matched on the Yorkshire East coast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Excellent location the whole time from start to finish was just quality. The bar and waiting staff were second to none and Ann the manageress was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks for making our stay perfect. Jackie, Stuart Frankland

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stujacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

From moment of arrival to leaving, my wife and I were made very welcome. Excellent staff attention, accommodation, food, facilities and location. Log fires in public areas, wide choice of menu and any request promptly and cheerfully provided. Very well managed providing a very relaxing and comfortable break.Only slight observation, wine list prices somewhat expensive but did not detract from overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithsam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

After spending a number of evenings the previous week trying to work out where to go for a last minute getaway, my wife and I plumped for the Wrea and we're very glad we did. The hotel had a great deal of character with roaring fires in the three main public areas and neither of us felt the need to leave the hotel for the time we were there, we were so comfortable. We treated ourselves to the four poster room and it was lovely and spacious. The food on both evenings and breakfast was excellent and the service all the time we were there was great. Ann, the manager, seemed to be there morning noon and night throughout our stay and was very attentive and considerate, making our stay a pleasure. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSB1Chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Party of 22 work colleagues enjoyed great food and service on the 29th January. Old world charm offers a very relaxing abience whilst great service overcame quite demanding guests (us)!
House wine expensive at £18.95 a bottle and drinks generally at the top end were the only items to detract from a perfect score.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RXLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing