We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly atmosphere'”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My wife and I spent a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing two day break here.The manageress was very helpful and attentive-as were all of the staff.The food was classy and so was the room.The building itself was full of character which added to the atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank stanmaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,508 - 1,514 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

I think we must have gone to a different hotel than the other reviews!
The welcome was far from welcoming
The hotel had no ambiance
The food was very average
The room was cold
The bath was mouldy and water luke warm
Then to top it all we were in a superior room above a wedding party,so we had to endure music until 11pm which when we had gone to totally relax was unacceptable.
We did not complain, we just will not go again or recommend

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmonds306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed on a 2 night last minute DBB break. the rooms were clean and of a good size. The meals were cooked to order and served hot and on hot plates. The food was of a very high standard both in quality and presentation and served by attentive staff.
The hotel is in a quiet location and in it own grounds

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We went for by partners birthday and really enjoyed the stay.The staff are great and are most attentive.we stayed D,b and b and had a got a great deal.The food was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a 5 day break in January and were so impressed with the room, location, food and especially the manageress and staff that we returned in February for another 5 day stay. Excellent value. Will return soon. If you want a relaxing, quiet break in lovely surroundings, with excellent food, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Just spent a relaxing weekend at the Wrea Head Country House hotel in Scarborough. I would like to let people know how good this hotel is, the staff are really friendly the manageress mingles and makes you feel at home, and the food is exceptional, overall it is a family atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble. We checked in on the Friday evening and noted that our room was a little cold but thought it would probably warm up with the heating. On returning to our room after spending the evening in the bar it was still a little cold so we phoned reception who apologised as they were full but within 2/3 minutes a member of staff was knocking on the door with an electric heater which was more than good enough. We had one of the standard rooms but the views over the well kept gardens was amazing. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at an amazingly friendly and high quality hotel, one which i will definately be returning too, and recommending to friends and family

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sclark7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

D'nt change ANYTHING: fine as it is. This is just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizard049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,612 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £87 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing