We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely suprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I visited this place on Sunday 12th May after discovering it on google maps, we are a small family group from Whitby and regularly go for a drive out on Sundays, superb location with magnificent views accross Harwood Dale, we had teas and coffees plus scones, the beverages came not in cups, but in pots, and with extra hot water, brilliant value for money. The scones were warmed and all in all we have paid almost double what we paid here for the same thing in other places.
We saw meals been taken to other tables and they looked superb, we overheard customers commenting on the quantity and quality. We will definately visit again, hopefully when the weather is better and try out one of the many walks.

Room Tip: This place would make a pleasant little detour between Whitby and Scarborough without going too far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank assamhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We love how you found us on Google maps. Come again =D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    135
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
327
239
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have been staying at the Grainary for just over 18 years, we use it for 4 to 5 day breaks. The accommodation is 1st class as is the food. John and Linda always make you welcome. The farm is a working one and its great to see it all going on, great walks around the farm and local lanes. There is also a tea room now. From the farm you can walk to the coast and walk along the Cleveland Way, Whitby and Robin Hood Bay also close. for all the times we have been there we still find somewhere we have not been to. We are going back in October. For the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors this is a great location.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We were members of a party of 10 who recently stayed at the Grainary for 3 nights on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis. This is a working farm and children as well as grown ups will be fascinated by some of the animals that live on it.
There are no noisy cockerels to wake you up so it is peaceful and tranquil and is ideally situated just north of Scarborough on the way to Whitby.
The owners Lynda and John ensure that you are looked after by offering excellent accommodation, homemade food and service which then enables you to relax and enjoy its quiet surroundings.
During the day the Grainary has a Tea Room serving homemade meals and pastries and its popularity can be judged by its steady stream of visitors.
We will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank HofIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked this last minute to join family for one night. Great location in the countryside close to east coast towns. It's a good b&b with provision for little ones. Lots of animals outside which was great for the kids, although a little tlc on the outside wouldn't go amiss...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comedygenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just returned from a couple of days at The Grainary (wish it could have been longer). A warm welcome awaited us, having stopped off in Scarborough on the way up, the peace and quiet whilst enjoying a cup of tea and a slice of fabulous home made cake was most welcome. We enjoyed an evening meal on our first night which, whilst not cheap wasn't that expensive given it was cooked from scratch. Lynda's cooking certainly lived up to the reviews we'd read. And proper tea and coffee facilities in the room, and plenty of them, not the meagre 2 sachets of everything you get in more expensive establishments. Unfortunately we didn't get time to explore the farm as we would have liked, but met Bess the dog who was more than happy to entertain our 7 year old with a game of fetch. A lovely welcoming B&B which we will certainly return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed last weekend. The location is pretty central to both Whitby and Scarborough.

The grounds are gorgeous, so well kept. Its a great place to stay as well as it feeling homely.
There are tonnes of animals to go and look at. They had pigs, cows, sheep, rabbits, ferrets, ginea pigs and the sheepdogs are beautiful and friendly just like the owners of the farm.

We stayed for one night, the rooms are homely, clean and comfy. You even get proper tea/coffee making things in your room, and me as a pregnant woman nearly ready to pop was most excited at the biscuits and hot chocolate sachets. So easily pleased! No, its these things that really add to the charm!

We have evening meal here, you get a choice of a few things, they have an extensive menu at the tea rooms during the day but we had chicken in red wine sauce and it was gorgeous, proper home cooking - then a pud for after and tea/coffee is included.

The lounge has recliners and is very very comfy/clean. There is a large barn like a playroom, to which I sulked because I couldnt use the big trampoline!

For breakfast you can have whatever you like. We took advantage of the full english which was excellent before heading off.

We came to relax and thats exactly what we did.

Would recommend and definately come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leahlufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from a few days at The Grainary and it was just as excellent as ever. Lynda and John again were excellent friendly hosts and Lynda's cooking was as good as ever. They provide a personal service and are flexible to people's needs.

Stayed in room 10 with excellent views over the North Yorkshire National Park, a spacious, clean and happy environment. Lots of opportunities for walking. Looking forward to our next visit, it is a place we will never tire of.

There was a loud snorer in the next room which was unfortunate but otherwise comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. Some have bath and over bath shower and some beds have a choice of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviews91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
7.0 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Property: The Grainary
Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing