We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grainary
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
600
154
32
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
600
154
32
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmfarm dogstea roomfarm stayfoxglove cottagefarm shoploved the animalslovely farmplay areathe cottagesthe north yorkshire moorssunday lunchgames roomrobin hoods baycomfortable roomsevening mealwet room
Filter
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and nothing changes, which for us is a good thing. A home from home holiday, which if we are all honest you can't get any more comfortable than your own home. We are due to go there again in two days time. Once again, great service, friendly and chatty staff, fantastic ambience, very tasty food and we love it. We try and stay 3 or 4 times a year ranging from a long weekend to two weeks!!!!
Our only wish would be for the Grainary to be open over Chrimbo and New Year; now that would something special.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for this amazing review. We try and create a home from home atmosphere, so much so next time you visit we are going to leave the vacuum cleaner in your room =D
Christmas in New Year is where we close the farm so we can get all of our many family members to stay, so just like for Joseph and Mary there would be no room in the inn ! =D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We are two couples travelling around the UK, it was great to have a place outside of the main town. The scenery was beautiful. We had booked an evening meal, and the food was fantastic. The rooms were clean and comfortable. A very relaxing and restful place to stay. Thank you

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad that you had a great time. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July with my family. Ideal location for scarborough and Whitby. set in a lovely setting and is great for children to see animals on a working farm however there were dog faeces on the lawns inc outside eating area from the farm dogs roaming around outside even though they were 2 lovely dogs, the play area was in need of a spruce up and not ideal for a toddler safety wise. The games room was good, however some things didn't work, the ride on toys not in there as picture on website and really needed a good clean. The plant nursery is a bit neglected but could be lovely if care put in. Owners are really lovely friendly people and could not help you more but other staff members need to be more welcoming on arrival and show you around and provide more info. Cannot fault the food it was lovely. The room was a good size and pretty clean but needed brightened up and updating as looking a tired, dull and worn. Attention to small detail would not go a miss noticed creased un-tucked bedding inc duvet cover half buttoned on duvet, cobwebs on ceiling above bed, lampshades not straight. To summarise the B&B is good and is in a nice place and the owners are lovely friendly people but the cleanliness, up keep and attention to detail inside and out need more effort put in for it to be 4 star excellent accommodation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hello,
Thanks for the review and feedback. It is always good to hear from our guests on what we are doing well, and areas where we can improve.
As you can understand this time of the year we are very busy and during your particular stay we were understaffed. We try our best to have great presentation skills, however sometimes we are just human and will have to occasional blip (i.e beds have a few creases).
Our main appeal is that we are a working farm, and what will come with that is the working animals will go to the toilet where they want. We did try to potty train them, however this didn't go so well =D
In the close season we are making big changes to the farm and I encourage you to come and see us next year because if you thought this stay was good, wait till you see us again.
Regards
The team at The Grainary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, beautiful setting and views out of this world but the whole place needs some TLC. Beds are very uncomfortable so if like me you have back problems beware. The games room needs a good clean out and the plants on sale were neglected.
Having said this you cannot beat the peacefulness of the surroundings and staff are warm and friendly. Breakfast was great with fruit juice, cereal and full English with as much tea and toast as you wanted. We also love seeing the animals and walking round the lake. Will go back but not for a few years.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have fantastic views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireFatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for the feedback, just to let you know that in the close season the farm will be going through some upgrading so I encourage you to come back next year where your issues will of been solved. Again thank you for taking time out to give us your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family in July, lovely grounds and lots of nice walks.

The service was ok, not anything out of this world like you would expect from a B&B.

It's about 10 miles out of Scarborough so too far if like me you prefer to stay closer to the town.

The rooms were shabby and grotty and all in all tired and needed updating.

The wifi was also poor. I had a lovely time but next time will try elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesskerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hello,
Thank you for the feedback, I recommend you contact us directly at grainary@btopenworld.com to go over your issues. I would like to note that you were given the room free of charge and although we do acknowledge some rooms need some TLC they certainly are not "Shabby and Grotty".

I look forward to hearing from you
Regards
Mark Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews