We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed over a bank holiday weekend at the Grainary… what a gem. Beautiful setting rolling hills, lake, animals 9its a working farm) great for kids. The room was comfortable, needs a little updating perhaps but charming nonetheless. Most of all the staff were great, really helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Ut was a real home from home in every way. the breakfast was hot, freshly cooked (so much better than buffet style!). We ate there one evening and the food was lovely, really tasty and local fresh products. We would recommend it for a quiet break, its near enough to whitby and scarborough but offers a relaxing haven to just sit on a seat look over green rolling hills and read……………

Room Tip: We had a downstairs family room which was quite spacious, the double bed was lovely and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jan520147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    140
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
346
244
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

this is a lovely place to stay lovely and peaceful and the staff are great the scenery is gorgeous and the surrounding areas are lovely for walking
our room was quite big with its own back door which was a bonus and the bed was lovely and comfortable
breakfast was in with the price and was great with lots of choice and very good

Room Tip: ask for one of the disabled rooms if you can get it as it has its own back door where you can park t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seavewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a beautiful place - lovely views, excellent food (breakfast freshly cooked to order), very friendly and helpful staff and well equipped, clean rooms. Lots of animals to see and friendly farm dogs who love coming on walks with guests. Would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sealodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for this lovely review, looking forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Grainary. So pleased we found this lovely place online. Fantastic views in all directions. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We had access to our room from outside, and no stairs, which was perfect for an elderly relative who could not walk far.

Room Tip: Outside doors available for downstairs rooms giving easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I'm very glad you found us online, it means I'm doing my job properly =)
When we built the extension we wanted all ground floor rooms to have there own private entrance which has definitly been a plus point for a lot of people that stay in them.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a great stay at The Grainary. Our collie and us were made to feel very welcome. Food in the restaurant was good. Unfortunately the weather was not great but we still really enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out to write this lovely review.

Hopefully see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After visiting The Stephen Joseph Theatre in Scarborough in the afternoon to see an excellent performance of 'A Taste of Honey' we made our way to The Grainary, our first visit and just for one night. We were so pleased to get there, the rain was torrential and the fields and hills were in thick mist so we were so pleased to have a really nice welcome, a hand with our luggage and to be shown to a lovely room overlooking the pond, fields and towards the wooded hills. In spite of the heavy rain and mist the view really was delightful. We will definitely visit again, hopefully in better weather and for longer so that we can enjoy such beautiful surroundings, walks and have time to feed the ducks!!!
The excellent breakfast set us up for the day.
The next time we have a few days to spare to visit our favourite northern resort, Scarborough, The Grainary will be our first choice.
Brian & Barbara Lightowler - Huddersfield

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking time out to write this lovely review Brian & Barbara.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for our lovely breakfast and for cooking my partner a full breakfast even though it wasn't on your menu. Lovely place, lovely people and wow views.
Loving the week old piglets so cute
Ann and Darren

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann_T186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Ann
Thank you for this lovely review. Our piglets are still doing well, and let's call the full breakfast our hidden menu speciality =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Property: The Grainary
Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing