We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tranquil place and great staff and owners”
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stopped for one night as attending a wedding at Ravenscar. The road leading up the hill was a bit scary but very pretty. Arrived a bit late the girl at reception couldn't do enough for us offerring to help with luggage as we were pushed for time. The bedroom (No1) great view over farmland and countryside just a pity we did not have time for pre-dinner drinks as it was a beautiful sunny evening. They sorted the taxi out for us and it arrived promptly, we had keys given for late night return. Next morning after a great nights sleep went for breakfast and was everything you could ask for and more if you wanted it. Had an entertaining view at breakfast of the 5 farm dogs playing in garden jumping the fencing round the duck pond chasing bread thrown for the ducks and geese, even got over watched by something like a highland cow from the other side of the pond. We actually went out to play with the dogs after breakfast who were all extremely friendly. It is a small farm where children can go look at the animals and also have a small play area for them. Somewhere we could not appreciate to it maximum as we only stayed one night - will stay if in the area again

Room Tip: No 1 upstairs gives a view over the garden and countryside, but does not have a bath just shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Penelope1harleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

I'm glad you had a good time, and definitely next time let's make it more then the one night =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Grainary for two nights with our six year old granddaughter. It was perfect because she loved everything about it - the play areas, the animals, feeding the ducks and geese and especially the friendly dogs. The staff gave excellent service, nothing was too much trouble and they were lovely with our granddaughter. Our breakfast was very good, there was plenty of choice and we enjoyed a lovely dinner which was reasonably priced. The farm is set in beautiful countryside but is close to Scarborough. I would not hesitate to recommend the Grainary.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for the kind words =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Visited with three others for dinner. Suprised at prices so expected great food. Very disappointed. At £14.00 for a burger expectation was high. Quality very average and meat was dry. Chips were OKish - but again very average. Two of our party faced a wall the way the table we were offered was placed. We assumed that the restaurant would be full. It was not. Therefore might the staff have considered placing us at at table where all four of us could admire and appreciate the view? Eating here is nothing if one cannot see the view. Probably the most expensive, disappointing evening spent in the area during our holiday. Give it a miss. You'l be happier in any other pub in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Overners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello,
Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review, and for choosing The Grainary as your place to eat during your stay. At present our pricing for our menus is set at £14 for one course, £17 for two courses and £21 for three courses which we feel is very reasonable. And although being "dry" and the chips being "OKish", the plate came back empty and without any complaints from your table, so in my book that normally means that it was "OKish".
I hope the next time your back in the area, you decide to give us another go. I don't know if this helps at all, but make sure you ask for me directly and I will make sure your evening is alot better then the last time.
Next time, if it isn't any trouble, if you don't like the table we have setup for your, plese ask to be seated somewhere else. Let's not wait until you get home, sit behind your computer and to write a review to let us know.

All the best,
The Grainary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really lovely tranquil Country Tearooms at Keasbeck Hill Farm, Harwood Dale with great views of the Dale and as far as Scarborough Castle. We settled on Afternoon Tea from the extensive menu which consisted of a sandwich of choice with a small side salad and crisps, scone, jam, cream and strawberries and a cake, Obviously tea also. The quality was good and substantial, excellent value and we were well stuffed, Even the damn fly that persistently tried to share our food could not spoil our afternoon experience. The Grainary is not just Tea Rooms it has lots more to offer and is certainly worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rbscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to leaving this review. I'm very glad that you enjoued your tea and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

An enjoyable stay after a very long day of walking. We were very appreciative of the comfortable room and the evening meal when we arrived. There were very good views of the beautiful countryside and we could even catch a glimpse of our destination (Scarborough) for the following day. The owners were friendly and we enjoyed a good breakfast before the final stage of our long walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnaJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you very much for visiting us.
we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

In the most idyllic position with fantastic views from all angles. We felt welcome from the very beginning to the point we were leaving. Breakfast and evening meal were of excellent high quality and plentiful. The children meals I would have been full!
We took two of our grandchildren aged 10 and 12 who were in seventh heaven. Five dogs who behaved as if they were there own and gave them hours of friendship and fun. A safe environment that gave them so much freedom. For us we was able to soak in the great atmosphere with a drink, but also go walking over the surrounding area.
The rooms were very clean and in keeping with the traditional farmhouse.
You can interact with the animals, even help with the feeding and catching the baby rabbits as they try for freedom! Or you can just watch everyone else getting involved, its up to you.
The family are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They strive to give everyone who stays and visits their home an excellent time. We would recommend The Grainary with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolSkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for this lovely review Puts a =) on my face

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was my first visit to the Grainary and although I only stayed the night it was very enjoyable the room was clean and presentable and although I had not booked an evening meal the chef made me a burger and chunky chips, the burger was one off the best I have ever tasted and the chips were excellent the breakfast the following morning could not be faulted the staff/owners were all very accommodating and I would not hesitate to recommend the Grainary, if I need in the future to stay near Scarborough the Grainary will be my first port off call.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shack2634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

I love our chips, and I'm glad you did too

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,936 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
2.8 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing