We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I am lucky I live very close to The Grainary. I haven't stayed there but go regularly for food and to chill out. The view is stunning. If you have kids its a paradise, with lots of animals (especially the curly haired pigs), swings, slide, lake and loads of outside space. You get real chips here which is great. The food is fabulous, the staff are really welcoming and cheerful so you can relax and enjoy yourself. I really love this place

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We are very lucky to have such wonderful customers like yourself live so close to our farm =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    135
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
324
238
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a one night stay with my two daughters . The room was lovely and clean and had lovely biscuits and plenty of coffee and tea .
Tea and dinner was fresh , local food and extremely tasty.
Loved the farm, the animals and scenery . Everyone was very welcoming and can totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaz1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the lovely words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Didn't stay at the Grainary this year on our annual trip to Yorkshire but we called yesterday for a visit with our 4yr old granddaughter, it was the highlight of her trip to see Harry again. The new extension is really good spacious and brilliant views, the cakes as yummy as ever. The play areas have been given a make over and had the weather been less windy we would have stayed longer. Brilliant place to stay with children or to call in for a snack.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the lovely words =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stopped for one night as attending a wedding at Ravenscar. The road leading up the hill was a bit scary but very pretty. Arrived a bit late the girl at reception couldn't do enough for us offerring to help with luggage as we were pushed for time. The bedroom (No1) great view over farmland and countryside just a pity we did not have time for pre-dinner drinks as it was a beautiful sunny evening. They sorted the taxi out for us and it arrived promptly, we had keys given for late night return. Next morning after a great nights sleep went for breakfast and was everything you could ask for and more if you wanted it. Had an entertaining view at breakfast of the 5 farm dogs playing in garden jumping the fencing round the duck pond chasing bread thrown for the ducks and geese, even got over watched by something like a highland cow from the other side of the pond. We actually went out to play with the dogs after breakfast who were all extremely friendly. It is a small farm where children can go look at the animals and also have a small play area for them. Somewhere we could not appreciate to it maximum as we only stayed one night - will stay if in the area again

Room Tip: No 1 upstairs gives a view over the garden and countryside, but does not have a bath just shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope1harleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
I'm glad you had a good time, and definitely next time let's make it more then the one night =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Grainary for two nights with our six year old granddaughter. It was perfect because she loved everything about it - the play areas, the animals, feeding the ducks and geese and especially the friendly dogs. The staff gave excellent service, nothing was too much trouble and they were lovely with our granddaughter. Our breakfast was very good, there was plenty of choice and we enjoyed a lovely dinner which was reasonably priced. The farm is set in beautiful countryside but is close to Scarborough. I would not hesitate to recommend the Grainary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the kind words =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Visited with three others for dinner. Suprised at prices so expected great food. Very disappointed. At £14.00 for a burger expectation was high. Quality very average and meat was dry. Chips were OKish - but again very average. Two of our party faced a wall the way the table we were offered was placed. We assumed that the restaurant would be full. It was not. Therefore might the staff have considered placing us at at table where all four of us could admire and appreciate the view? Eating here is nothing if one cannot see the view. Probably the most expensive, disappointing evening spent in the area during our holiday. Give it a miss. You'l be happier in any other pub in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Overners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello,
Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review, and for choosing The Grainary as your place to eat during your stay. At present our pricing for our menus is set at £14 for one course, £17 for two courses and £21 for three courses which we feel is very reasonable. And although being "dry" and the chips being "OKish", the plate came back empty and without any complaints from your table, so in my book that normally means that it was "OKish".
I hope the next time your back in the area, you decide to give us another go. I don't know if this helps at all, but make sure you ask for me directly and I will make sure your evening is alot better then the last time.
Next time, if it isn't any trouble, if you don't like the table we have setup for your, plese ask to be seated somewhere else. Let's not wait until you get home, sit behind your computer and to write a review to let us know.

All the best,
The Grainary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really lovely tranquil Country Tearooms at Keasbeck Hill Farm, Harwood Dale with great views of the Dale and as far as Scarborough Castle. We settled on Afternoon Tea from the extensive menu which consisted of a sandwich of choice with a small side salad and crisps, scone, jam, cream and strawberries and a cake, Obviously tea also. The quality was good and substantial, excellent value and we were well stuffed, Even the damn fly that persistently tried to share our food could not spoil our afternoon experience. The Grainary is not just Tea Rooms it has lots more to offer and is certainly worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rbscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to leaving this review. I'm very glad that you enjoued your tea and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Property: The Grainary
Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing