We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our room number5”
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

after booking in we were shown to our room we were horrified to be put in a room for disabled people we are both able people this room was dark dismal and the bathroom was poorly lit one of the two single beds was high up with a mattress that was too big for the bed bedding seen better days along with furniture expressed my views to the manager who said no other room available and i must have been told at booking about this room being for disabled i certainly was not informed of this he proceeded to tell me that if i didn't take this room i would be charged anyway we took our luggage and left half an hour later i checked my bank account to find he had taken out £162 for two nights bed and breakfast as we didn't stay and therefor didn't have breakfast that is over the top to say the least also who checks the room conditions before they take their adverts? certainly not the AA who have mistakenly given them 4 stars what about you trip advisor???

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank roynjacquialmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review, we appreciate you have taken the time out to write online about this issue.
I think it is only fair, however that a few points are raised from our end:

1) All of our ground floor rooms are set up to be fully accessible to disabled people - a fact of which we are proud as we like to be able to cater for people of all abilities.
These rooms are in no way unsuitable for able bodied people and we were frankly shocked that you were "horrified" by the fact that we do not discriminate.

2) You booked online via Booking.com where it clearly states that there is a cancellation policy. It was also confirmed via Booking.com that you personally booked your room via your home computer and not via a phone call as you stated when you arrived.

3) The room description clearly states that this is a disabled access room and numerous photos of the room are provided not only via Booking.com, but on our website as well.

Not only that, what was failed to mention is that it is our policy to charge any non shows the full room rate for the whole of your stay. Not only did we waive this, we agreed verbally to only charge you for two nights of your stay to protect the loss of revenue for our business.

I just hope this whole experience has taught you to fully read the room description and T&C's before you book any more accomodation online in the future.

Regards,
Mark Simpson
The Grainary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed over the August Bank Holiday weekend. Setting great and couldn't fault the hospitality. If I had to pick a fault it would be the bathroom needed just a bit of an update and the shower pressure was not brilliant but this did not spoil our visit and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FamilySykes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for the kind words. We are looking to solve the upper farmhouse rooms over our close period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My second visit to the Grainary - this time with Grandpa and our 3 little beasties in tow age 10, 7 and 2.
We had the family room which accommodated our little gaggle perfectly.
Great evening meal and breakfast with the children well catered for as well as ourselves.
Lots to see and do both at the Grainary and out and about the region.
Lovely comfortable family run concern.
Will be back soon hopefully. Next time will try fit in the afternoon tea!

Room Tip: Room 12 with its annexe room fit 2 adults and 3 children very nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMoylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great location, and something for all ages if you want to sit and relax or let the kids run free in a safe environment. Excellent views and great walks or cycle rides from this location. Food was great and recommend steak of the week! Will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Grainary over an August Bank Holiday.This year we were able to eat breakfast in the beautiful conservatory with absolutely stunning views across the countryside. The Grainary merits a visit solely for the opportunity to eat in this elegant, spacious room alone!
The staff are extremely welcoming and the breakfast menu extensive. We chose not to eat our evening meal at the Grainary, although the menus looked delicious. We were put off by the rather high prices charged and ate out instead .Indeed the high prices charged for the evening meals would be my only real criticism of the Grainary.
Our bedroom was spacious, well equipped and very clean. The decor does look rather" tired" , but this is most definitely not a boutique hotel and did not impact in the slightest upon the enjoyment of our stay.
We were enchanted( yet again!) with the friendly farm animals and greatly enjoyed the walks around the grounds.This is an ideal place for small children with plenty of safe space to run around and observe the farm animals.
We will definitely be returning to the Grainary!

Room Tip: Room 11 has lovely views towards Scarborough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piglet302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for the lovely words, and the feedback on our prices. This is the first year we've adopted this new payment structure
£12 for one course
£15 for two courses
£19 for three courses
We will look to address this over our close season

Hope to see you again
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Grainary is a wonderful place to stay. Warm, friendly and helpful owners and staff. Lots of walks,short or long. Near to Scarborough and Whitby if you want to visit. Lovely meals if you dine with them using local produce. Ideal for little ones also, play area and animals to keep them occupied. Will definitely visit again. Carl & Michelle

Room Tip: All room are clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pleasant stay our kids loved. Scenery beautiful staff excellent really helpful and attentive whilst being warm and friendly. The rooms are comfy, cosy and clean though a bit dated. Lots of things to do for children indoor and out. Food nice- gastro pub. Fish and chips, burger, steak etc. only minor complaint is the flies in the restaurant. It didn't bother my husband but I would have found it much more enjoyable minus flies. Would come again overall v happy customer.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for the kind words.
We are looking into how to deal with the flies at this time of the year. Unfortunately, like every farm in the country, flies do gather and they will start to come inside more.
Hopefully by the time you come back next year, we will have solved that though =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
5.8 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
13.4 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
301 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: £74 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing