We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
clipstone
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Royal Rocks!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked a couple of nights B&B with evening meal here via Groupon for £125 and then read the reviews......all I can say is that some people need to open their eyes as you get what you pay for! OK it's a bit shabby in places but it's clean and is a true Miss Marple hotel with great staff.....breakfast was spot on and the evening meal did the job.....throw in the town of Scarborough which is lovely and you get yourself a nice, cheap little break! Ignore some of the daft reviews about this place as if you want "off the shelf" hotel then go book the Travelodge! Book with confidence as me and the Mrs will definitely going back.....

Room Tip: Paid an extra tenner a night for sea view and plasma tv which is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    658
    517
    392
    541
See reviews for
499
1,236
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here over the weekend of 30 September to 2 October 2011 with other members of our Rotary Club. The Hotel was the District 2012 Conference Headquarters. We had stayed there a few years before. The fabric of the hotel is beautiful with wonderful period characteristics. Unfortunately, as identified by a previous reviewer, it is currently in administration and is clearly going rapidly to seed. However, the staff are very 'upbeat' and say they are 'just waiting for someone to buy us'. They are courteous and helpful. Although some of our party were not as fortunate, I must report as we found it. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. I got the impression that our bedroom was in what used to be the 'servants quarters' as the corridor was next to the 'back stairs' which, after our floor were labelled 'staff only'' so we had to walk the length of a corridor one floor down to reach another staircase. The bedroom decor had been lovely once but the wallpaper was peeling behind the curtains and everything was generally faded. The wardrobe was impractical - nowhere to hang a long dress apart from the bathroom! We had a 'roof-top view' from the high windows and even with them all open, it was exceedingly hot as the hotel has no air conditioning in the bedrooms. However, the housekeeper kindly provided us with a fan, which we guarded jealously. We would not have been able to sleep without it. The lift is excruciatingly slow and the stairs are not 'user-friendly' as you cannot reach all floors from the main staircase. The food was of a good standard and the atmosphere was friendly. In terms of value for money, it was expensive, which would have been OK in its hey-day. The location is lovely but there is no parking for the hotel itself and the council had chosen to close the access road for repairs that weekend, so everyone had to walk to and from the nearest car-park - not too far away but awkward for some people with restricted mobility. I hope this hotel can be restored to its original splendour but fear that the cost would be prohibitive. The problem is that there is so much competition but sadly, many of the large, old hotels have settled for catering for a far different clientele than that they were built to attract. The result is that despite their magnificent facades, some are shabby and badly maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as near the main staircase as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveScotland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here on the 9 and 10 Oct. Was very apprehensive after reading earlier reviews but had nothing at all to worry about. All the staff were lovely and very helpful. Room was fine with a lovely bathroom. We had dinner on Sunday evening which was superb! Breakfast on Monday and Tuesday was absolutely lovely - so much choice. I really do not know what other reviewers are moaning about. We even popped down to see the leisure facilities - i.e. the pool area where previous reviews had been bad. I really wish I'd taken my swimsuit with me now because it looked fab!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

WERE DO I START...stayed here for 3 nights 1st night had to change rooms at midnight as full of flies and bed was broken in middle!! manager controls heating so hotel is freezing has not had a lick of paint in about 100 years!!HAD TO KEE CLOTHES IN SUITCASE AS HOTEL SMELLS FUSTY!!!
moved into second room window would not shut and porter had to sort fuses out!! woke up with colds!! went down to speak to manager and he would not refund us as hotel is in administration and is going bankrupt so there is no money to give us back!! so had to change to a 3rd room which was a comlete dump the hotel is a dump and managment is a joke!!! UPGRADED AND WAS STILL APPALING!!!

Room Tip: There is not a good room in this hotel !!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I recently attended a business meeting held at the Royal. The hotel has such lovely period characteristics, my room didnt have the best of views, but when mentioned the staff were more than happy to move me to a sea view room. The hotel staff were lovely, they accomodated our party who wished to stay up till the early hours chatting in the bar without the slightest of grumbles. Breakfast was to die for, and the conference room was well equipped with everything you would expect from a top class conference centre. The other hotel guests also seemed very happy with their stay. No parking is a slight downfall, but the multi storey down the road was more than reasonable for a 24 hour stay. Will i be returning?? Most definately, hopefully next time on a leisure basis.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, if you dont already have one, it cant hurt!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

when we entered our bedroom noticed duct tape holding the carpet down, reported plug face hanging off, told it would be sorted never was. plug hole ( bath & sink had long dark hair in , both me and my wife hav'nt got dark hair,had a kebab friday night in bedroom, rubbish still in room when we left sunday morning.

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lottie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The hotel is currently in administration but the staff do thier most to please. The food on offer in the restaurant is very good and for someone who finds himself stopping in hotels most days of the week the breakfast on offer is one to beat. Special mention should be made to Jackie the restaurant supervisior and to the General Manager David Hull who clearly loves the hotel and is proud to work there. It is clearly part of him. Yes I agree the hotel needs money spending on it but where in Britain can you enter a hotel and see a staircase like that! The hotel has a room that Winston Churchill stayed in and as such has a very plush suite named after him. I am sure that 2012 will bring the hotel back to its former glory! It is an icon of scarborough
it was a very enjojable stay and quite clearly the staff are doing their best in turbulant times!! As a party of 12 we will be booking to returnagain in December for a further stay,

Room Tip: Any sea view of the North bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing