We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Staff were very friendly the room was clean and bathroom modern. The hotel was quiet on the evening and no noise from other guests. Would stay again. Breakfast was good and plenty of room for everyone staying

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,119 - 2,125 of 2,496 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

My partner and i booked The Royal hotel in Scarborough and were so pleasantly surprised on arrival by the beautiful coastal views and the grand reception lobby as you walk into the hotel. It was absolutely beautiful like a theatre! The other areas of the hotel great too! However, when we got to our room we were so dissapointed. There were cobwebs all over the ceiling light and corners of the room - the ceiling light only had 2 working lightbulbs and the rest were dead (no one had bothered to change them). The bathroom as absolutely filthy - the toilet had not been cleaned from the previous guests as there were 'stains' in our toilet and the bath and sink were filthy - it was such ashame. The next morning we had breakfast where the waiter made us wait for a table because we had not dined in the restaurant the previous evening? Make sure you book a table for breakfast! Besides this the food was absolutely delicious - beautiful choices of full English and continental. All in all, a great hotel in a great location, but the cleaning quality of the rooms needs some improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesskate270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed for long weekend in August and rented a suite overlooking the bay. Really liked the olde worlde charm of the place - even though almost everything creaked!

Breakfast was good too - apart from the tea/coffee sevice being a bit random - would have preferred a self service option.

Was a bit dubious about booking given some downbeat reviews but found staff polite and friendly and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the Royal Hotel and loved it. We got a fantastic room (428), for a one night 'window of opportunity', from our 12 year old, and ‘normality’. What was wanted was a nice hotel, a good place, nice meal out and lots of nice pubs afterwards. The hotel played its part: £70 via Late Rooms for a fantastic room, with a sea, harbour and hotel front view, which was fabulous. I love the austere and dignified Victoriana-feel of the place. Class. I obviously cannot comment on all the rooms, but ours was fabulous. Huge VFM. The hotel could be a film set.

The staff were all, and I mean ALL, friendly, helpful and courteous. Even to the point of my anger and dissatisfaction when we left (absolutely nothing to do with the hotel), but more of that shortly.

I cannot understand many of the (absurd) complaining reviews I have seen on the Net
about the Royal Hotel. There really aresome professional moaners out there, now confirmed after seeing The Attack of the Trip Advisors on TV. Ridiculous:

The bar expensive? £3.60 for a pint of Stella is about the norm in most pubs now. Not cheap, but the norm.
No real ale, which is a pity, though. One real ale would be a big improvement.
As for dress code for the restaurant? Quite right, for a hotel like this. There are too many slipping standards in this country.
The staff? Faultless.

If you really want good cause to moan, try going to the St Georges Hotel in Llandudno, on the seafront, paying £150 per night for two nights (as we did some years ago) for a double room, and getting a tiny box room comprising a small double bed and a foot gap around it (which should have cost about £50 per night, or less!), plus checking with - in advance by telephone call - that reserved parking was included in the price and then told that there is "ample parking space included for the hotel". We found on arrival that there were 16 parking places for it, 400 room hotel (and staff used some of them!). I don't like being ripped off and being lied to, to con you into making a booking. Now that scenario was moan-able. Not….. the colour of the doylies, or the carpet is too plain, or you haven't got a seaview (we were lucky). The going rate for the room we got was £140 p/n. It was worth that. We got it for £70. Or the shape of the chips (cue Fawlty Towers). The lack of parking is clearly identified.

Where our stay came crashing down, was the purpose of the visit and place. Scarborough. Or at least the centre of it. What a disappointment! I loved the place a long time ago. Its gone downhill, and that is an understatement. Dog rough. Many trashy shops selling crass t shirts and pointless rubbish to hordes of 'gullible people' (I could call them worse. Watch Jeremy Kyle and you will probably see many of them on his show!).

Where were all of the nice restaurants???? Where were the nice real ale/traditional/CAMRA/unspoilt/'proper' pubs???? It was disastrously lacking in both, in the centre. We ate in a Chinese (eventually) on York Place, The Hong Kong Restaurant, which was appalling. The worst Chinese food I have ever had, and the most expensive. An awful place. No atmosphere, no ambience and very unappealing. Was the food re-heated? We suspected it was, since it took under 5 minutes to arrive.

Where were the nice pubs? There weren't any!!! Wetherspoons closed at midnight (all other town centre ones close at 1am or later, in my experience) and that was it. Others? None worth visiting. The Leeds Arms was a long way off, with nothing in-between of merit. Westborough, Newborough and Eastborough are the spine of the town centre, and the were no nice pubs. Fail. Wasted trip.

If the Royal Hotel could be plonked into central York, we would go again. But then, if it was, I doubt if it would be in receivership now.

Room Tip: Room 428 was superb. See attached picture of the view. Worth paying for. The reception/atrium is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I am a coach driver who had a party staying at the hotel, I was treated no different from the guests, and found every aspect of the hotel, excellent , I would have no hesitation about going back there, unlike a lot of hotels I have frequented

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suez58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just returned from staying at The Royal Hotel in Scarborough - two couples on a Groupon deal - we were treated to a night and day away by good friends. We had a fantastic time and I really wish that we had been staying there for two or three nights and not just the one! The welcome, the staff (like Jackie/Jacqui and Jo) were so friendly and helpful - the best check in I've experienced in a long time! Lovely concierge and the rest of the staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We had a comfortable room, lovely bed, bathroom, loadso of hot water, state of the art wide screen flat TV - all the home comforts. Our evening meal was delicious - a wide choice of well cooked starters and main courses - perfect vegetables. This morning we had a terrific breakfast (best porridge - what a refreshing change to be offere this - was scrummy) with a jug of cream, syrup/honey and brown sugar. I enjoyed it so much that when the chef went past and visited reception, I stopped him and thanked him He has been in post for 20 years (unheard of in the British catering industry) he said thoughtfully, 'I'll pass on your comments to the rest of the team'. It was fantastic value for what we paid and I think everyone in this beautiful old hotel is working hard to do their VERY best, under quite challenging circumstances. Many thanks for a wonderful 24 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Having stayed for one night everything was OK apart from the room overlooking St Nicholas Street. The street noise from a nearby Night Club was unbearable as the smokers congregated outside. It was after Three AM when the noise died away but quickly came back at Six AM when the Street Cleaners came out. Worst Night ever

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £30 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing