We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,754 results
Traveller rating
314
731
589
451
669
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
731
589
451
669
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of hot waterplenty of choicesea fronttown centrefull englishseafront
Filter
Updating list...
2,249 - 2,254 of 2,754 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Arrived here today having been here several times over recent years for a society Agm. It's been gradually going downhill but to see just how poorly maintained and dirty the place is now is depressing. Whilst the bedroom is fairly clean, apart from the carpet, the public areas, especially the dining room, don't appear to have been cleaned for an extended period of time. We' re not talking a day of poor cleaning here but cobwebs, detritus, dead flies, food debris etc in the main dining area that looks like weeks/months worth. Very poor. Wouldn't dream of staying here if someone else hadn't booked it for us and recommend you avoid. Whoever owns this place should be embarrassed.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Sdbsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We Upgraded to a seaview room for 4-nights the room was reasonabley clean the bed was comfortable the shower head was blocked so never worked properly so went to Poundland and bought one which worked a treat so if you are in room 308 you should have no trouble with the shower. The seagulls can be noisy at the front of the hotel so can the revellers.
The hotel is a lovely building but did not feel clean the dining room is very dark and the breakfast ok Did not eat in the restaurant for dinner but a couple that did said the food was good. THe staff although polite looked fed-up and we dont blame them If we go back to Scarborough would not stay at this hotel again. We wnt to Whitby for the day by bus number 93 outside Scarborough Railway Station takes an hour but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are better rooms that have been modernised it is a case of enquiring
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentgrantly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

On arrival we were told that, despite having originally been allocated a room, the hotel was overbooked. After waiting an hour we were moved to the wonderful Mount Hotel (see review). The receptionist, Adam, was very helpful in facilitating the transfer and in arranging the fringe benefits that came with the Travel Zoo deal.
All that remained at the Royal were dinners on two nights. Both of these were disappointing. Some of the food had clearly been cooked much earlier and left standing on a hot plate. One dish was swimming in cooking oil. When we mentioned this to the waiter he told us that this was the sauce.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank missiwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I with two other friends visited this hotel from 29 to 31 May on a Travelzoo deal. Having read the recent reviews I was prepared for the worst! However we all had a food time.

The bad points:

Only one lift working - we wre OK as we were on the second floor but our friends were on the 5th floor and the working lift only went to the 4th floor - after that they had a route march to their room - however the porter took their bags to and from the room. I understand they are waiting for parts to repair the lift which is an old design.

Our shower was barely luke warm. One of the boilers had broken.

Parking at nearby NCP car park but you get a reduction on the cost from the hotel

Good points

Friendly helpful staff working under great difficulties

Good food and plenty of choice - waiter service dinners - although help yourself breakfasts with some queueing at peak times

Reasonable rooms with good decor (room 247 and 522 (this one had sea view to make up for long walk)

Pleasant pool - and we didn't have to pay any extra for this

Stunning stairs - the hotel must have originally been magnificent

Pleasant lounge area - also on first floor another lounge with a sun terrace leading from it overlooking the sea

Good position in Scarborough for shops and sea front (right opposite beach lift)

Entertainment one night at hotel and the other night free access to the Grand Hotel's entertainment - this is a sister hotel in the Britannia chain

So overall although the hotel has suffered from its financial problems - I believe it was in administration before Britannia bought it - we thought it was not too bad a place and hopefully it may rise from the ashes if Britannia can put some money into it - it could be a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Whilst second lift not working go for a low room - first or second floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtrippertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I wrote a very good review about the Royal about 3 years ago. Ive come here again for a couple of nights and can't believe how bad it is now. First, they refuse to give a second room key, even though there are two adults. The shower gave icy water and I was told a boiler had broken and it would be fixed soon> Naturally, it wasn't. I was told to take a shower in the pool vicinity in the basement (we were on the third floor) but the pool closed at 7pm although the room guide said 8.30pm. So - no shower and thus, no shampoo for me. A bedside lamp didn't work -but it wasn't the bulb.The TV didn't work but by the time the man came to fix it, we'd missed the film we wanted to watch. WIFI has been disconnected from all bedrooms even tho our room guide says all rooms have it. Staff are all sympathetic but blame the couldn't-care-less attitude of new owners Britannia Hotels. The man who came to fix the toilet (yes, that was on the blink at one stage) said everything is going wrong and he was due to attend a meeting soon to hear of his redundancy. He said he was an electrician but the plumber had already been got rid of. Britannia Hotels is obviously milking this place dry without putting any maintenance or effort in. One member of a coach party said they had been given three different rooms due to serious problems. The hotel has a beautiful Victorian foyer which suggests elegance and style. Unfortuneately, that is ALL it has now and I will not return. When I told the I couldn't wash my hair due to no shower AND the pool shower being closed, he said, "Well, you should have gone when it was open." Says it all. Try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check whether everything works first, by having someone accompany you BEFORE accepting it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews