We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Hotel Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Caleta de Fuste, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Royal Hotel Scarborough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We arrived and reception staff were rude, un helpfull, we were not told where to go to eat/drink any facilities at all one lift broken and on 4th floor when asking staff how to get to room one employee had a argument with us about signage, only to be corrected by his own housekeeping lady. A couple had complained about something in front of us checking in and when they left the desk they were ridiculed by the staff(totally unacceptable). Room tired dirty toilets and peeling wallpaper only saving grace was the view and food. Serving staff were super and worked very hard to make the stay nice. Use of spa - again no staff on duty so kids were running riot, half spa broken down and only one shower working in ladies changing room and blocked toilet.

Room Tip: Ask for front rooms as the back just oveerlook backyards. Higher floors have better views but no lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skegness16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    647
    508
    379
    517
See reviews for
482
1,199
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This Hotel is a lovely old charming building and yes because of its age there are signs of wear and some signs of improvements being made but it's easy to look past that. The entire hotel was clean which is a very important factor! This hotel is huge and built in the 1800’s so it will costs hundreds of thousands each year in upkeep and maintenance so I really think its requirements for repairs can be forgiven (otherwise Britannia will need to plough millions into its upgrade which will then increase the cost of staying there considerably!)

On arrival, the reception is hidden around a corner which wasn't easy to spot as there are mirrors on columns which disorientates you a little. The receptionist was pleasant enough but gave us no information about anything other than the lift was broken (had a sign on it saying it would be repaired within 2 days but it still wasn't when we left) & she offered us help if we wanted it to our room (3rd floor), we didn't need help but directions would have been good as the hotel is like a maze it's so big. There are no signs around the hotel at all and we did bump into a few couples that were lost trying to get to their rooms.

Our room was at the back / side of the hotel and didn’t have the best of views however you have to take into consideration that you can’t get 360 sea views and it’s built on a corner plot so does have buildings around it. The windows in the hotel are old sash windows and are single glazed so you can hear more than you are perhaps used to at home (pesky seagulls mainly) but at the time we needed it (bedtime) there were no disturbances. The room was very clean (serviced by Stacey) and the bathroom was pretty new I think. There were a few minor issues that didn’t impact on our stay there though, the sink didn’t drain properly and reception didn’t attend to it even though we told them about it. The shower wasn’t as powerful as it could be. The bottom of the bath wasn’t cleaned thoroughly before we got the room but it only needed a rinse down. I am a clean freak and the overall charm of the place really outweighed any small niggles we may have had, the main thing was the bed was clean and comfortable and the room clean and warm.

Breakfast was great, good quality food and a good range of items both hot & cold. Service at breakfast wasn't fantastic and the second morning we had to ask for tea as we were seated & left to our own devises - we saw other guests have to do this. They perhaps were a little short of staff but everywhere is these days, it was minor and didn't spoil our trip.

We got free use of the hotels basement swimming pool and sauna as no one was manning the area to take payment and reception told us just to go in. The spa pool was out of order which was a bit of a shame. Some inconsiderate parents ignored the hotel rules and allowed their unsupervised children into the pool which caused a few of us in the pool issues & when a member of staff did go down to the pool they didn't intervene.

The hotels location is spot on, close to everything near the south beach and our room was at the back and although there was a little noise due to the single glazed windows we got no noise from traffic, shops, pubs etc which is just how I like it.

I would stay here again but I do think from seeing other reviews it may be pot luck over you getting a good room or not. For the price we paid we really did well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossy1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have stayed at the Royal on several occasions over the last few years and know that as an old hotel, things need updating.I can live with the tired decor and the lift not working... it is in a great place and we go to Scarborough for the break.
This time as usual I booked four double rooms for our family weekend break. ( We were there at the same time as the coach party of 49 from Macclesfield)
The difference this time was that every room was dirty. The bathrooms were the worst. There were even dirty used tissues behind the rather grey net curtains. Cob webs and black grouting are easy things to fix. If this is what you can see at front of house..... who knows what the kitchen is like. After this I would not want to visit this hotel again. It looks to me like Britannia Hotels want to take your money, but not employ the basic staff. The double bed in our room was so poor that they had changed the mattress and it was much smaller than the base. It was most uncomfortable. Table lamp had no bulb in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Not stayed here admittedly - although have been considering it for a while ever since a cursory visit whilst in Scarborough 3/4 years ago and was impressed by the majestic staircase.

All I'll add is that after looking at all the "terrrible" ratings since the hotel went into liquidation in Aug. 2011 and was taken over by Britannia hotels, I can see no management response to any of them.

What sort of management can't be bothered to offer any comment? At least the previous owner took the trouble to respond. The absence of Management responses is not apparently a corporate decision since responses are made in respect of other Britannia hotels around the UK.

Draw your own conclusions. I have.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hexaflexagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I was one of the 49 bowlers who arrived on 19 August with DFS. We were met by the duty manager and our check in was quick and easy. I was on the 4th floor room 424, a single with double bed and a lovely sea view. Room was clean and bathroom in good order, I had taken my ciff, Mr Sheen and j-cloths as I was very worried about the reviews that I had read – I had no problems what so ever.
The staff were always friendly at the reception, the cleaning staff said good morning, the waitress were lovely, but I should imagine the bar staff were fed up with people committing on the price of the drinks. I didn’t use the swimming pool but popped down to see - I thought it was ok!
The entrance was wonderful and the first floor ladies loos were a treat to use! Regarding entertainment one evening a young lady and gentleman played the piano which was delightful, and then the choir of male singers who were also stay at the hotel started singing which really made the night, other nights a man was singing and playing the guitar not very inspiring. We made our own entertainment and gathered in the Prince Regent room in the evening, and some of us had a card school going!
All in all a pleasant stay – food was good - loved the slopping floors, the old style carpets the wonderful entrance hall and the lovely views. I hope the character will not be lost when refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Arrived on friday had booked 2 double rooms for 2 nights, had explained that my elderly parents had walking dificulties so needed a low floor. they gave them room 214 which was only accesable by a set of stairs. when i asked if they could be moved the staff which were all young trainees just said no and started to laugh. when we went to our room (room 425) we were met with a broken bed and a stench that was making us wrech. i went down to the managment and again the young trainees just said we could not move and started to giggle again. i demanded to see the manager who by the way i have still not seen. a porter camer to my room and sugested we leave the window open. i then requested to see the manager again and whilst i was left waiting for 30 minuites they went into room 420 sprayed some air freshner, opened the window and then gave me the key. there are 2 lifts in the hotel the first was broken when we arrived the 2nd broke down on saturday afternoon. so all the guests in the hotel many of which were elderly or disabled had to use the stairs. the 2 lifts were still not working when we left on sunday. other people were having to leave because they could not use the stairs, however when they were asking for a refund they were told that refunds would not be given to anyone. this hotel gives scarborough a bad name.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were at the Royal from 19th August for 6 nights as part of a coach party of 49 people. In the main the Hotel staff were very helpful and problems were fixed although sometimes not very quickly. The food was very good except on Sunday evening when the last group in had cold food and the service was slow. This is a typical seaside Hotel that has seen better days, the floors are uneven and they creak, the lift broke down but was fixed the same day, doors did not fit well but it was clean and had character. Do not expect too much from the entertainment. It is a good location centrally placed and can be noisy at night at the front, which is not the Hotel's fault but the inconsiderate louts shouting late at night. Britannia bought the Hotel in March and we were told that they were waiting for planning permission to refurbish the Hotel during the winter and next year it would be much improved.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are cooler in the summer but they are more noisy as they face the road. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFS114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing