We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over The Moon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the Churchill Suite with my 3 year old son and sister, we had booked a family room and upgrade to a sea view, however as this room type was fully booked when we arrived we were upgraded to this suite and it was wonderful.
I will be honest and say I booked the break before reading the reviews on tripadvisor and spent the week prior with my hands in my head wondering what sort of a time we were going to have!
From the moment we got there with the help of Philip at reception and another gentleman who's name we did not get but we guessed possibly duty manager, we couldn't have asked for more.
The room was clean and tidy, the bathroom was fairly modern and clean, nice oldy world decor.
We were there on a DB&B basis and we found all of the food to be of a very good standard, Soup and salads as a starter, 3 or 4 choices of main course whilst we were there it was a beautiful steak pie one night and turkey with all the trimmings another night, we were very happy. One night my little boy just wanted cucumber and they were more than happy to provide him with a couple of helpings. Breakfast had plenty of choice and I really enjoyed the coffee!
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,605 - 1,611 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wow the Royal Hotel Scarborough is great I was very nervous to come, due to some of the earlier reviews.

We stayed in:
- Room: 104
- Floor: First
Sea view
From Wednesday 7th August 2013 - Friday 9th August.

-Looks from the outside:
Looks a bit down and sad with 'oyal hotel' on the side of it. There was lots of seagull mess but that is because we are at the seaside because the birds are on the edge of the building/hotel. The staff are trying well to sort this problem out they were there cleaning it when we arrived.

- Staff
The staff are VERY kind!! They were always there to help and very easy to talk to.

- Car Parking
The hotel did not have their own car park BUT they did have a car park plan. When you arrive the hotel have a little car park brochure to advise you about parking. We parked at the palms in a block which closes at 11pm and opens at 7am which means you car is safe. It is £10 for 24 hours but it is up to you where to park.

- Room
As you know we had room 104 and it was a suit with:
1 double bed and 2 singles
2 TVs
Tea & Coffee making facility's
Shower
Bath
Toilet ect
Towels
Dressing gouns

It was hard to get to sleep because of the seagulls outside and people on an night going past.

- Food
Lovely it was a boofey

-Leisure fasiltys
There is a lovely WARM small pool. The pool is the hottest pool I have been in, but you have to book and towels are £1 so best you take them down with you from your room. Also we walked to our room with a towel rapped round us because the changing rooms are horrid.

Only 10mins away from the beach.
Overall all the hotel is very good!!! (True)

Room Tip: Best is sea view but the seagulls make an lot off noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizrose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here 4-6 August room 403. Room very small but adequate, modern and clean, sea view and nice bathroom fittings. Food was very nice with lots of choice - can't understand complaints from other reviewers. We had a great deall from Wowcher and certainly would go back. Staff were fine. Corridors and hallways a bit dated but added to the charm.

Room Tip: Room 403 was small and very hot but nice view. Seagulls were noisy but didn't notice street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186403Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, it was full,of character and charm and made a nice change from the big chain hotels, yes the decor is tired and the hotel could do with a overhaul, but the stunning features made it a pleasure to stay in, rooms were big and clean, staff were friendly and the location is very central. The only downside s there is no car park, but there are plenty of car parks nearby. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked in for one night on Sunday, having stayed in Whitby Friday and Saturday, we wanted to finish our wedding anniversary weekend off in Scarborough. Having stayed here a couple of times now (see previous reviews), we sort of knew what to expect from The Royal.

We booked B&B in a double room for £25 per person, which is a fantastic rate anywhere in Scarborough. The room was clean and tidy but wasn't one of the updated rooms, the carpet was badly faded and the decor very tired (room 329). Although the room was made up with a double bed, it was clearly a single that had been reconfigured, as the single headboard was still attached to the wall! Bed was clean, bathroom was modernised and everything worked.

The hotel itself could be described as a 'grand old lady' but such properties will always require a program of serious investment to keep them as such. Britannia seem to be failing to put their money where their mouth is and, while there are small signs of improvements being made, if they don't step up their level of commitment to this hotel, it may be too late to save her. To get downstairs from our room, we passed through the area where the Ayckbourn Suite is. While the carpets in this area are well-kept and relatively vivid compared to other areas of the hotel, the skylight above the stairway leaks quite badly. There are some signs of remedial work to the interior but, when the heavens opened on Sunday evening, the rainwater was dripping in quite profusely through the section of once-ornate ceiling coving, now botched over to cover the damage of previous leaks. Each time I've reviewed The Royal, I've made reference to the damp problems in different parts of the hotel. Britannia need to act now to remedy the problems with the roof. Unless they ensure that the roof is sorted before another Yorkshire winter, all of their refurbishment thus far will have been in vain because the damp problem will return with a vengeance due to the hotels sea-front, hill-top location.

The dining room. I counted over thirty 'dead' bulbs in the light fittings, in the ceiling and on the walls. Just not good enough! Cracked window panes, rusting windows, relatively 'little' problems compared to the structural decay that this building is suffering from, left unresolved. It just angers me! And I concur with other reviewers that the coffee at breakfast is awful. Toast used to be served to the table with your hot drinks but it is now self-service. The up-side of this is that everyone likes their toast done a different way, so you get it how you like it! As for the rest of breakfast, it all seemed pretty bog-standard, average Full English.

And finally, the lifts. Yet again, only one lift working. I have been to this hotel three times now and I've never seen both lifts working at the same time! If there are four floors, with 30 rooms per floor, that's 120 rooms. If you estimate that 75% of those rooms are doubles / twins, 15% are singles and 10% are family rooms, that makes a full occupancy of 180+18+48=246 guests (these are conservative estimates) for those 246 guests, there is a single lift with a 3 person capacity! If you're in a hurry, take the stairs!

Come on Britannia, get your finger out. The longer you procrastinate over getting this place put right, the more it's going to cost you in the long run, both in maintenance costs and lost custom and goodwill!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockliffe_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

after getting off to a bad start been told they were over booked and sent to a horrid hotel, i complained and got back into this hotel originally booked for a much awaited break away with my partner. Hotel was nice and clean good room (although paid extra on booking for a luxury room with a sea view) got an executive room with smallish window but could see the sea, was given 2 bottles of complimentary wine for this. pool is nice and clean, food was average plenty of choice, good location on sea front, seagulls a bit of a pain they are everywhere with lots of bird muck. Quite noisy on an evening due to been on sea front lots of bars on the street. Hotel does need updating , and some staff were quite rude but all in all we had an enjoyable stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After staying here year ago, my other half booked us a night here for our 2nd anniversary, turned out to be an expensive night out! After queuing for 25 mins at reception to check in (2 desk clerks, very small claustrophobic hot area) we were givben our room keys and directed to our room - Gordon Suite, room 502 - take the lift to fourth floor, walk a little way and up a flight of stairs - with every step the floor creaked (its an old building). The suite itself was tastefully decorated, just a little big for two of us on a one night break! We were booked on a DB&B basis, but dinner had to be between 6pm-8pm and breakfast was too early for us! Dinner was a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, and ice cream for desert. If you didn't like anything on the menu it's tough - so we ate elsewhere. So a waste of money really on that (but we were told at booking time we couldn't just have a room only basis!). We had to juggle light bulbs around the suite because the bedside lamps didn't have any in them. We wanted to close the windows when we went out to avoid seagulls coming to visit - but the windows wouldn't shut. Nice to spend time away from home together though - just wouldn't do that hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathryn716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £30 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing