We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go ! Terrible hotel.. Needs a total refurb..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel need a total refurb.. The pool area us horrendous.. Walls look like they are falling down.. The room photos on the Internet are NOT true.. The rooms are basic and very grubby.(we even upgraded!!) Britannia Hotels need to spend some money, as It would be a shame to see this hotel deteriorate even further.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joannamercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Having lived in Scarborough years ago I was really looking forward to my stay which was to celebrate a friend's birthday. I had pre arranged for a chilled bottle of wine to be in our room on arrival as a surprise. It had frustrated me that I had to arrange this via Britannia Hotels' call centre rather than dealing with the hotel itself and I was right to be worried as there was no bottle of wine in the room when we arrived. I have still not had an apology from them despite emailing them twice. I begrudge paying for an expensive call again. Our superior 'sea view' room could only just pass as that, if you stuck your head out the window. The hotel is very tired and the breakfast was a mediocre help yourself affair. I will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AbiRR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Travelled in a group. No working radiators in any of our bedrooms. Had to wait for two days for an engineer to come from Llandudno to come and fix them.
Shower didn't work.
Washbasin had no plug.
The cistern was consistently running and dripping on the floor. Water oozed from the floor tiles when stood on.
There were two big cracks right across the windows that were covered by sticky tape. The windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned for a year.
Thick dust on top of all the furniture and around the carpet edges.

Why are hotels be able to trade at such a low standard?

Overall, very very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alma132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Returned here but had an accessible room as husband now in a wheel chair. The rooms are at the front with sea view. Staff were very helpful with ramps everywhere as required. Lift into hotel was broken so we had to enter round the back through restaurant - not a problem.
Food is very good. Still has the feel of a better class hotel with table cloths and cloth napkins.
If you want entertainment then The Grand is a short walk away - which a lot of guests seemed to do. Royal has an artist on 3 times a week though.
Some people still complain......I think some rooms must be worse than others...we have always been lucky.
Hotel in great position for shops and front. The venicular railway is just across the road for easy access to the beach.
Parking in the bays is free for disabled. Hotel sell cheap parking permits though.

Room Tip: If your not satisfied with your room tell reception who will move you if possible. Cant understand p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Royal with my elderly mum. I booked a twin disabled accessible room through Groupon and we were given a fabulous suite on the first floor - couldn't believe the palatial, beautifully decorated 2 adjoining rooms with a king-size bed, beautiful regency lounge furniture and twin beds both rooms with huge flat screen TV's on the wall and a lovely bathroom with a bath and a walk-in shower. I think it is a little bit of pot-luck on what room you get and some are obviously better than others until the re-fit is finished. Unfortunately we did not have any hot water in the sink but the shower was fabulous. The staircase of the hotel is spectacular and must be the most photographed staircase in Scarborough! This is an old building and the floors are somewhat 'irregular '- they do slope and move in allsorts of directions but we found that quite quaint. The hotel was very clean as was our suite which had nice white bedding and towels and plenty of complimentary toiletries. Although we had a lovely sea view, as we were at the front of the hotel there was quite bit of noise from traffic and late night revellers but that is not the fault of the hotel, if you want a quiet room then forfeit the sea view and ask for one at the back.
Only had breakfast at the hotel but this was fine, buffet service with plenty of choice. The staff were very nice and helpful although the breakfast staff could do with some in-house training as the service was very lacking, this is not really the fault of the staff and is down to management, although the staff worked very hard there were not enough of them to cover and it was rather disorganised and haphazard.
The hotel has no car park but I was fortunate enough to get a parking space on the street every time I needed one and as my mother is disabled, we were able to park without time limit.
All in all, a beautiful hotel, fantastic value for money, a lovely stay and would happily make a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the Laughton Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fianpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just arrived home after a two night stay .Hotel had lovely friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble for them..Our room was lovely and clean and nicely decorated. entertainment last night was most enjoyable. Doug and hes choice of songs had quite a few guests up dancing.In between singing and telling jokes he went round chatting to everyone.

Silly i know but i love Christmas. The tree near the beautiful staircase was very disappointing. .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_norris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I would not recommend a stay here ! we booked a two night break through a deal off the internet. On arriving at the hotel sunday afternoon after a 3 1/2 hour drive up from the Midlands unaware that it was a 3 pm check-in therefore we were informed that we were too early to check in and would have to wait until housekeeping to inform them that our room was ready which would be 3 pm their excuse was that they had had a big wedding the day before and this had put the all behind with servicing the rooms,when we finally got our key 90 mins later after complaining to the general manger! We had been put up on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel and the noise from this area was unbelievable, all l can say is the only good thing about this hotel is when we checked out of the place. another point is there is NO Parking at the hotel other then across the road at the sister hotel The Grand, and if there is no spaces then you have got to use the local NCP car parking which is nowhere near the hotel and if you have any disabilities you have had it ! The shower useless trickle / bath filled up OK their excuse was oh it's the water pressure NO the Shower needed changing

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopgirl1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £38 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing