We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Hotel after a previous stay last year. We were very disappointed this year and will not be returning. Our room had a wall that was damp and had obviously been covered up to hide the problem with a picture. It rained one night during our stay and the wall was wet through once again. The food was of a reasonable quality, however the service was incredibly slow with only 3 waiters on one evening meaning that in one hour all we had received was our starter. The hotel appears to be very shabby, it is sad to see what was once a prestigious hotel in such a sad state. The only thing going for this hotel is the location which is central for everything Scarborough has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelandAdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Staff are great! However the rooms are tired and really need a refurb, as does the rest of the Hotel. The food is poor - they tried to pass off white fish as "fresh mackarel" and it's all aimed at the 'senior market'.

Room Tip: The Grand, round the corner, is run by the same company but cheaper. Try there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Quite disappointed. I am not usually one to moan but we booked this through a cheap deal on Groupon but I would not have been happy if we had paid full price. The room was ok... apart from some furniture in the room was covered in stains. The windows were very dirty and there were some mould stains on the ceiling. We also had a view of the Council buildings over the road so people could see straight into our room. The shower had hardly any power whatsoever. In the dining area the windows are all cracked which does not create a good impression of the hotel as soon as you see it. When we went for breakfast in the morning the plates are that hot that they actually burnt our hands and we had to be carry them back to our table with a serviette. The food was really nice though and staff were professional on the up side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel has faded from its former glories, although some of its previous opulence is still visible when you look up from the ground floor to view the incredible atrium that goes up through the building.

It was a reasonable price to stay here and our room was moderately clean with only a few cobwebs and slightly shabby paper on the ceiling. The bathroom was good apart from a sulphurous smell that came from the plughole of the washbasin. A similar pong was also evident in the lift!

Meals were very good, although breakfast was not enhanced by being made to stand in line to wait for a table, when there were plenty available. The dining room windows have seen better days. We sat near an ill fitting window frame, where the window had a small hole smashed in it and a few cobwebs; not something that makes your dinner appetising!

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the back of the hotel at the weekend because it can be quite noisy until th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we were given a one-night stay at the royal as a "Sorry" from Britannia hotel group for the terrible stay that we had at their Clifton hotel in Scarborough, giving all the talk that we could see how Britannia really liked to treat people. Well, yes it was better than the Clifton but the same housekeeping standards were there, really grubby and no attention to cleanliness or detail. As for the food, everything was self service, not even a waitress service in the evening. The breakfast was again better than the Clifton, but not a good standard. Unfortunately there was a wedding event here and there were children running all over the place, so an enjoyable after dinner drink could not be enjoyed. Please Britannia, up your standards and stop disappointing people as you do not portray your hotels in a true light!!

Room Tip: Bring window cleaner so you can see out of the windows!!!! The you might see the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we booked this through a wowcher voucher so got a very good price,which made it excellent value for money,no its not the same as when winston churchill said it was his favourite hotel but its not charging those prices,breakfast was excellent good choice buffet constantly replenished,we had dinner again 3 courses all good nice veg not overcooked,rooms are a bit tired as is most of hotel but our room was a good size all furnishing looked fairly new good bathroom,I would had I realsied and paid extra for sea view room they were nicer,if you go with realistic expectations you wont be dissapointed, if you go expecting 4 star luxury for B & B prices you will be we got a deal 2 nights diner bed and breakfast around £100 for 2 people at that price its a gift

Room Tip: we were offered on booking line to pre order wine for meals this is a bargain £6 per bottle as oppse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jh251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

my husband and i were at this hotel for the week end. while the hotel is abit shabby it was adequate for our needs. the main highlight was the food. the dinner was excellent as was the buffet breakfast. it was central to everywhere and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £30 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing