We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very good relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and i have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Royal.Even though it is a bit dated,we found it clean and comfy.It was only spoiled by the attitude of 1 member of staff who told us the dining room at breakfast on our first morning was closing at 25 past nine even though breakfast is served until half past nine,but there was still some grub available so we helped ourselves regardless.But this chump didn t spoil anything for us.We got a good deal at £98 for 2 nights B nB.I dont think i would have paid full price,but i would go again,if we got another good deal.If i am being picky the only other gripe is that the housekeeping wasnt as good as it could be,but it was clean though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    658
    517
    392
    541
See reviews for
499
1,236
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for one night. Was a bit worries having read some reviews! The entrance/reception area looked great and the staff were friendly and helpful! The lift to the 4th floor was a tad small!!! No more than 2 people in it otherwise I could see it breaking down!
The hallway on the 4th floor was very tatty . Mould on the wall, the carpet was uneven! It looked a state. That said the workmen were on the floor! The room itself was a pleasant surprise! Clean, spacious and tidy! The view want anything to write about! Not that I was bothered! Bed was very comfortable.
The bar area was clean, seats very comfortable.Beer was very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was good. Plenty on offer. The heater for the plates wasn't working properly. If you picked one up without a cloth you'd get third degree burns!
Overall, not too bad! It looks like they are upgrading it as well!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jason3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed as guests of some friends for a family and friends get together. The room allocation was bizarre to say the least as the hotel had allocated the rooms - with the singles getting the larger room and the couples getting the smallest rooms! Our room was very dated, had damp on the walls and an armchair that should have been condemned - it was very dirty. The bathroom was minuscule and you had to be careful not to burn sensitive parts on the heated towel rail as you bent over the basin.If we had not been guests, I would have complained about the room more, but I did not want to upset our hosts.
The staff in the bar and restaurant were very helpful and the food was of a good standard and our tables were nicely prepared.
It is a shame that the rooms do not come up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, I would return, but would insist on seeing the room first.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first and do not have 424!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I attended a conference in Scarborough. I expected the room to be less than our normal standard of hotel ,even though quite expensive ,because of the pressure of the conference. The room was very tired. Much to my disgust I found that we had half a window pane missing. It had obviously dropped out from a taped up repair. Complaining to management only got the comment that everything was fine. The manger refused to inspect the room. After an argument we were allotted another room but only on the following day This room was good except the shower was next to useless. An apology would have made all the difference but none was forthcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P0ulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Jarrow
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Large Victorian hotel that is past it's sell by date and in need of a lot of tlc. It was a beautiful building and some of that grandeur peeps out now and again. We took a look into the grand ballroom that was set for a wedding due later in the day and it really looked good.
The reception staff were friendly and able to swop the initial room once we'd taken a look at it. The wallpaper was peeling and the small double bed was tucked up against the wall, the room so small you couldn't pull the bed out, at our age we are beyond crawling across each other in and out of bed.
2nd room was slightly better, larger, but the sea view had been swapped for a brick wall. The bed however was accessible from both sides so that was fine. Ceiling paper edges were lifting and thw wallpaper faded. Bathrooms in both instances had obviously been upgraded over the past couple of year because they were not too bad.
The dining room in it's day must have been wonderful, but I suppose that back then they would have have many times the staff and that they would have been trained to look after the guests.

The hotel company are attempting to renovate, but they've a long way to go yet. Perhaps they should spend some time on staff training first, it could yield great results.

Room Tip: Don't be frightened to ask for a room change. They layout of the hotel means there are far more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralcaybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have booked several rooms at The Royal since 2003, for the Morris Minor Owners Club Roses Run. We have always found the service to be excellent and cannot recall any complaints from any of our entrants. Most recently, the ballroom has always been beautifully prepared for our evening party and this year's meal was better than ever!

We look forward to visiting The Royal again on our next Morecambe to Scarborough run in 2015.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Roses-Run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed two nights at the end of September. First impression is great, beautiful hotel over looking the bay, gorgeous lobby with a double staircase, attentive staff, relaxing spacious lounge and bar area, large dining room, all well maintained and furnished. The rest of the building though felt quite run down, carpets in the hall way very loose and gathered - almost a trip hazard, aged decor. Tray of dirty glasses on our floor were left uncollected for 24 hours. Our room looked like it had been last updated 20 years ago, felt tired. Old box television, far too small for the room. No wifi in rooms which I would expect to be standard for a hotel of this size, wifi only available in lounge area and connectivity was very poor at best - often none at all. No onsite parking - pay and display across the road. However, room was clean and quite, and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was suberb, polite and efficient staff.

Would be nice to see some money spent on restoring the upper levels of this hotel to its former glory. Decent value for the location and the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pubworkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing