We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Arrived at this hotel at lunch time the receptionist was helpful and told us we could not check in until three o clock then preceded to try and advise us to park in a NCP car park which we know from experience are usually very expensive. We returned later and checked in to get ready for the evening meal, on trying to have a shower before going down to the restaurant found the water was cold but put it down to high usage and made do with a wash which we haven't done for years. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and geared up to accommodate the older generation which would be acceptable if it had been hot. The next morning we again attempted to have a shower, water still cold which we reported on leaving the hotel in the morning, we where told it would we sorted by the time we returned. On return in the evening we again attempted to use the shower, still freezing, husband went to reception to report yet again that we had no hot water in the shower was told that the maintenance man would sort it, one hour later nobody had turned up so rang reception two hours later nothing, so rang down yet again to be told the maintenance men had gone home, we ended up asking if we could use the spa showers, this was acceptable but has got to be one of the worst experiences I have ever had, the showers were filthy and had obviously never been cleaned for years there was plaster missing from the walls and a serious damp problem I. Can honestly say I would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't go there choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    647
    508
    379
    517
See reviews for
482
1,199
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Otley west Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked the above hotel for my Wife and 12year old daughter to have some " Girlie " time together for a treat. They had a ball. The hotel is lovely with a time warp feel about the place which gives one an insight into bygone days of how hotels used to be. The food which is all buffet was I was told excellent. A complaint was heard from a couple that they thought it should have been waiter service and the meals brought to the table. This is ridiculous to say the least given the number of rooms and guests the hotel can accommodate. There are in places tired areas but this is an old hotel and there are signs up saying someone is attending to the problem so one can't complain. If you've come expecting the Ritz or Savoy then you'll be marginally disappointed. It's not but what it is, is a fine hotel exuding charm with very helpful attentive staff that aim to be their very best and you can't say fairer than that especially in this day and age. If there was one slight negative then that would be the pool is too small. So impressed was I that I've booked for the three of us to stay in a suite for my Wife's birthday in November.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank game_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and i have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Royal.Even though it is a bit dated,we found it clean and comfy.It was only spoiled by the attitude of 1 member of staff who told us the dining room at breakfast on our first morning was closing at 25 past nine even though breakfast is served until half past nine,but there was still some grub available so we helped ourselves regardless.But this chump didn t spoil anything for us.We got a good deal at £98 for 2 nights B nB.I dont think i would have paid full price,but i would go again,if we got another good deal.If i am being picky the only other gripe is that the housekeeping wasnt as good as it could be,but it was clean though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for one night. Was a bit worries having read some reviews! The entrance/reception area looked great and the staff were friendly and helpful! The lift to the 4th floor was a tad small!!! No more than 2 people in it otherwise I could see it breaking down!
The hallway on the 4th floor was very tatty . Mould on the wall, the carpet was uneven! It looked a state. That said the workmen were on the floor! The room itself was a pleasant surprise! Clean, spacious and tidy! The view want anything to write about! Not that I was bothered! Bed was very comfortable.
The bar area was clean, seats very comfortable.Beer was very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was good. Plenty on offer. The heater for the plates wasn't working properly. If you picked one up without a cloth you'd get third degree burns!
Overall, not too bad! It looks like they are upgrading it as well!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jason3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed as guests of some friends for a family and friends get together. The room allocation was bizarre to say the least as the hotel had allocated the rooms - with the singles getting the larger room and the couples getting the smallest rooms! Our room was very dated, had damp on the walls and an armchair that should have been condemned - it was very dirty. The bathroom was minuscule and you had to be careful not to burn sensitive parts on the heated towel rail as you bent over the basin.If we had not been guests, I would have complained about the room more, but I did not want to upset our hosts.
The staff in the bar and restaurant were very helpful and the food was of a good standard and our tables were nicely prepared.
It is a shame that the rooms do not come up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, I would return, but would insist on seeing the room first.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first and do not have 424!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I attended a conference in Scarborough. I expected the room to be less than our normal standard of hotel ,even though quite expensive ,because of the pressure of the conference. The room was very tired. Much to my disgust I found that we had half a window pane missing. It had obviously dropped out from a taped up repair. Complaining to management only got the comment that everything was fine. The manger refused to inspect the room. After an argument we were allotted another room but only on the following day This room was good except the shower was next to useless. An apology would have made all the difference but none was forthcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P0ulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing