We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,613)
Filter reviews
2,613 results
Traveller rating
299
711
562
428
613
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
711
562
428
613
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of hot waterplenty of choicesea fronttown centrefull englishseafront
Filter
Updating list...
1,607 - 1,612 of 2,613 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at The Royal for two nights and found reception awash with angry grandads as there seemed to have been a glitch with the central booking system....it was complaint carnage...and made us wonder how the poor reception staff cope with such verbal lashings from dissatisfied customers on a daily basis? We were allocated a room by the calm and cheerful Lyndsay and true, we looked at three different rooms before we settled for one on the top floor but at least we asked politely for something better...the first room had scaffolding directly outside the window (not mentioned at time of booking), the second only had a shower and a bed wedged against a wall but the third felt much more up to date and clean, with views over the rooftops of Scarborough. The two day stay was characterised by angry elderly residents haranguing the reception staff at all hours - clearly if you come to The Royal you have to be in complaint mode in order to fit in...but we had a nice time. Great lounge area, comfortable room and much hilarity watching OAPS complain about literally everything...our only gripe was breakfast bedlam on day two. If you want something cheap, slightly jaded and long for raised voices in reception, then The Royal is the hotel for you...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If, like me , you booked through a booking agent and paid less than £30 for a night bed and breakfast whilst away on business you did OK -- even though in my room (232) the ceiling was dropping in and the toilet seemed to slowly flush all night !
Any more than that, or more than one night, then it would have been "goodnight Vienna".
I came down to the bar at 6.25pm to find about 40 people waiting for the dining room to open. Looking at the age i took advantage of one of the two Italian restaurants 150 yards either side of the hotel.
The staff try hard but this place needs a fortune spending to bring it into the 20th century, let alone the 21st !
Perhaps i am too young to stay there, but if you are 75 or over you will probably be happy enough

Room Tip: screw them down for a good deal
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The location was great, staff are excellent - however both the decor and menu seem to be out of the 1970's, if you like sucking your "grey" veg through a straw you will get on great here, this could be due to the average age of 70+ and the need for dentures. Spa walls are a must see. Have been put off Frank Sinatra for life - its all thats piped ALL day aaaaghhh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We were due to visit this hotel with 3 other couples in August to celebrate a 60th birthday. The booking was cancelled the day before we were going to go and transferred to the Grand hotel. A plumbing problem!! This seems to be a regular excuse to overbook the Royal and transfer guests at short notice to the Grand. Beware!! We said we did not wish to transfer and wanted our money back. Despite an email and a formal letter to the manager at the hotel we got nothing back and did not even get the courtesy of a reply to the email or letter. Eventually I spoke to Groupon who were excellent and gave us a refund immediately and a full apology.
I was so disgusted with the lack of response from the Royal that I wrote to Britannia hotels head office and was amazed I did not even get a response from them. I have never known a major company behave in this way and would advise extreme care when dealing with them. Their customer service is beyond belief.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had booked 2 rooms back in March 2013 to spend a weekend with old friends at the Royal. When we arrived (in October) we were told only 1 room was available (with no reason), and our friends would be located in the Grand. This was totally unacceptable as we wanted to spend the time together. we were eventually offered 2 rooms in the Grand (supposedly an upgrade) but after viewing these grotty little rooms we asked for, and got our money back. Then went to the Palm Court, more expensive but excellent. Give Britannia Hotels (who own the Royal and the Grand) a very WIDE BERTH!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews