We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just spent the weekend at the royal hotel scarborough. Oh My God!!! first thing you notice is the smell that hits you as you enter the foyer. Seaview room, yes, lovely and spacious, but that is about it, all furniture dated and seen better days. luke warm water, carper old, sticky and filthy, to match the 2 armchairs in the room. Very very noisy at night, could hear everyone going home from the 2 pubs down the road, can recommend the pubs, food was gorgeous there. Breakfast totally disgusting, porridge was a sight to behold!!! so didn't dare go for evening meal, and ate out for the 2 nights.
we had read the reviews on this hotel before we went, but thought we would give it a chance, but never again, all the reviews we read were correct.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    651
    512
    384
    523
See reviews for
488
1,211
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
sunworshipper012
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

my partner n i went here for a few days.this hotel is in a great position beside both the shops n south beach
1)our bedroom did not have a sea view but we did not pay to have one as you aré not in your room a lot.it was nice room.very clean n fresh towels every day.i could not fault it .we were either lucky or people like to moan.we did have a problem with our door but was fixed in minutes now that is service .
2)the lounge bar is really nice and comfey a nice place to sit and read.went to the entertainment the first night the singers and dancers was not for us and if im honestnot for the other guests either. .we did decide to try it again n Dougie the entertainer was brillante.that is what you call entertainment.wish he had been on every night .so thanks Dougie.
3)now for the only negative the food.breakfast was good but the dinner wasnt .soup salad n pudding were fine but the the main course was cold and dried out and not edible.however the week we went the chef was off so it was buffet sevice rather than waiter service.so im sure next time we go it will be better.it was a nice break.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunworshipper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were shown to our room with a sea View.You could see the sea if you removed your head.we were moved to another room which had light s out bath taps falling of mould around the bath/sink exposed wiring on the electric towel rail.In the health spa nothing worked and was very run down.On the plus side staff we're good and the food was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnyda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel very grand but a bit dated. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean but if you like hospital type hotels this one is not for you as it is a tad shabby in a grand way. rooms are cleaned daily and maids are really polite. The food is okay but could be better. overall its value for money for what you get.

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very Tired Hotel, in dire need of refurbishment. Very Noisy on Friday and Saturday nights if you have a room at the Front of the Hotel, don't expect to sleep much. Very disappointed with my stay. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the back, won't have much of a view, but could be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwraig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Once a grand hotel with a fabulous staircase down to reception, you could make a very elegant entrance. Mainly elderly coach parties, but you don't need to socialise. The staff are very helpful, the cabaret laughable, but very Butlins. There is a quaint pool in the basement but sadly closed for refurbishment when I was there, check before booking. I upgraded to a sea view room, well worth it, it's in a brilliant location overlooking the front.Good quality of furniture and a massive bed. Easy walk from the station and the beach.
Breakfast was cheap and lukewarm and there was a very rude maitre d'.
Sorry to see that rupertwalkies only gives it 1 star. I think that's harsh - I think that if you visit any seafront hotel in the UK you'll find most fixtures encrusted with bird poo, goes with the territory mate.

Room Tip: Worth getting a suite with a sea view, bit pricier, but hey, you're on your holidays. Go out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus Paradiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

First of all - I would just say don't stay in Britannia Hotel. The way they operate the business is disgusting. I felt like I had been robbed by them - they took my money and I got nothing in return. I booked my trip during the half term week for myself and my partner through late rooms. We booked a double room at the the 4* 'accredited' royal hotel (with gym and pool) which also belongs to Britannia. After driving 200 miles we arrived at the Royal hotel and tried to check in only to be told to wait in the lounge. We booked this hotel because of the pool and gym but found out upon arrival that they were closed for 3 weeks...there was nothing on the hotel website to say this because I checked the facilities etc before we booked. After 30 minutes we were getting irritated and my partner went to find out why we couldn't just check into our room. We were told that they were full and we were being moved to another hotel in Scarborough The Grand. Never have I come across such an un-aptly named place! We put our luggage back in the car and drove across to the Grand. We were told that we were getting a double upgrade which sounded great - until we saw the room! Yuk. it was a small, dirty overheated, worn and outdated room with a disgusting bathroom and twin beds. If this was a double upgrade I cannot imagine what the other rooms were like. We were very unhappy about this as the room just wasn't acceptable. We had been downgraded to a twin room in a 3* hotel with no leisure facilities - even though the hotel staff kept insisting we could use the facilities at the Royal - I explained to them they were closed for 3 weeks but this was news to them! The room was totally unacceptable for a 4 night stay. We complained to reception that the room was not acceptable and were told to wait in an area through some double doors. They are clearly used to dealing with complaints as this was the hotel equivalent of the 'naughty step' to move you away from the other guests who might overhear that you are not happy. we spoke to a manager who was clearly completely disinterested in us. We told him the room was unacceptable and we were not offered another room. We then asked for our money back and was told that this was not possible. Once you pay your money to Britannia you have lost it. We then spoke to the Operations Manager who also told us that we could not have a refund. We could have that room or leave with nothing. The two managers we spoke to really couldn't have cared less about us at all. After driving for hours and being moved from our original hotel to one we didn't book we were pretty miserable. The staff are obviously very unhappy too and they clearly have a lot of complaints to deal with. We are still trying to get our money back and I will never use a Britannia hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkshirefroglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing