We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value! Worth a stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a budget room for 2 nights. No window, but a false window so the room didn't resemble a box! That said I knew there wouldn't be one. Bedroom was spacious and clean. Not the most modern of furniture. But better than I was expecting in a cheap room.
The bathroom was excellent! Clean, plenty of room and the bath had jacuzzi jets if you wanted them (brilliant to lay there and relax).
The bar area was massive. Staff quick to serve and friendly. My only gripe about the bar was that it shut at mid night! ( manager. Its a hotel. Residents should be able to drink after mid night). Bar meals were good value and tasty.
As was the breakfast!!!!!!!
Yes, parts of the hotel look a bit dated. Especially the windows in the restaurant and bar area.
But for £75 for 2 nights including breakfast was great value.
We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jason3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,407 - 1,413 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Set in a great location. Handy for shops and close to some good pubs. Room clean, tidy and spacious. Breakfast normal hotel buffet style. For the price paid, it was well worth it. You get what you pay for so adjust your expectations accordingly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJMcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We've been trying to book a weekend break in a couple of weeks but the website freezes. To phone their chargeable Premium Line, only phone number they give, is a cheek and they won't respond to emails. We found a contact form for the hotel group Britannia, via Google, not on their website and we had a response saying they'd get back to us in 28 days. We also learnt from this site the pool is closed, only reason we were going there and the hotel turns out to be owned by Pontins. Who's running the place, CoCo the yellow Coat?

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just spent the weekend at the royal hotel scarborough. Oh My God!!! first thing you notice is the smell that hits you as you enter the foyer. Seaview room, yes, lovely and spacious, but that is about it, all furniture dated and seen better days. luke warm water, carper old, sticky and filthy, to match the 2 armchairs in the room. Very very noisy at night, could hear everyone going home from the 2 pubs down the road, can recommend the pubs, food was gorgeous there. Breakfast totally disgusting, porridge was a sight to behold!!! so didn't dare go for evening meal, and ate out for the 2 nights.
we had read the reviews on this hotel before we went, but thought we would give it a chance, but never again, all the reviews we read were correct.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

my partner n i went here for a few days.this hotel is in a great position beside both the shops n south beach
1)our bedroom did not have a sea view but we did not pay to have one as you aré not in your room a lot.it was nice room.very clean n fresh towels every day.i could not fault it .we were either lucky or people like to moan.we did have a problem with our door but was fixed in minutes now that is service .
2)the lounge bar is really nice and comfey a nice place to sit and read.went to the entertainment the first night the singers and dancers was not for us and if im honestnot for the other guests either. .we did decide to try it again n Dougie the entertainer was brillante.that is what you call entertainment.wish he had been on every night .so thanks Dougie.
3)now for the only negative the food.breakfast was good but the dinner wasnt .soup salad n pudding were fine but the the main course was cold and dried out and not edible.however the week we went the chef was off so it was buffet sevice rather than waiter service.so im sure next time we go it will be better.it was a nice break.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunworshipper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were shown to our room with a sea View.You could see the sea if you removed your head.we were moved to another room which had light s out bath taps falling of mould around the bath/sink exposed wiring on the electric towel rail.In the health spa nothing worked and was very run down.On the plus side staff we're good and the food was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnyda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel very grand but a bit dated. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean but if you like hospital type hotels this one is not for you as it is a tad shabby in a grand way. rooms are cleaned daily and maids are really polite. The food is okay but could be better. overall its value for money for what you get.

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £50 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing