We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I really don't recognise the hotel described in some of the earlier reviews - can you name a hotel that wouldn't benefit from being refurbished? We paid £39 on a Groupon offer for bed, breakfast and dinner including a bottle of wine and we had a great time. We did pay an extra £20 for a sea-view room and the wine was (obviously) not the best quality but what do you expect for £59 ? The room was a good size, warm, clean and the decor was fine (room 307); a comfy king-size bed and 32" TV. The bathroom was not perfect but it was clean and in reasonable condition. The restaurant was spacious and well decorated and the evening meal was fine although there wasn't a lot of choice. Then we had a cabaret singer for an hour after dinner and he was quite entertaining. My wife said that she had a lovely birthday. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 307 was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    654
    513
    385
    530
See reviews for
492
1,219
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and it took over a hour to book in as they had lost our reservation. No apology or anything.
The lower floors are run down and dirty. Our room had mould on the walls and ceiling with wallpaper hanging off.
The staff were rood and just didn't want to know.

NEVER AGAIN. MISS THIS ONE OUT.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Filey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked via Groupon. Overnight stay, three course dinner, full breakfast and a bottle of wine from the "house" list cost only £49 for the two of us! It was cheaper than going to Scarborough for a meal and getting a taxi back to Filey! Room was very ordinary but what can you expect at that price. Dinner was good, Breakfast Ok very busy, again as you'd expect with the Groupon offer. The building is very tired and stairways, halls etc need a re do but themain staircase is just fantastic. We found a newly refurbished music bar just off reception with no one else in and sat there with our free wine then had another bottle! Staff were friendly and helpful but obviously overstretched. Can't complain at that price, would go again if the offer came up but probably pay a bit more and upgrade the room.

Room Tip: If I went again I would upgrade from a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for a single night for a weekend get away in January. When we got there at 12pm we were told our room would not be ready until 2pm so to leave our bags in the porters area which is an unattended corner of the lobby open to all and completely unsecure.
When we returned to the hotel to get our key and go to our room we found our room was in a corridor in the back of the hotel that looks like it should be reserved for hotel staff or DSS. Towels piled in corners (when rooms were all supposed to be ready for customers), dirty carpets and tired paintwork.
Our room was no better.....damp walls and ceiling, wallpaper taped back together, rust in the bath, a single duvet on the double bed, no heating and curtains that look tired and in desperate need of replacing.
We decided to return to reception to ask for a different room.....'We are full' was the repose from the gentleman that I assume was the manager and upon telling him our complaints all we got was 'The hotel is awaiting refurbishment'.
The Hotel is a lovely grand building that in its day would have been fantastic, but has suffered from lack of investment and upkeep over the years.
The one good thing I will say is the location of the hotel is fantastic for local shops, bars (Blue Lounge is really nice) and for a stroll on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Booked on late rooms.com, booked in at reception and moved on to the room, then the smell hit me! Booked into room 334 (family room) and found the hallway carpets not laid, dirty bed linen everywhere and fire alarm outside the room taped up. The room!!! Wall paper ripped, sofa in shreds, bed linen full of hairs!!!! Went back down stairs and asked for a re-fund! Manager... Why? Told him... Said what do you expect for £65, told him would not pay 65 pence. Booked into the crown plaza, excellent. Also noted that if you look at all the complaints on here they all have the same copy and pasted comments!! We will see what environmental health have to say when this is reported as I do not want anyone else to be faced with this. Britannia hotels.... Never in my life time!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cromps1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay
The Royal is a beautiful old building and inside retains many original features.
The reception staff and the guy on the door to let you in after 12am are very friendly.
The room we had was on the 4th floor, although clean when we arrived it was not serviced after that, apart from 2 cups removed from the room, although on the description states rooms are serviced daily. We looked out onto scaffolding, not a major problem for a short stay as we didn't spend much time in the hotel. Shower was pathetic, room was freezing, floor dipped, beds lumpy.Noise from plumbing horrendous and sink took ages to drain
General areas of the building were clean but seriously need some money spending on it, a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.
Breakfast was ok, but not very warm
This is a very, very tired hotel and having stayed in several Britannia hotels, this is right at the bottom of the list,. Come on guys restore this beautiful building to it's former glory and give people value for money!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just back from a short break at The Royal in Scarborough. It is very dated and some upgrading needs done urgently but overall a great old hotel. We had room 426 massive room Jacuzzi bath great sea views. Cleaner wasn't to good didn't make the beds up properly after we tidied them up in the morning. Public areas were spotless. Food was great and a good selection. Service was first class. Staff were all very helpful. Hotel is situated near shops near beach, steep hill down but the beach tramway is right across the road.Would recommend this to a friend as I thoroughly enjoyed it. We were only there a few days so never got round to trying the pool but those who did said it looked great but was cold. Great place for a weekend shopping trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldertravellerFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing