We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of an era” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“End of an era”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed in suites here at the beginning of February for years, and in the past have block booked all the executive rooms for a conference. This year will be our final visit. In the last year particularly The Royal has seriously gone downhill. We arrived to find the 3 rooms we had booked were now unavailable. Mysteriously two of them became available again and we were given another room. The hotel is now very scruffy and tired, lots of cracked glass, dirty windows and missing light bulbs. Our taps leaked and the bathroom needed serious redecoration.
Breakfast was good and Jackie the waitress was lovely, but gone are the china teapots with real tea, they have been replaced with a trolley of pre-prepared tea and coffee thermal jugs (plastic). The jams and marmalade are left on the side in huge Kilmer jars with no method of transporting a portion to your table. Wifi is offered but barely exists. There are signs stating that phones and laptops are not allowed in the bar area but that is the only place that they intermittently work.
The most annoying musak is playing at all times in general areas. The music is too loud, very repetitive and never ending. We were there for 4 days and after the 1st day realised that we knew the sequence of songs by heart. Endless Carpenters, Streisand and other cheesy numbers played too loud for normal conversation, we did not use the hotel bar for this reason. What a shame, this hotel has always been the old fashioned type but was quaint and full of charm......a step back into another era......now is is a sad broken down has-been#end of an era.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    641
    502
    371
    510
See reviews for
470
1,184
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Booked into The Royal for 2 nights over the weekend. Paid £34 a night with breakfast and I had realistic expectations. Stayed in 350 on thr first night. Very shabby to say the least. Pubic hairs on the bathroom wall tiles. Cobwebs and mould everywhere. Shower would not run warm. But that was probably a saving grace because the shower head was black with mould. I've attached a picture. Disgusting. Tried to get a move but was told hotel was full. Put up with it and have to say bed was comfortable. But the room was appalling. Got a move for the following night. Much better room. Yeah it was tired and needed redecorating, but it was clean, spacious and comfortable. No complaints. Breakfast was good. Limited choice but left satisfied. Bar was fine. Entertainment straight from the set of Benidorm! Staff were friendly. But I'm unable to forgive them for expecting anyone to stop in room 350!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulBrown615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We've stayed in Scarborough on a number of occasions. This was our first time at the Royal, and it won't be the last as we had a really enjoyable stay. The hotel is in a prime position in the heart of Scarborough. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. We had a lovely room which was very pleasantly decorated and furnished. In line with the Olde Worlde quirkiness of the hotel, the gradient of the floor felt almost like a ski slope as it sloped noticeably from one side of the room to the other ... but that's part of the charm of these old hotels and I prefer that to a concrete box. Maybe one day Britannia Hotels will splash out on some flat screen tellies, but in the mean time you have to step back in time and watch TV on a CRT television... but at least it's colour and not black and white!!! The entrance and reception area is truly magnificent with an amazing staircase and beautiful chandeliers. Breakfast was served in the lovely restaurant with views overlooking the harbour; very civilized with lovely starched white tablecloths. The sausage wasn't nice and I didn't like the taste of the orange juice (probably re-constituted from concentrate) on the other hand the bacon, black pudding and eggs were delicious and it was nice to be served proper filter coffee and not instant. We didn't eat dinner (£17.50 for a 3 course table d'hote) as we felt that there were better options close by. And much to my regret I didn't use the swimming pool and Jacuzzi as I forgot my swim shorts! In a nutshell Magnificent Hotel - great VFM.

PS The Hotel doesn't have its own car park. If you pull up outside of the hotel you'll then have to navigate through the one way system to find parking. So if you don't have too much luggage, park at St Nicholas cliff (in front of the Grand Hotel) before checking in and walk across the road to the hotel. The hotel has a special deal for on-street parking and you can buy a 'day ticket' which lasts until 1.00pm the next day for £3.00 from reception.

Room Tip: The Hotel doesn't have its own car park. If you pull up outside of the hotel you'll then ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from this hotel.We booked our weekend break direct with the hotel so we paid full price for our stay (except for 2 bottles of wine which we were told on the telephone were half price).
We booked an executive sea view room this was fine although not up to the usual standard of an executive room but it was clean. The first night we were freezing because the radiators were only warm half way up we did ask for them to be bled the next morning the young man who did this was very polite and helpful.
Now for the restaurant. We were not allowed in the restaurant when we first went down because we had left the white checking in card in the car hen when we parked up even though I had the room key. When we went to reception they said they would phone the restaurant to let us in but we would not be able to have the wine because the voucher for the wine was on the card. Could they not see by our booking that we had paid for the wine. We went back to the restaurant and had to wait nearly 15 mins in a half empty restaurnat to be seated. The woman who should have done this, past us several times and did not acknowlede us. When my husband asked if we could find our own table she said we would have to wait. I found her to be very rude and unhelpfull. We did complain at the time and feel that Adam did take note of our complaint.The food I must say was lovely. The next evening we were seated promptly and the serving staff were polite but we had to wait ages to be served. The couple on one side of us said that they waited 40 mins for their main meal and the couple at the other side left without having dessert because they were fed up of waiting. The first part of the meal went well but after we had been waiting for a long time for our dessert we were told that they had run out of one of our choices. The restaraunt needs to better organized.
We would never stay in this hotel again and has we spoke to other people around the hotel I don't think ours is the only custom they have lost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one nights stay in family room Saturday 1st feb 2014 after reading lots of poor reviews shocked to find a lovey friendly hotel and enjoyed a great evening meal and very good breakfast and could not ask for better daughter of four asked if she could stay and go in pool and dance again if only we could

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day break and we had a very pleasant stay, from the minute we walked in staff on reception were very nice and booked us in straight away. The meals were very good and varied with plenty to choose from. We booked a twin room with a sea view (305) and it was very nice. The Public areas had very nice seating areas where you could relax and read if you wanted to or watch the entertainment which was good. This was our first stay at this hotel but we will be returning again.

Tate Family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here recently on a groupon deal as it seems most people do at the moment.
We checked in and got a great room, loads of space and even a seperate bedroom for our little one.
In its heyday this hotel must and been spectacular and even though it is a little run down in places it doesn't spoil things.
We had a 3 course meal and bottle of wine included in the price and have to say the food was really good and we all enjoyed it!
We would definately stay here again if we could get the right deal, come on Brittannia get those deals out!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tired-out-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing