We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2 night stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2 night stay!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 2nd May 2014 after checking out at Cayton Bay Park Resort. We decided we loved Scarborough so much that we would have a treat & book a hotel for 2nts. Hotel couldn't help with availability so referred me to Britannia booking line who advised we could have a family room with a camp bed so all 4 of us could share a room. We took our pet Bullmastiff & upon arrival to check in our room status said - Penthouse Rm 600. Wow when we eventually found the room only to be told it was the hotel owners suite fir 10years that he lived in. This Suite is amazing & huge! Perfect for a family with a big dog. We will definitely return but doubt we will be this lucky next time. Food was very good or Breakfast I should say... We ate out one evening & had takeaway the next night being as the Suite had a dining table. Great time & lovely swimming pool, steam room, sauna etc... Children loved it!! We will certainly return & it was nice to have a lovely clean accommodation & not be given the basic room just because we have a pet

Room Tip: Ackbourne Suite 600!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOMREPLOVERUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    658
    517
    392
    541
See reviews for
499
1,236
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed the 2nd till the 5th of May ( bank holiday weekend ) for a family stay my day paid nearly £1000 for 3 nights 3 rooms 8 people in total
I arrived at the hotel first and went to check in the lady demanded the money for the room up front so I paid
When we got to our room number 336 3rd floor it was shocking the floor is uneven you feel like you were on a boat one of the beds were sloped so if you slept on it the blood would rush to your head the other beds were falling apart u couldn't get comfy I had 3 nights of a uncomfortable mattress and the wardrobes had a piece of wood to stop them from falling over and this is meant to be a family room
The door was about 4 inch from the floor no privacy u could put your foot under our main door my husband went out in the hallway to prove a point and took pictures from underneath the door
He complained and said about privacy but nothing the staff didn't care on the last day at check out he complained and nothing they do not care once you've paid that's it I wouldn't ever recommends this hotel stay away all you expect from a hotel is a comfy bed and a clean room and a decent breakfast and this had none
Even the hallway smelt fusty u could tell they tried to get red of the smell
With air fresheners they also allow dogs I'm sorry I have a dog and wouldn't dream of taking it to a hotel that is disgusting they could have fleas or anything
I will be contacting Britannia hotels as I have proof with photos of the state of the room and it was a family room
Even the disabled room wasn't for disable people no walk in shower no high rise toilet no handles it's shocking my nan suffered for 3 nights we booked disabled we expect the facilities

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amyzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

hartlepool
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have just come back from stopping 1 night at this hotel. We booked a Suite and it was HUGE! We had 2 big bedrooms and a massive sitting room, Bathroom and separate toilet and for the price it was great, but saying that several things let it down. There was mould on 1 wall in the first bedroom, a few stains here and there and through the whole hotel, it was very dated and needs an over haul. I can imagine years ago, this must have been a fantastic grand hotel.
The breakfast was ok, and the bar food on the night was not bad value. The pool and Spa was a bit odd, even though you were a guest at the hotel, they charged you for using it? And a pound for using a towel! The charge was small but still charged. The staff were friendly but I was a bit annoyed when I checked in, a lady on the front desk advised me to park in the shopping centre car park 100 yards up the road but on checking out I found she had sent me to the wrong one and I had to pay £18.50 car parking!
Also the windows need replacing as they are very old and single glazed and we got a massive amount of noise from gangs outside till the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Tried to check in a couple of hours earlier but wasn't able to but that is normal hotel policy but sometimes it works. Checked in about 4.pm, was given a gorgeous suite on the first floor which overlooked the bay of Scarborough, we only booked a family room, 2 adults and a child. So first impression was excellent, staff friendly on reception and giving out Easter eggs (it was Easter Sunday!!).

Breakfast was very mediocre. Was told that someone would come to the table to offer us tea or coffee however, no one did, so we had to ask. Usual fried breakfast buffet style on offer and a couple of cereals. Croissants and Danish pastries would have been a nice touch but can't complain really as it was included in the very reasonable price we booked.

Would stay again for locality and if we got the same room.

Room Tip: Book a sea view. Suites are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at the royal hotel & i have to say although it is dated & needs renovating is is far superior to its sister hotel The Grand which we stayed at last year. The room was spacious with a large bathroom, a walk in wardrobe & a very comfy bed. The bar lounge was very comfortable with nice sofas & entertainment each evening. We booked B&B & the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Shame the jacuzzi was out of action as this was one of the reasons we chose the hotel but we had a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annwoodlesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Whole inside of hotel smells like sever, windows dirty, staff not interested to help you at all, restaurant supposed to be open till 9pm but refuses to serve you at 8pm already, disgusting breakfast, I booked quite last minute and was tempted by big discount, should have read all the comments before and avoid disappointment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

room dusty windows filthy ,bathroom door hanging on by one hinge,all chrome fittings are GREEN ,side of bath black streaks ,back of loo floor filthy reported to reception they just accepted prob and said get it seen to ,no excuses must happen regularly, even bed not made correctly.breakfast was beyond a joke don't think sausage ever seen meat .scrambled eggs in a lump in warmer,fried eggs hard.when asked for tea or coffee from only member of staff was given a flask which contained some warm liquid which I didn't recognise immediatly .when getting off lift carpet in passage way had holes in it (accident waiting to happen?) rest of carpet loose.
wife couldn't even get pack of crisps from bar they seem to have sold out.
last morning went to small café next to market great tea and breakfast.
noise from drunks till early hours from pubs,thought filthy windows might deaden noise but was wrong.
absolutely worst hotel I been in

Room Tip: don't go you will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing