We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it, love it, love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 12 May 2014

wow almost cryed when seeing the look on my sons face when walking in the hotel he thought we had won the lotto this is truly a stunning hotel . we recently stayed in the sister hotel of this company and hated every min but from the moment we walked threw the door we loved it the room was massive and the bathroom was bigger i could have lived in there amazing watching the sun rise in a morning on the sea it made us giggle that the phone was next to the loo , the lady in the breakfast room didnt catch her name but she was lovely even tho she was so busy she made us giggle and couldn't do enough for us , i carnt eat wheat ore gluten and they went out of there way to make sure i had special bread and food that i could eat . and i must say the breakfast was amazing so hot and fresh . we had a look at the pool but didnt go in that two looked lovely ,the cleaners was so polite and cheerful .carnt wait to go back again

Room Tip: 315 is a massive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikkinutjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,452 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our first visit to The Royal and it was a last minute booking to celebrate our 41st Wedding Anniversary, although we didnt have the opportunity to have a Sea View room as was booked the room offered was clean and fresh, sadly this was not the hotels fault it was through an internet booking site.

The Reception Manager, Ed offered a superb discounted rate and a complimentry bottle of wine (to help celebrate our Anniversary), his reaction was so welcoming, apologetic and warm. We also had a lovely Bar person, Nino, who was so helpful and charming and nothing was too much trouble.

The meals we had there , Dinner and Breakfast , both were delicious.

Although this beautiful building is looking tired you can still imagine the splendour in its day, the staircase is definitely a wow factor.

My Husband and I have found a place to go for relaxtion and will hopefully visit many times in the future

Room Tip: Did not use Spa on this visit so could not rate but I am sure I will do another time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Royal on the first sunny weekend of the year. Our room was perfect, sea view the best yet and had been recently. refurbished The mini fridge a bonus. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshire pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've stayed in this hotel twice in the past year and I really do like it. It's faded elegance but, it's still a lovely hotel and very nicely located for the south side and the town centre. The food is lovely - I thoroughly enjoyed both the breakfast and evening meal menus.
The standard of rooms differ somewhat. The first time I stayed (May 2013), the room was of a fairly high quality however, in May 2014, the room wasn't as good but, I still had a really enjoyable experience in this hotel, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The quality of rooms differ so, be aware. The food is consistently good, in my opinion. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Royal and were impressed by the standards of the Hotel. Our party consisted of my partner and I, mum, and two grand children. we were knocked out at the gothic splendour of the hotel, the lovely rooms and the great service ! The meals were very good and the entertainment at night was first class.

The hotel is very near to the sea and is reached by a lovely walk thru gardens.

All in all, excellent and we will definitely be staying again

I

Room Tip: Just go with the flow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed at the Royal several times in the last few years .
The building and location are terrific with a fantastic view of the south bay and castle from the east facing bedrooms and the front of the hotel . However over the last 5 years the interior of the hotel has sadly deteriorated .There are still some great features like the staircase ,bars and gents toilets but some money really needs to be injected for the hotel to reach some of its potential .
Our room ,to be honest , was just adequate, however the bath taps and shower arrangement did not work properly . I had to have a bath with the shower switched on ! . Also our only window backed on to the centre of the Royal which can only be described as Beirut on a bad day lol .Room service was not good as my wife had to tell the cleaner what needed cleaning .There were some positives to the services for example a young south African lad in the main bar was brilliant and helped to make our stay enjoyable .
We really like the Royal but Brittania get some money spent to keep the Royal at 3 star instead of 2 .
Love the building and location but pleased get it sorted .

Room Tip: Look at the room before you say yes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbeckett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked for two nights in March as part of a deal, paying a little extra for room upgrades. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent views. Both rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. Included in the offer was a free meal and complimentary wine on both nights. The buffet evening meal was of reasonable quality with a fair choice of dishes. Ok the Hotel may have seen better days but is not soul less & certainly has character witness the atrium stairs. Overall I judge on value for money & given the price we paid we were not disappointed & had an enjoyable two night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing