We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars due to value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“4 stars due to value”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ok, the hotel is pretty dated, it needs a good refurb. It was advertised on laterooms as 4 star, I would say that the actual room we stayed in and the hotel in general is more 3 star, however, we paid £29 for a twin room including breakfast, so on that merit I give it a 4/5 review.

Was staying there with a friend the night before a funeral and we just needed somewhere cheap and comfortable to spend the night as we didn't want to do both journeys in a single day. The room was indeed a twin room as requested which to be fair was a pleasant surprise. The drinks tray slides out from under the TV which was a nice feature. The room was pretty large. The bathroom was dated but functional. The TV worked fine and the beds were comfortable enough and the room even had a desk.

Breakfast was included in the price and was also reasonable.

Overall, for the price we paid we were very happy with it, it certainly served a purpose. If you're looking for something grand, maybe don't go here, but if you want somewhere comfy, clean and cheap, this is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    651
    512
    384
    521
See reviews for
488
1,209
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Turned up this saturday 17.5.14 and booked a double room, our first impressions were lovely but then once we got our room shock horror, clean, very basic and small, stains on the bedding the chair, window rotten. The room backed onto the main road so kept awake all night with the night club then the seagulls. Went for breakfast cup and sauces stained, plates stained tea served in like thermos flask very off putting smell couldn't drink it, breakfast plates stained breakfast it self shocking. This is my worst experience ever for a hotel will never go back again..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

If you get a seafront room, you won't need an alarm clock as seagulls will wake you from 6am. The hotel is dated but grand, needs some TLC but at the end of the day, you've gone to the seaside, why you going to sit in a hotel all day?? Location perfect as top of the cliff from the South Bay. There is a tram that is 80p that will take you down to the seafront if you struggle with the steps or overindulge with fish and chips. Parking is non-existent and expect to pay £6.50 for 24 hours at multi-storey 5 mins away. Breakfast.... Incredible and sets you up for the day

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank krisbobtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We visited the Royal Hotel Scarborough on on a five day (4 Night) coach holiday on14th to18th April this year. This is one of those hotels that in its heyday was the last word in luxury and although like so many of these hotels it has lost that glamour, it retains a certain ambience that will make you imagine the days of yore. Its position is excellent with views across the bay and pleasure beach. its elevated position gives easy access to the beach below via a footpath for the energetic, or the railcar up and down for those of us more senior. We had a large double room with lots of storage and a comfortable bed. There was also a large bathroom with bath and shower over.
Food was buffet service with a good selection well cooked. Staff were cheerful and helpful. For a low cost holiday I have had no better and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: I heard no complaints from any in our party
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigunWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I thought we were getting a good deal staying at this hotel with a Groupon Deal, however I think they must save all the sub-standard rooms for anyone who pays an offer price. The bed was actually ok and the linen clean, however there were dirty scatter cushions and the chairs had marks on them. The bathroom was basic, with a poor shower and rough towels. No bath mat, so had to use one of the towels so we didn't slip on the lino. There was damage to both bath and sink. The TV is in a ridiculous position, no way you could watch it in bed. We ended up moving it, otherwise we would have both had very bad necks!!

The hotel is clearly in desperate need of refurbishment. Some of the carpets on the corridors and dangerous. Considering the amount of elderly people staying here I'm surprised there hasn't been some accidents. We had breakfast included and this was good, with cheerful staff. Unfortunately we felt the customer care skills were lacking a little at reception.

This is such a beautiful building and it's a real shame that it is so badly run down. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 421 unless you like pigeons!!! There appears to be a resident one that lives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and unfortunately a combination of things made our stay less enjoyable than it should have been.

The entrance hall is quite grand and inviting. We got our room key and went to the lifts. There was a smell of bad drains. We got to the 4th floor and the smell was even worse. Fortunately it didn't smell in our room. However, the drains in our room were rubbish, even just cleaning your teeth the sink filled up and took ages to drain away. The shower was so weak you could hardly get wet!

Our room was big and the bed was comfortable.

The evening meal was okay but the breakfast was better. However, one member of staff was very rude. We tried to get her attention to ask for a pot of tea. That took some time and when she finally acknowledged us she didn't stop to ask what we would like she just kept walking past and grunted.

When the tea arrived it was placed on a table adjacent to us! She was a right pain.

We also complained about the bad smells in the corridor to the manager, he said he didn't know about it. Another guest said he was told that the smell was plaster drying! What a load of rubbish.

Finally, drains in some rooms became blocked and they had to be cleared. Guess what, the smell went away after the drains were cleared out!

I wont rush back to this hotel that's for sure. It's a shame because it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlistairNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from our third weekend at the Royal this year. As you'll guess, we love Scarborough; two very different bays (great walks), good shops, a lovely park, two theatres, great pubs with live music, some excellent restaurants - all the ingredients we need to make every day here special.
Yes, the Royal is a bit shabby chic in places, but that's part of it's appeal to us. It ticks the boxes we need it to - clean, comfortable, centrally located, and very competitively priced. The buffet breakfasts are terrific, and we've never eaten lunch whilst we've been staying there!
We always upgrade to a superior sea view room, and have been lucky enough to stay in the Royal Suite twice, which is gorgeous.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linz6bil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing