We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,596)
Filter reviews
2,596 results
Traveller rating
297
707
558
427
607
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
707
558
427
607
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of hot waterplenty of choicesea fronttown centrefull englishseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,423 - 1,428 of 2,596 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hi Booked the Royal after looking at the pictures on web site, don't be fooled by the picture, In reality the Hotel is very tired an in need of much investment to bring back into an acceptable state, I paid £90 per night for B&B the condition of the hotel should only command £50max, A number of the guest including the wife and myself commented on the smell when leaving your room down the hall way to the lift and also in the lift, (floors 4, 3 and 2) on the day of our check out I could hear an elderly gentleman say when exiting his room GOODBYE SMELLY HOTEL!!. In the morning due to the single glaze window we were woken by the cry's from the seagulls, also people walking outside your room (it sounded as if they were in the room with us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

hi please take note that this hotel is not as it looks I did read that the hotel breakfast was rubbish and they were right it looked like something from a super market. and when we were getting our dinner I had to wait for 15 minutes to receive it I had to complain to the supervisor and he said I will sort it out then carried on cleaning tables. then when it did come I said to the waiter take it back am sick of waiting and went for something outside the best member of staff was the barman who put his self out . but the girl on reception was not the happy person you would expect on a reception .also the food was not the standard you would expect. The room was not clean there was bottles under the bed I also complained about that and the reception girl did not give a dame the same girl that can not smile DO NOT KNOW HER NAME UT HAD BLOND HAIR. LITS OF PEOPLE COMPLAINED. about different issues but I ges the owner don't even care.

Room Tip: don't stay
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited Scarborough North Yorkshire for a 2 day visit, stayed in The Royal Hotel, was going to book smaller b&b but decided to stay here as they had offers on; double room with breakfast £55 per room per night. The hotel had mostly good revues except someone had moaned about the breakfast, but you can't please everyone. Firstly the hotel is situated on the flat overlooking the harbour and bay, on edge of town center, a couple of mins walk and your in it, all the usual shops ,malls, markets etc, a couple of pubs like whetherspoons and a few other pubs mostly serving meals.The Royal Hotel sister hotel to the Grand some 2 mins walk away was more impressive than I thought especially for the price, impressive grand stairway on entrance with reception to side, with friendly staff, we didn't book in until 19.00 hrs as we had been else where sight seeing, this was not a problem. Our room as expected for the price, was at the rear of hotel; very modern décor , wardrobe , flat screen tv, tea/coffee , hair drier, iron/ironing board, dresser with large mirror , 3 nice large lamps in room, bathroom with modern corner bath ( can easily fit 2 people in) with nice new shower over it, wc etc , soaps, shower gels etc... only criticism is that sides of bath are a little high to step in and out of if you are short or elderly.Breakfast time is 07.30 -10.00 shown to our table by polite waiter who offered us tea/coffee then explained it was a self serve breakfast. plenty on offer from continental style fruits , cereals , full English with hash browns, fried bread, toast etc.. as much as you wanted, nicely presented and scrumptious. We didn't try lunch or evening meals as we tried different pubs in the town, although what was on offer looked really nice. The entertainment on offer was the usual cabaret style on offer at this type of hotel, mediocre ,but the did have some tribute artists appearing once a month, Robbie Williams etc at an extra cost, large entertainment lounge with rest area, bingo played first at night for the oldies, drinks are usually priced for hotels, all interior décor bright and airy and noticed some rooms are getting renovated although no noise heard at all, parking is on the streets around the hotel and town with parking permits available from the hotel priced £3.00 per day, this permit allows you to park until 13.30 the next day. There is a tram fernicular facing the hotel to take you down and back up to the sea front. if you can't manage the 100 or so steps. hotel has a spar and pool with hydro therapy at an extra cost , All in all a bright , clean pleasant hotel I would recommend.

Room Tip: You can ask for a sea view at slightly increased price.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muzzyman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired as it's scruffy smells of damp and is not very clean on the plus side the breakfast was good certainly overrated would not go back there again.less said about this hotel the better

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed originally a couple of months ago and didn't have a very good stay. We wrote to the manager who offered us a free stay to give the hotel another chance. They put us in a suite room 107. Amazing room, amazing view over the harbour / coast.
Staff can be a little brash but most are really helpful. Just be warned if there is a wedding on it can get a little noisy.
Tip - when arriving get a parking ticket for £3 from the hotel other local car parks can cost £7+ for the night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews