We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in Room 424 this week and had a good time. Bed and bathroom were more than ok. I liked the character of the hotel and would stay there again. Great location as right next to the tramway to the beach or just 5 minutes down through the lovely gardens. All the shops, pubs and restaurants are just 2 minutes round the corner. The hotel bar is well worth a visit for that last drink before "retiring".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

My mother in-law and her two friends age between 72 and 92 rang me last night to say they are having a wonderful stay. the rooms are lovely and clean and the food is fantastic. They also said that they have been well looked after by all the staff. One member of the party had cancelled due to the bad reviews.(What do people want). I want to say a big thank-you to the Royal Hotel for not failing to offer a great value holiday and looking after its costumers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It's an old hotel which means it has character. It shows some signs of age but we found the hotel, room 415 last weekend, absolutely fine. Staff were very helpful, food fine, room clean, it's in a great spot and would stay again.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for sea view and to be on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERKMERC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

we have had a lovely stay at the royal hotel scarborough our room was on the 5th floor at the back room 520 plenty space nice bathroom good bed and clean there is a lift that goes to 5th floor i rang the hotel myself to book and asked for a nice room and we got one and it was onley a standard room breakfast is fine nothing to moan about yes the seagulls are very noisey at night but it is the seaside staff have been nice

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just experienced 2 nights at hotel. No hot water during entire stay and no one cared. The boiler was working therefore it must have been my fault. Don't go there unless you are waiting for god or are happy with your inferiority complex.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinka616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived here on a coach trip. The only way to describe the room was a dank and damp (wet walls) dump. After complaining we were moved to a better room which still could do with work done to it. The bathroom door has been kicked in and very roughly plastered over. The corners of the rooms have never seen a Hoover! The first evenings meal was awful. Cooked to death tepid veg and no choice of potatoes -- croquettes - take it or leave it. On subsequent nights things were always missing. Plates, salt on tables etc. I was having a brandy and coke in the evenings. The first two nights there was no problem with this then the next night my husband was told he would be charged an extra 60p if I wanted a bit extra coke in the drink. The hotel has been nice in it's day but it desperately needs upgrading.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room if you 'have' to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When you have been badly let down by accommodation before and don have the luxury of being able to afford 5 star posh hotels all the time you learn to appreciate the simple basic needs to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable i.e clean bathroom, clean bed, good general cleanliness and good service and for us The Royal delivered on all of these. We stayed in June 2014 like some of the others who said that they smelt dampness everywhere? We didn't ! We experienced the odd fusty smell here & there but what do you expect its an old but very grand hotel. Yes it has old fashioned sash windows and a busy patterned carpet on entry but looking beyond that it has a beautiful giant chandelier hanging over a very grand staircase leading to a lovely first floor and balcony area with large ferns and a nice cosy seating area. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room clean, tidy, fresh, fairly modern (compared to the old grandeur of the hotel !) with a spotless modern bathroom & a comfy clean bed. There was the odd stain on the carpet & on one of the chairs but hey they can't re-carpet every time someone spills their tea! We especially loved the lounge with plenty of choice of seating options,lovely & bright and a very nice sea view due to the hotels great location. Staff were friendly and welcoming & although we had no complaints ourselves we overheard other peoples 'niggles' being dealt with in a professional & friendly manner. We had some minor niggles such as the main lights & bedside lights not working (but we had a big lamp that worked so we made do with that ) and we ate in on our first evening and was disappointed with our meal as in taste & quality but we learnt by that & ate out the next night and although breakfast was very nice with lots of choice it would have been nice to have been able to choose our own table ( because they do sit you VERY close to other diners ) & because of this we awarded 4/5 rating. All in all we loved our stay we will be back again very soon but for people who are picky who want luxurious rooms with luxurious toiletries and flowers in your room when you arrive book the savoy. If your happy for a clean bed, clean bathroom & nice food then look no further and to us it is just as pretty as the savoy....but with noisy seagulls & yes they do poo even on hotels !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperPresleyfan .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £44 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing