We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay if it's last minute & your desperate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I both work in a hotel so we can quickly pick up on customer service skills etc!

We both found reception unfriendly and not very helpful.

The room was basic... in fairness ours was 'Ok' compared to many of the reviews i've read on here, but still the wallpaper was peeling off and cabinate doors were dropping.

Location was fab.

Car parking... you have to pay £10.00 in a multistory car park 5 mins down the road & breakfast was.. cheap.. but that was expected!

We also used the pool facilities. Think we paid £7.00 in total for entry and 2 towels. Jacuzzi was closed... the area was grubby and you just felt dirty.

Such a shame.. as you can tell that once upon a time the building was Grand and very Royal like but seems it has been neglected over many years which is how it has ended up how it is.

Room Tip: Clean one if your lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livvydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Was no doubt rather grand in its time but that was clearly many years ago! We had a nosey around & some rooms have clearly been updated - our had not!!

We stayed in a standard double room (number 246) which we found on a web site for £120. For our money we got: a view of the back of the hotel which was very dirty, a wonky floor, a toilet that needed help flushing, a TV with a broken aerial that only had 1 working channel if we didn't move around too much, a hole in the wall & it was far too warm for Summer.

Too unacceptable!!

Room Tip: Go stay at another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've taken loads of photos and will be putting them on the social websites . awful . Awful.the wardrobe as soon as walk in goes on a 36 degree slant.the TV can't get signal because of the indoor aerial. No wifi connection when it says it has.shower head leaking.bath towel still with the last residents hair.do not , I repeat do not come to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smartcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Tired shabby hotel, short staffed ar breakfast, extra charge for use of the pool, £50 per night deposit, non of wich was on the web site information.
Would I recomend this hotel !!!!! don't thinkso.
I did stay here several time 20 yrs ago oh how the mighty have fallen.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank blencoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We last stayed at this hotel 2 years ago when Britannia Hotels had just taken over the Royal, and at that time it was looking very tired and in urgent need of some refurbishment. We have just returned from a return visit c/o Groupon which was definitely value for money. However the hotel is still looking very 'tired' and in need of refurbishment in certain areas. The main public rooms and the wonderful foyer are as majestic as ever, but some of the bedrooms were still as drab as 2 years ago and in urgent need of refurbishment. Our bedroom had been recently decorated but the fittings were very old indeed - the shower head was disgusting (see attached photo). On the positive side the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was very good, with a good choice and well cooked food, and the location of the hotel and views from some of the public rooms was excellent. The negative side are some of the bedrooms, and although ours was a standard double and fairly spacious, I would not have liked to pay the full standard rate for it. Using a Groupon Deal we felt we did have value for money. Please Britannia Hotel inject some money into this wonderful building!

Room Tip: Perhaps pay the 'extra' for a better room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a couple of days at the Royal.It is a sad old lady that is in need of a full refit.The grand staircase gives a false impression of grandure.We booked a superior sea view room which was on the fifth floor,the first problem is trying to get the lift which is very busy and is also used as a goods lift,so you share the lift with workmen taking up furniture etc.
Our room had a bed room which was nicely furnished and a lounge with shabby,grubby sofa and chairs.Once on the sofa it was hard to get out as the spring had given up the ghost.
As for the sea view,we could see some sea but mostly we could see the back of the Grand Hotel,that's if you didn't mind viewing through very dirty windows.If you were sitting down you could only see the sky thanks to the wall that ran along the outside of the window.
When we went for our first breakfast we waited some time to be seated as there were no staff to be seen.eventually somebody came and said "good morning"I jokingly said "good afternoon"to which he replied "oh you've only been waiting 5 minutes.Couldn't believe this. The breakfast wasn't bad but the cold section was poor.
After a day out returning at about 16.45 we went to our room to find the bed had not been made other than my tidying,when we were going out I mentioned this to the receptionist,Ed,and he said "they don't always make the beds."This is unbelievable,I have never come across this in any hotel in any country before.I don't want to recount the reasons at this time but this young man,Ed, is in the wrong profession he should not be dealing with the public he is rude and unbelievably nastie.My experience has left me unlikely to use a Britania Hotel again.
Just to finish may I advise you not to buy the parking vouchers as they don't tell you it does not guarantee a space,it is just on certain roads that every one tries to park on.After 18.00 it is free to park anyway till 9am.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank turk0file
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is terrible it spoilt our weekend in scarborough
1. Room smelt of smoke
2 Shower did not work properly
3 Room was really hot like a sauna
4 Staff really unhelpful
5 Breakfast cold
6 Room like something from the 80 s

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,953 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £41 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing