We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seagul infested hovel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Surprise after surprise is found in this quaint seagull sanctuary. I initially thought the street outside was marble but on closer inspection I realised it was bird dropping. 250 for three nights of hell (2 still to go). The floorboards are so warped I felt like I was stoned walking to my room. Upon entry to the room (we booked a double) I was confronted by 2 single beds pushed together and a Z bed for the kid. We had a few moths visiting as well which added to the splendour. The night was spent roasting with my partners daughter in the bed with us due to the springs in the 70s Z bed stabbing her. Breakfast was a fiasco, while I was up getting my fry up buffet the hotel staff were playing musical chairs in my absence and had decided to relocate us to another table without asking. I returned to my table where I watched a waitress walk off with my coffee. We were told our table was being used by a coach trip. I was in the restaurant 30 mins and not one person sat in the "reserved seats" I am writing this from the lounge at present. My partner has just had to return a chocolate brownie she bought because it smelled of stale cheese(no sell buy date on the wrapper!!). Mariah Carey was on the stereo a minute ago singing " all I want for Xmas is you...." If your a big fan of the stale smell of octogenarian, squeaky floorboards, unsafe bannisters, a twisted manager. 50s to 70s decor and hidden charges for using the swimming pool then this is the hotel for you... In fact I will sell you 2 nights for 50 quid.. 4 star they say... I'd say that's a 5 star lie!!!!

Room Tip: If your room Is at another hotel you'll do ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Dazpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very good location and the hotel has lots of character, many hotels similar to this do need some TLC but the economic times mean they can't afford to due to the competition. Apart from that very enjoyable stay, okay the seagulls keep you awake at night, but you are at the seaside what do you expect, this isn't the hotels fault !!. Our bedroom apart from a few areas needing a touch up was spacious and comfortable. There was plenty of entertainment at night and you could also go to the Grand Hotel around the corner to enjoy their entertainment. There was a good choice at breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I both work in a hotel so we can quickly pick up on customer service skills etc!

We both found reception unfriendly and not very helpful.

The room was basic... in fairness ours was 'Ok' compared to many of the reviews i've read on here, but still the wallpaper was peeling off and cabinate doors were dropping.

Location was fab.

Car parking... you have to pay £10.00 in a multistory car park 5 mins down the road & breakfast was.. cheap.. but that was expected!

We also used the pool facilities. Think we paid £7.00 in total for entry and 2 towels. Jacuzzi was closed... the area was grubby and you just felt dirty.

Such a shame.. as you can tell that once upon a time the building was Grand and very Royal like but seems it has been neglected over many years which is how it has ended up how it is.

Room Tip: Clean one if your lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livvydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Was no doubt rather grand in its time but that was clearly many years ago! We had a nosey around & some rooms have clearly been updated - our had not!!

We stayed in a standard double room (number 246) which we found on a web site for £120. For our money we got: a view of the back of the hotel which was very dirty, a wonky floor, a toilet that needed help flushing, a TV with a broken aerial that only had 1 working channel if we didn't move around too much, a hole in the wall & it was far too warm for Summer.

Too unacceptable!!

Room Tip: Go stay at another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've taken loads of photos and will be putting them on the social websites . awful . Awful.the wardrobe as soon as walk in goes on a 36 degree slant.the TV can't get signal because of the indoor aerial. No wifi connection when it says it has.shower head leaking.bath towel still with the last residents hair.do not , I repeat do not come to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smartcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Tired shabby hotel, short staffed ar breakfast, extra charge for use of the pool, £50 per night deposit, non of wich was on the web site information.
Would I recomend this hotel !!!!! don't thinkso.
I did stay here several time 20 yrs ago oh how the mighty have fallen.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank blencoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We last stayed at this hotel 2 years ago when Britannia Hotels had just taken over the Royal, and at that time it was looking very tired and in urgent need of some refurbishment. We have just returned from a return visit c/o Groupon which was definitely value for money. However the hotel is still looking very 'tired' and in need of refurbishment in certain areas. The main public rooms and the wonderful foyer are as majestic as ever, but some of the bedrooms were still as drab as 2 years ago and in urgent need of refurbishment. Our bedroom had been recently decorated but the fittings were very old indeed - the shower head was disgusting (see attached photo). On the positive side the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was very good, with a good choice and well cooked food, and the location of the hotel and views from some of the public rooms was excellent. The negative side are some of the bedrooms, and although ours was a standard double and fairly spacious, I would not have liked to pay the full standard rate for it. Using a Groupon Deal we felt we did have value for money. Please Britannia Hotel inject some money into this wonderful building!

Room Tip: Perhaps pay the 'extra' for a better room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £39 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing