We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Seagulls are winning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Seagulls are winning!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ultra keen receptionist would not let us book in before 3.00 we were three minutes early !Stopped for three nights B & B.Finding a parking space can be a bit of a nightmare especially when Scarborough is so busy.The Hotel has seen better days and is looking a bit tired and needs some TLC.The seagulls have definetly taken over, the outside of the hotel is a no-go area the smell and the noise are unacceptable Other buildings in the vicinity have defences in place ,but judging by the depth of guano on the ledges this hasnt been carried out by the hotel .Bedroom comfortable carpeted areas on landings uneven with creaking floorboards.Breakfast adequate plenty of choice Tea & Coffee self serve from flasks not good.Ideal location for exploring town and south beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    647
    508
    379
    517
See reviews for
482
1,199
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the sarcastic receptionist, very poor breakfast, water stains on the room ceiling, a radiator hanging off the wall, awful bathroom, poorly fitted carpets in the hallways (a definite health and safety issue), having to pay extra to use the leisure facilities, no car park. I could go on, as this is certainly the worst hotel I have stayed in for a very long time.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Booked online for night via phone so unfortunately couldn't read previous customer reviews.

Disappointed at having to pay for on street parking at a place this size.

Overwhelming stench of old-ness in the public areas....best described as
hospital like? Confirmed the following morning after breakfast whilst sharing a lift with an elderly gentleman who had quite clearly gone a little further than "cloth-touching!!!"

We stayed on the 4th floor and the carpets and decor in the public areas out of the main foyer were in a terrible state, with dirty paintwork, torn wallpaper and threadbare carpets repaired with gaffer tape.

The room itself was even worse. Curtains looked like they hadn't been taken down and cleaned since hotel was built. Stained carpet, filthy windows and shoddy repairs everywhere. It was described as an "executive" room.....Lord knows why? Maybe because it had the travelling salesman's favourite gadget....the wonderful corby trouser press.


Bathroom was reasonably clean but dated and contained just one towel.
Beds (two pushed together) were comfortable although just one flimsy pillow each. Sash window was rotten and needed a folded up beermat to keep it open. Cheap tea/coffee facilitys....TV worked ok though.

Breakfast was plentiful but again....budget ingredients not befitting the supposed grandeur and pomp off the surroundings.


Staff seemed helpful enough although didn't really have much to do with them if
honest....Breakfast staff a tad rude and abrupt.


Probably amazing in its day, but sadly it has had its day and needs major expenditure to bring it up to standard. Paid £89 for bed & breakfast which was slightly too much in our view. Amazing views of Scarborough Bay and The Grand Hotel....but made us wish we had stayed there instead.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDeeSexyCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with my husband and 12 week old baby for my husbands business purposes and it really is as bad as the reviews suggest. We were given a very dark room that was extremely hot, one small window which would only open a couple of inches. It was so hot my baby fell ill and had to take a trip to scarbrough A&E. He ended up with gastroenteritis.
After 2 nights we had had enough of the room and complained. We got moved to another room which was slightly cooler as the window opened a little more but not much. The staff knew that room was warm as there was already a stand alone cheap fan in there but still thought it would be ok to put a 12 week old baby in there for 5 nights! Rooms themselves felt v. Scruffy dirty and dated. There was damp with white efflorescence on one wall, the shower was leaking and could not be turned cooler, it was stuck on boiling hot so you couldn't use it. The shower in the new room hardly let any water out! The bathroom doors and light fittings had dirty finger marks all over them and the carpet stank of sweaty feet. Again not the best surrounding to keep a baby in.
The carpets along the corridors were lifting and ripped presenting a big trip hazard.
Every time we ate breakfast or had a drink in the bar there were food remnants on the plates, cups and glasses, in the end we got that sick of it we stopped eating breakfast all together as it confirmed out thoughts of the general hotel being unhygienic.

My husband and I also found all staff behind reception rude and very unhelpful upon check in. Not explanation of where to park or what time or where breakfast was.

We were going to take our baby swimming in the on site pool (which you had to pay extra for ) but then heard a lady complaining to the manager that he tiles were broken by the side of the pool and that it was dangerous after she cut her foot. The manager offered the lady half off her swimming bill so only had to pay £5!!!
The staff in this hotel are only interested in getting people through the door and as much money out of them as possible at what ever cost. There is no regard for listening or acting on guests concerns or complaints about safety.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked for our Anniversary. Was told we could check in at 2.00 only to then be told its now 3.00. Finally got to room 4 and waited while cleaners still doing it. It was a cramped room with a small window that did not open very far. Went to see duty manager who said we could have a look at room 244. First impressions was tons better than room 4 so we accepted it. Second impressions were not so good but could not be bothered to try to change again as the staff didn't seem like they were bothered. Only 1 set of towels in bathroom, bathroom window frame all broken and held open with a broken glass bottle top, twin beds pushed together to make it look like a large double, floors very wonky, wallpaper peeling off, TV fixed at an angle on the wall that gave everyone black shadows when you tried to watch it lying down, Not at all impressed. Only good points about this hotel are were it was situated, close to centre and lift for going to beach and the breakfast, which seemed to cover everyones taste and the parking which we were given a sticker for at a cost of £3 which entitled us to stay where we were from 9.30am on day of arrival to 1.30pm the following day! Even with those 2 good points I definately would not go back to this hotel or would I recommend it to anyone! (Unless of course I didn't like them)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Watfordgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Read some terrible reviews prior to booking here but decided we'd done this type of hotel before and usually we have a nice time. A lot of the things other reviewers say are true, decor a bit tired, seagull poop everywhere outside and the smell followed us into the foyer, but our room was clean and comfy, great bed, decent bathroom. Breakfast not the best we've had but really adequate. Our children stayed in a room just across the corridor, they had similar facilities. Just like to say that this hotel is in a good central location, is nice and busy, we didn't eat an evening meal here because there are plenty of eating places in Scarborough. Don't be put off by bad reviews, this is good accommodation for a reasonable price. We had a lovely two night break in Scarborough and would book here again.

Room Tip: Try asking for a sea view as our room was at the back overlooking unattractive backs of hotels which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My friend booked this for a weekend away for us both using a Groupon deal. After reading the terrible reviews on here, I really wasn't looking forward to the stay and wondered what horrors would be waiting for us! On arrival, the receptionist was pleasant and check in was speedy and efficient. We booked a twin room and we were given room 404. It was large, clean, comfortable and had recently been decorated. We booked a meal on the first night and the staff, meal and wine were all lovely. The second night we were going to a concert. The receptionist booked us a taxi and wrote down the numbers of several taxi firms for our return journey ( I didn't ask him too). We had breakfast both mornings, plenty of choice and again, lovely food (just be very careful of the serving utensils, they are left under the hot lights and we had to fold several napkins around the handles to hold them) The room got a little warm because of the hot weather but we asked for a fan which was brought to the room for us. The hotel does look a little tired in places but it is obviously being given a make- over. It's a big, grand, old hotel and this will obviously take time. The location is fantastic. The car park is less than a five minute walk away and we paid £13 in total to leave the car there for two nights. The seagulls are noisey all night but you're at the seaside (and yes the pavement outside has seagull poo on it - most of the streets in Scarborough do!) what do people expect? We had a lovely stay and would certainly book The Royal again

Room Tip: Room 404 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing