We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

What a mess, food on the floors broken tv in the hall. One of the worst breakfasts iv ever had. over priced and not very helpful staff. No parking but they did point me to there parking 2km away.
Will not be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Joe Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    651
    512
    384
    520
See reviews for
488
1,208
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Positives
- Reception staff, Dining staff and Cleaner.
-Location - Very easy to get around
-Parking £6.50 for 24 hours
- Price of half board, including free bottle of wine

Negatives
Booked Sea View, got very restricted view in rooms 202 and 203, negotiated room reduction
Food at dinner poor, reheated vegetables. Certainly not worth £17.50 per person!
Decor dated, yet acceptable.

On the whole above average to good. Enjoyed my family company - Good Laugh

Room Tip: Make sure full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wazieUKSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Myself and my daughter and son visiyed in august very old hotel but very nice place to stay. close to everything staff friendly 3 course evening meal was very nice breakfast was also nice. Only fault was we had a lexx room which was two single beds pushed together so a camp bed could be put up for my son but to tell you truth it was awful the mattress was terrible I had to put extra covers on to plump it up and we didn't have no space to get to the dressing table.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfpint123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, family of 3. Last minute break and this was one of the only hotels available. Now I know why. Paid £359 for 3 nights inc breakfast. This hotel is in very poor condition. Shabby decoration, Threadbare carpets, Filthy windows. Obnoxious, jaded staff. The lack of any investment in this place is glaringly obvious.
Our room had windows so filthy you could write your name in them. The bathroom had several smashed floor tiles, the shower head was black with filth and leaking so badly hardly any water was coming out to shower with. The floor of the bedroom was at such an angle that a football would roll from one side to the other on its own !. The bedside lights were falling off and had a melted lampshade.
Breakfast was a self service affair after a 10 min wait to be seated. Food was hot but of poor quality. Hash browns and black pudding all dried out under the heat lamps, very salty bacon, cheap sausages. The dining room had filthy windows and one was smashed next to where we sat. I cant comment on the evening meal as we did not want to dine at the hotel.
We had to pay extra to use the swimming pool in the basement leisure centre. What a joke. This strange underground place with no natural light had a tiny pool. The whole place had a mouldy damp musty smell and was awful. My 9 year old son thought it was like the penguins house at sea life centre except he was the penguin!
No way we would stay here again., the most disappointing hotel stay we have had in the UK ever. Vastly overpriced.
Wished we would have stayed at the Premier Inn a few doors away which was spotless. Guess you live and learn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leylandlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This trip was booked by my elderly mother in law for a family get together. She booked 4 rooms in total for 2 nights costing approx £1200. To say this hotel does not represent value for money in an understatement. Where to begin? We had 4 children in our party of 11 - apparently their breakfast was not included and had to be paid for separately. It also costs extra to use the pool or spa. Non of this would have been too much of an issue (annoying but not an issue!) apart from the shambolic state of the hotel. It is filthy and it is years of dirt, not just one cleaner that may be a bit remiss. The net curtains are grey and moldy and when you look behind them you cant see through the windows for the dirt. It was irrelevant that our sea view was almost around the corner - you couldn't see it anyway. The damp patches on the wall were a particularly attractive feature, to say nothing of the threadbare carpets, the very uncomfortable beds with springs sticking through and the towels that were the size of a tea towel and see through. The whole hotel needs closing and a complete refurbishment carrying out. The breakfast is appalling, the very cheapest of ingredients cooked badly. The only redeeming feature to this hotel was the staff as the ones I came across were very helpful - although I'm told by others in our party that their experience was not the same. It seems that the aim of this hotel is to get as much money out of the customer whilst giving zero in return. Go at your own risk!!!

Room Tip: No good rooms - don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Braz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel excellent, didn't realise you had to pay for the pool, glad we didn't as on inspection a complete waste of time as you couldn't swim. Ok for little kids to splash around in. Staff 1 particular receptionist very arrogant, need more staff like Philip as he was more old school and very knowledgeable and attentive, dining room staff need to know more about meals being served, but in general the staff need better training. It's supposed to be a 4 star hotel?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a 2 night Superbreaks deal.
The good point is it's location - right on the front across the road from the steps down to the seafront. The room was ok in the way of facilities - extra pillows & blankets, ironing board, hair dryer, tv, tea & coffee facilities, massive bathroom with bath & shower. The reception area in the hotel is very impressive lovely winding staircases & chandeliers hanging, however as soon as you leave reception you reach the old worn carpets, threadbare in areas, my heel even got stuck in one part I sunk into. The corridor floors all slope off on different levels you feel like your walking up & down hill. The furnishing in the rooms was dated & worn, the room needed decorated badly damp patches on the ceiling & dirty marks on the walls. The breakfast was like stepping back in time it was help yourself buffet style, there were 2 different cereals not much if your trying to be healthy a couple of pots of yoghurt. Other than that it was just the full cooked breakfast on both mornings they ran out of plates & we had to queue up & wait. They ran out of bacon, the beans were cold as were the eggs but the toast was fine ;-)
Really this was a last minute cheap weekend away & for what we paid it was acceptable but you definitely wouldn't come here for a special occasion, it's a shame as it looks like it was a good hotel in its day but unfortunately that was some time ago.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TinkerBell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve the service we offer by receiving both positive and constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Property: Royal Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing