We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We booked a mini suite with sea view and very impressed with the standard of the hotel. I particulary liked the little touch of the binoculars to really appreciate the tremendous view from our suite. The food was first class and the staff very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: I would certainly recomend a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supertez39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thanks for a great review and for the contribution of the lovely pictures which really does let future customers see how great the views are from the hotel.

I will pass on your positive comments regarding both the staff and the food at our next management meeting. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope we are your hotel of choice.

As always I will pass on your kind comments to the staff at the next head of department meeting as well as printing your review to display in the staffroom.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,613 - 4,619 of 4,926 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was my second visit to the Crown Spa and I have had 2 lovely breaks there. All staff friendly and helpful, good sized rooms, up to date bathrooms, excellent breakfast choice. Enjoyed spa area which includes pool ( a bit on the small side), jacuzzi, sauna, steam room etc. Excellent location overlooking south bay. No criticisms at all, would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Thanks for a great review, without these great reviews from our customers future customers would not be able to get an honest and varied opinion of the Crown.

As always i shall read out and print your review foor all staff to see. i am so pleased that you enjoyed all of the facilities including the spa and do hope that you choose to visit the Crown again on your next trip to scarborough.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Wonderful views and seating areas outside. Looks like a long walk to the town but only 10 mins over a footbridge. Breakfast included and was very good.
Evening meal selections also good.

Never had time to use the spa but will go back and use it next time
Only problem was the water temperature in the bath and shower which were very modern but took a while to get hot enough

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strictlydancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

May i first of all thank you for the positive comments regarding your recent stay. i do hope that you visit us again and take full advantage of the spa facilities.

The building is quite large and with an extremely complex plumbing system it can on the odd occasion take a little longer for hot water to reach certain parts of the hotel.

We do look forward to you visiting us again and i shall pass on your positive comments to all members of the team.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Had a 2 night stay during some very warm weather. Booked a superior room with sea view which was on the 5th (top) floor near to the Penthouse Room. Very modern, good-sized, well equipped room and en-suite. Only one small window for that sea view though. Our only complaint would be that on entering the room after a warm day the temperature was really hot (due to being "on the roof?) and no air/con to cool it. Both opening windows were as wide as possible but it took until bedtime for the temp to drop to an acceptable level. Had to leave the windows open all night which meant a couple of disturbances from the late-night inebbriated homecomers! I hate to think what it would be like in mid-summer when really hot and sticky, and the resort a lot busier.

No issues with the restaurant. One suggestion for the cooked breakfast would be to replace the pork & leek suasages with proper english pork bangers. The key word is "leek", you wouldn't serve leeks up with egg, bacon, etc. Too strong a flavour.

Great hotel and would return again off season when it's cooler!! Watch the parking restrictions though. Free coupon provided but only gives 3 hours max during the daytime, ok overnight.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StagsBOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thanks for a mostly positive review. The penthouse floor has been built to a very high specification which with today’s building regulations enforce you to insulate, this along with us not installing Air Conditioning (due to the amount of unsustainable energy it uses) does leave the rooms on occasion quite warm. All rooms have blinds as well as curtains along with a fan in every room, we have found that the blinds being closed throughout the day when the sun is at its hottest does help to keep the rooms cool, I guess this is something our European cousins have been doing for years.

We have had the pork and leek sausages for a few years and yours is the first review that has commented on them in a negative way, I shall keep my ears to the ground and listen for other comments.

It seems that you were given a clock for the parking which is the procedure for a one night stay arriving after 5pm, however longer stays or those arriving before three are given a three day parking permit that is purchased by the hotel.

As always I will pass on your kind comments to the staff at the next head of department meeting as well as printing your review to display in the staffroom.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Before this stay we had visited the hotel previously a couple of years ago but are now hoping to make a return visit much sooner this time. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, we booked a feature room with a balcony; the room had a large double bed, a plasma TV, a sofa etc. and the balcony had a table and chairs to sit out, although it was a little cool to stay out for too long in March. I would have liked there to have been a mini bar in the room but having said that the bar itself was not far. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the town although some routes can be a little steep. We had planned on eating out and possibly in the main restaurant at the hotel but after being directed to a room in the Taste Cafe Bar by a member of staff, rather than the larger area at the front of the hotel which can get a little busy and has tables that are not very suitable for eating at (too low), we ended up eating all of our meals there with the exception of one in the main restaurant for my birthday and one in the Magpie Restaurant in Whitby on a day out. We didn't use the gym but we did go into the spa where we made use of the pool, jacuzzi, steam rooms & sauna. We stayed from Thursday 10th March - Sunday 13th March 2011 and returned home feeling much rested and relaxed which was the purpose of our visit.

Room Tip: Feature room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Thank you so much for a very positive review. I do hope that you do return sooner and can benefit from the balcony with the lovely weather we do enjoy throughout the summer. I will as always print your review and pass on the positive comments to all members of the team.

Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Location and first view are excellent. Staff were generally friendly and went the extra mile. Food very good at breakfast and restaurant. Rooms with sea view well worth booking and the telescope , wi fi and large tv were appreciated. Interconnecting doors with one side without a key could be offputting but they are securely closed. I liked the chairs and sofas in rooms.
The bathrooms are the biggest let down as they are not cleaned to the highest standard and there was a bad smell from the water and sink outlets which got worse as the weather warmed. Very nice man came to help with freshner and cleaner but smell persisted yet lessoned slightly. Not good enough for 4 star and nearly spoiled a good stay.Staff are very keen to help but cant do much with plumbing . I strongly suggest booking a place in car park as on street looks busy despite Hotel help.There is evidence of consistent improvement across the hotel - as there should be. Plumbing and cleaning next please.
Location and staff are the biggest assets.

Room Tip: Do pay for car park for ease of stay. limited nos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianeustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

May I first of all say thanks for a mostly positive review. We do continuously attempt to improve the hotel and the guest experience and without the negatives been brought to our attention we would not be able to achieve this. I have spoken to the head housekeeper with regards to the comments regarding the cleanliness of the bathroom and feel that this has now been amended.

We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future and hope that the changes brought in will be noticed.

Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This was my second visit to the Crown Spa with a friend for a Spa weekend/shopping trip

Good Points - Spa, cleanliness, bar, lounge, actual room size and layout and features. Generally the staff were helpful and polite.

Poor points - Awoken yet again by very unruly children continually banging doors in a room 2 doors down. The view from our room was disappointing as we had a fire escape right in front of the window. Whilst we didn't expect a sea view we thought that booking 6 weeks in advance would afford us at least a view of the town. Payment for the room was taken 3 weeks after booking - we understood it would be taken at the time of booking - this came as a shock.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanglything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing