We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Hotel I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best Hotel I have stayed in”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I am a business traveller. I stay in 100 hotels a year and have done for 15 years. this is by far the best i have stayed at - Honestly.
Our room was on the top floor with a sea view and was well appointed and comfortable (the fire door banging in the morning would have annoyed me if I was staying 2 nights).
The Spa was terrific with really friendly and genuine staff.
The gym was well appointed. The pool a little small but the spa bath was enormous!
food was OK (only had the lite bite menu so can not really comment). Value wise it was good. The staff were the best i have encountered, helpful and not smarmy.
Well done Crown Spa and we're comming back for more.

Room Tip: top floor, sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kprafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thanks for a great review, if only all 115 rooms were sea view but unfortunately not. I have had the maintenance team adjust the fire doors on the fourth floor so that they don’t bang and keep future guests awake.

I do hope that the next time you are in Scarborough you choose to stay at the Crown wher I can promise great service once again.

I will be sure to forward your positive comments to the staff through our management meeting as well as posting it on the staffroom notice board.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,380
    1,541
    551
    187
    136
See reviews for
721
3,036
144
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Decided to go to Scarborough at the drop of a hat, quick search on Google put this Hotel at the top of our requirements and everything we wanted was granted during our stay.

The Hotel itself is a short walk to the City Centre and beach front (Note: There are lots of steps on the shortest route). Hotel Reception was modern and inviting, all the staff where very polite & helpful during our stay. The pool/Spa was excellent with small Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and foot spa. All usual spa treatments available but not used by us.

Full English Breakfast the next morning was the best we have had in any hotel for some time, all freshly made & served with fresh coffee & Juice's. Nice touch for our waitress to sort the Hot Chocolate for the kids, thanks!

We will definitely stay again & have already priced to stay in August for two nights, unfortunately, with the price quoted been an unbelievable amount I aren’t sure when, need to get the Ipad first!?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thanks for a great review, yes Scarborough does have a few hills so for future guest I recommend a nice walk down to the beach and use the funicular lift to bring you back up or even the open top bus in the summer.

August been the height of the season prices quoted now will be high, but do keep an eye out for any last minute offers that will be posted on the company website. And keep saving for the Ipad I cant live without mine.

I will be sure to forward your positive comments to the staff through our management meeting as well as posting it on the staffroom notice board.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldbrough
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

this was our third stay at the crown spa we have stayed in the cheaper and more expensive rooms all are of the same high standard if u do stay here take a costume the saunas pool and jacuzzi are outstanding. The night out on a saturday is terrific something for everybody. stayed at easter and thought the egg under ur cup at breakfast was a lovely touch cant wait for my next little break there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowtoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thanks for a great review and so pleased that you enjoyed your Easter break, I was informed that they ran out of eggs before they got to me. As with all returning customers we look forward to you visiting us for a fourth time in the not too distant future.

As always I will pass on your kind comments to the staff at the next head of department meeting as well as printing your review to display in the staffroom.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stopped for one night at the end of April, we had a lovely view from our sea view room, and enjoyed the spa facilities and gym, the thing i thought was a bit strange for a 4star hotel was having to pay an extra £5 for a full english breakfast., would stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
First of all thanks for a great review. As times have changed we have found that the hotel industry has had to meet many demands one of those is being able to offer customers great deals, to do this we along with many 4 star hotels have broken away from what may once have been considered as the norm and now sell through many different mediums, in doing this we offer three basic packages Room only, Room and continental Breakfast and room with Full English Breakfast. This really does help to keep the price down and enables everyone the opportunity to stay at the Crown.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and don’t forget our continental breakfast does offer a complimentary hot dish of the day.

As always I will pass on your kind comments to the staff at the next head of department meeting as well as printing your review to display in the staffroom.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We booked a mini suite with sea view and very impressed with the standard of the hotel. I particulary liked the little touch of the binoculars to really appreciate the tremendous view from our suite. The food was first class and the staff very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: I would certainly recomend a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supertez39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thanks for a great review and for the contribution of the lovely pictures which really does let future customers see how great the views are from the hotel.

I will pass on your positive comments regarding both the staff and the food at our next management meeting. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope we are your hotel of choice.

As always I will pass on your kind comments to the staff at the next head of department meeting as well as printing your review to display in the staffroom.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was my second visit to the Crown Spa and I have had 2 lovely breaks there. All staff friendly and helpful, good sized rooms, up to date bathrooms, excellent breakfast choice. Enjoyed spa area which includes pool ( a bit on the small side), jacuzzi, sauna, steam room etc. Excellent location overlooking south bay. No criticisms at all, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thanks for a great review, without these great reviews from our customers future customers would not be able to get an honest and varied opinion of the Crown.

As always i shall read out and print your review foor all staff to see. i am so pleased that you enjoyed all of the facilities including the spa and do hope that you choose to visit the Crown again on your next trip to scarborough.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Wonderful views and seating areas outside. Looks like a long walk to the town but only 10 mins over a footbridge. Breakfast included and was very good.
Evening meal selections also good.

Never had time to use the spa but will go back and use it next time
Only problem was the water temperature in the bath and shower which were very modern but took a while to get hot enough

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strictlydancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
May i first of all thank you for the positive comments regarding your recent stay. i do hope that you visit us again and take full advantage of the spa facilities.

The building is quite large and with an extremely complex plumbing system it can on the odd occasion take a little longer for hot water to reach certain parts of the hotel.

We do look forward to you visiting us again and i shall pass on your positive comments to all members of the team.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing