We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and we will return soon!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a brilliant time. The room was amazing and the service was too. The manager in the restaurant was excellent, Dave Hartley. What a nice man. He went out of his way to make our evening extra special. Room 112 is very good, we even had breakfast on the balcony in brilliant sunshine this morning, a real treat!!!! We will certainly return and soon I hope.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

May I first of all say thank you for such great review, Dave is a very popular member of staff and always does his best to exceed our customers’ expectations.


Room 112 is a wonderful room with great views across the bay and along the coast, I can’t think of a nicer place to sit and have breakfast on a lovely summer morning.


I will pass on your comments regarding the service provided and food to the staff who I know will be delighted that you left happy.


Once again thanks you for the review and we do look forward to your return to Scarborough and the Crown Spa Hotel


Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,911)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,572 - 4,578 of 4,911 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

We spent 2 nights in room 300 a twin overlooking the sea for £132 a night inc cont breakfast. This is "the only 4star on the Yorkshire coast" and we liked it very much. The decor was immaculate, the staff friendly and smiling, free parking right in front of the hotel, a good breakfast and an excellent £30 dinner, and just 10 minute walk to Alan Ayckbourne's theatre

Room Tip: Front seaview excellent but early morn sun
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

May I first of all say thank you for such great review, and so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities that we provide. We do feel that both the hotel and the food are of a great standard and very reasonably priced.

I do hope that you managed to visit the Stephen Joseph Theatre to see one of Alan Ayckbournes plays. Our sea view rooms are great but as you say the sun hits them for at least eight hours every morning.


I will pass on your comments regarding the service provided and food to the staff who I know will be delighted that you left happy.


Once again thanks you for the review and we do look forward to your return to Scarborough and the Crown Spa Hotel


Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Just returned from Crown Spa Hotel. Excellent service received throughout. Made use of the spa- lovely. Ate in restaurant for dinner and breakfast- great food and service.
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kitten43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you so much for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay .

Your positive comments regarding the Spa, food and service will be passed on to all staff concerned and printed in our staff newsletter along with being posted on the notice board.

Once again thanks you for the review and we do hope that when you return to Scarborough you will choose the Crown Spa Hotel

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stayed at the excellent crown spa hotel in Scarborough a couple of weeks back. I can quite honestly say I could not fault it.

I arrived mid afternoon, the lounge/reception area is spacious and modern. The young receptionist checked be very professionally, the porter assisted me with luggage to my room and wow-when I arrived in my 5th floor room, I was amazed. Amazing sea views, iPod doc, plasma telly, and then the bathroom-telly over the bath. The shower was great- v powerful.

I wasn't booked in for dinner, but was so blown away with this hotel, so had my evening meal off the lounge menu whilst I chilled out in the lounge.

I didn't use the spa or gym-simply didn't have time, but did have a quick swim, so walked past the gym area. The gym certainly seemed extensive and the pool facilities were nice.

Breakfast next morning was lovely. The staff were very attentive and professional. Nothing was to much trouble. I was greeted as soon as I arrived at the restaurant and the procedure explained.

Checkout was quick and easy and the receptionists equally as friendly as the lady that checked me in. The staff here obviously care very much about customer care.

One last thing I noticed as I was leaving, there are 4 green car parking spaces in the hotel car park, with electric charging points. It's great to see a hotel looking at what they can do to be green. Since leaving I have looked in more detail at the hotel on their website and realise they do absolutely loads of green initiatives and have solar panels on the roof.

I will certainly be returning. I work in Scarborough couple times of year, so will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for a great review and the positive comments regarding the hotel, staff and food, without a good mixture of reviews from our customer’s future customers would probably find it difficult to decide where to stay in Scarborough.

Your positive comments will be passed on to all concerned and printed in our staff newsletter.

Once again thanks you for the review and we do hope that when you return to Scarborough you will choose the Crown Spa Hotel

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed for our pearl wedding Anniversary for four nights., cannot praise the hotel enough, the staff are all wonderful, our room (very spacious )overlooked the seafront , the facilities at the spa are first class( we used the everyday) The restaurant severed Excellent food ,
We will return soon
If you are going to Scarborough, this is the hotel to stay in.
Thank you Crown Spa for making our Anniversary even more special

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank law1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

May I first of all say congratulations on 30 years of marriage and say how pleased we are that you chose to spend it with us.

Your positive comments will be passed on to all concerned and printed in our staff newsletter.

Once again thanks you for the review and we do hope that when you return to Scarborough you will choose the Crown Spa Hotel

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed for one night: 04/06/2011.

Firstly, Trip Advisor states that this is a 3 star graded hotel, it's actually a 4 star hotel and well worthy of the 4 stars.

We arrived at 3pm, went straight to our room, the girl on reception was new and wore a badge stating 'trainee', she was excellent, polite, efficent & friendly.

At 3.30pm, we recived a call from reception asking if everything was alright with our room, indeed it was lovely, we asked for more towels & extra hot chocolate, which arrived promptly.

Throughout our stay, ALL the staff were smiley & efficent, which makes a pleasant change, service was 5 star.

We had a lovely sea view room, which was spacious, fitted out well & had everything you could possibly want.

There was no pressure to have dinner in the restaurant, often in 4 or 5 star hotels, they try to pressure you into having dinner in the restaurant, we had dinner in the bar area which was excellent, followed by many drinks.

Breakfast: We opted for the rate inclusive continental, which was good, we're not big breakfast people, plenty of cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, a really good mix.

Later in the morning we went down to the Spa, used one of the two sauna's, one of the two steam rooms, foot spa & others, complemenry towel service - I enjoyed the spa, really relaxing, the whole spa area was quite lovely.


I love the east yorkshire coast & have many visits every year, I will find it difficult to stay anywhere else other than th Crown Spa Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilChesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thanks for a great review and pointing out that the Crown is a four star hotel we have on a number of occasion attempted to get this amended by TripAdvisor unfortunately with no response.

It is lovely to hear that all the hard work and training has paid off and customers do comment on the high standard of service that we provide.

Your positive comments will be passed on to all concerned and printed in our staff newsletter.

Once again thanks you for the review and we do hope that when you return to Scarborough you will choose the Crown Spa Hotel

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We came here after getting married as a mini honeymoon in June 2011. The hotel from the outside is very impressive, and as soon as we went to reception the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were given an amazing room overlooking the sea which was impeccable - great toiletries as well!
The restaurant is cozy without being pretentious and the food is to die for. Would certainly recommend the mussels and the steak with blue cheese sauce! We were given VIP treatment by John & Dave who looked after us during breakfast and dinner - they were absolutely fantasic and made a great break even better!
Would definitely go to the spa again, amazing rejuvination room and again, we were given top treatment by Amy & the girls.
We really can't say enough good things about this hotel, we were sad to leave but can't wait to go back - they made it a fantastic honeymoon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

May I first of all say congratulations on your marriage and hope that you have many years of happiness together. I am always delighted when we receive positive feedback from customers who have had a great time at the Crown and do believe future customers can gain a good feel of the hotel before booking through the medium of TripAdvisor,


I will pass on your comments regarding the food and service provided by the chefs along with your comments to both David & John who I know will be delighted that you left happy, oh and I won’t forget Amy in the Spa.


Once again thanks you for the review and we do hope that when you return to Scarborough you will choose the Crown Spa Hotel

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £66 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing