We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a much better Scarborough experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“a much better Scarborough experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed at the Crown Spa Hotel on a recommendation (after our Clifton experience) and it was just in a different league. Excellent value for money too.... I was only there overnight and was out early the next day so opted for a basic room which was small but kitted out really well. The staff were friendly and helpful and a glass of wine and some nachos in the bar really hit the spot for a weary traveller. I'd be tempted to upgrade to a sea-view room and stay a bit longer next time and try out the Spa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyelashTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
May I first of all thank you for your positive feedback and say that I am delighted you enjoyed your overnight stay. I’m also delighted that you have found a hotel in Scarborough that fits your needs.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,225
    1,442
    525
    178
    130
See reviews for
678
2,833
131
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights for 25th wedding anniversary (we're young tho!) period room 114 was HUGE! chesterfield 3 piece suite, dining table, twin double French windows onto little balcony looking out over the sea and across to the harbour (and a telescope!), champagne in the room with a lovely card from the hotel, peaceful and private and spacious, lovely. The real gem in this hotel is the spa, it's deceptively large running pretty much the length and breadth of the hotel in its lower level. Sympathetically Victorian tiled tho very modern it is spacious and well equipped,pool is lovely, jacuzzi is long and tiled.not just a modern moulded affair, excellent and varied modern fitness programme every day. The Espa suite is totally modern and the private mud rasul treatment and sauna and steam and relaxation rooms were beautiful ( tho not private enough to be nude as their store room is inside the entrance!!!) Staff lacked a little finesse for 4 star (which the hotel is), food was lovely, breakfast choices perfect and cooked to order as well as the buffet. ate in Taste and it was truly lovely meal for a special occasion. location, well, in 30 years of visiting Scarborough i never knew it had a posh side! Hotel is up the cliff above the Spa with zigzag paths down the cliff through gardens to the beach - perfect! (unless you have.mobility problems as its steep)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakkisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
May I first of all say thank you for a mostly positive review. I was a little disappointed that you felt the staff lacked a little finesse for four star as we do train to a very high standard and a great deal of emphasis is place in auditing this from the AA and visit Britain.



I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel last year. I have been going to this hotel for the last 3 years. The hotel refurbishment has been amazing
The hotel is near the railway station so low taxi cost. If you are fit enough you could even walk to the hotel from the train station. Furthermore this hotel has the ideal position of being near the town but in a quiet location

If you get fed up of fish and chips, the hotel menus are extensive and reasonable. All the ladies in the house you need to try the cheese board with the lavender cheese and a large glass of the House White wine

The reception is is warm and welcoming. In the colder months there is a real log fire burning
The basement gym and spa areas are simple but beautiful

The only drawbacks are that the Hotel is on a cliff so you need to be fairly fit to walk up the hill. Car parking infront of the hotel is limited.
I travel via train so I don’t have the car parking problem

If you can book in advance the hotel web has some very god deals

The only reason why I didn’t stay in the hotel this year is that I had the opportunity to go to Barbados.

But I will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libby40EnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you so much for such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and return on a regular basis. I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed at the Crown Spa Hotel for the night before the Scarborough 10k race. Booked a single room which was very spacious, with a larger than normale single bed, full hot drinks facilities, flat screen TV, desk, and lovely large bathroom done to a very high standard.
Staff were friendly and helpful, arrangign a later check-out for me so I could shower and change after the race.
Very handy location, being just up the cliff from the start.
I ordered Continental breakfast which was more than adequate with a large selection of food, including an impressive array of Gluten free & pother specialist cereals and breads.
I love Scarborough and have been holidaying there all my life, I'm just a little disappointed it's taken me so long to find this gem!
Only down side was the noise from the corridor was a little loud, poeple in next room were very loud at 2:30am and doors tended to bang if not closed carefully. As my headboard was right by the room's door it disturned me a little.
Used the Spa facilities for free after checking out. Very nice, relaxing in the steam room. Only downside was it was a bit small but very nice to relax in after a hard run!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thanks you for a great review I am delighted that you enjoyed the selection of special dietary items that we stock and do hope that did well in the 10k race.

If you do stay with us again and have disturbances from other rooms please don’t hesitate to call night concierge who I’m sure will do their best to resolve any the problem.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Me and my partner have just returned from a short break away at the crown. Firstly, booking with late rooms was an excellent decision because not only was the room excellent for a room only rate but we were also had a complimentary upgrade to a sea view room!
The room was very clean and the view outside was beautiful. The spa is great to relax in and included in the price which is excellent! The only downside is the hotel is a little out from the town but it does have a plus side as traffic noise is non existent. Would stay again and probably will! Perfect for a relaxing few days!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heartlessangel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thanks you for a great review I am delighted that both the facilities were to your requirements and that you were happy with the complimentary upgrade.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked last minute but got nice family room at rear of hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Pool and spa fantastic. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thanks you for a great review I am delighted that both the staff and facilities were to your requirements

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked on line with agency but upgraded to a sea view room with the hotel. The room was excellent. King size comfortable bed, 32" LCD tv, plenty of tea and coffee with extra supplies and ice available in the corridors.

I thought the full english breakfast was better than adequate but not the best I've ever had. My wife and I dined in the restaurant. We ordered the rib eye; medium well (as we always do bercause of the extra marbelling normally found) the steak received was pinker than medium and looked like a sirloin. It was delicious though. A pleasant meal in relaxed surroundings with reasonable prices incl, the wine menu and attentive service.

My wife and daughter enjoyed a mum and daughter pamper session; mud facials and hot stones. They had never experieced one before and were a little apprehensive but were soon at ease and look forward to a repeat.

Car parking is tricky! This is a very busy area for hotels. There are parking restrictions on nealy all of the roads round about, when you can find a space. The hotel has limited privated parking at £6 per night. Easy access via the health club saves a long walk around the hotel...I found out!

All in all a very good break but not cheap!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohemianbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
May I first off all say thank you for what is a mostly positive review and say how pleased I am that you were given a complimentary sea view upgrade.

I can assure you that the steak served in the restaurant was a rib eye but am a little disappointed that it was not cooked as requested but do know that the restaurant manager would have amended this had it been requested.

I do hope that you return to the Crown and that your wife and daughter can once again enjoy the relaxation of the spa. As always I will pass on your positive comments to the staff who will be delighted that you have had a good stay.

Kind regards,

David Chambers

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing