We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Break”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just got back from a fabulous weekend at the Crown Spa, without doubt one of the best hotels I've stayed at in the UK. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the feature rooms which was impeccable, the twin sinks and television at the end of bath were great touches. Like a couple of other reviewers the room did seem a little warm even after we'd turned the radioator off so having a french door and a balcony we could sit on was fantastic - not something I thought I'd be saying about a weekend on the East Coast in February! To be fair though the weekend was unseasonably warm so it might have been that the heating system was still in winter mode. All the staff we encountered were great and went out of their way to help us during our stay. I'd definitely recommend paying the little extra for a room facing the sea as the view down is breath-taking. The hotel is just far enough away from the main strip to make it feel all the more exclusive but a ten minute walk and you're in the heart of things gives you the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out go for a feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you so much for such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

Room 112 is a delightful room and the views across the bay are fantastic, unfortunately the weather in Scarborough has turned a little cold so the heating system will have to stay in winter mode a little longer.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff, we always endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,380
    1,540
    551
    187
    136
See reviews for
721
3,036
144
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The best hotel we have stayed at.the staff are so helpfull and nothing is to much trouble even when they are very busy. The breakfast is to Die for and the meals in the restaurant are of the same standered.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, we're very proud of the hotel and really do appreciate hearing the great comments made.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife took me as a surprise treat to the Crown Spa and we had a fantastic relaxing experience. There were a couple of minor snags with the room (faulty ironing board and fridge not cooling down) but the house staff appeared within minutes to investigate and resolve the situation. The hotel and spa is very clean throughout with the spa and gym sporting excellent facilities and equipment. After a long day the room was a delight to relax in and the bed very comfortable.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, which had a good menu with locally sourced food, the wood pigeon is to die for! The restaurant and bar staff are all friendly and very attentive (try the hot chocolate with strawberries), as are the spa and reception staff.

The staff make you feel special and it is the small touches like guest umbrellas and complimentary coffee/tea that make this hotel stand out and it is definitely worth paying for a sea view if you can and want a treat.

We liked it so much we are returning this weekend and I feel relaxed just thinking about it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for a great review, nothing is more rewarding than when a customer books a return visit this certainly tells us that we are satisfying their needs.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very enjoyable stay, everything works, rooms are good, public areas extremely pleasant, staff are mainly very pleasant and friendly.
Only very picky negative was the temperature of the room, but the windows open so not a major issue!
Superb value out of season, i have to be in scarborough on a weekly basis and this will be my hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
May I first of all thank you for your mostly positive feedback and say that I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Crown.

The weather has been a little unseasonal lately and we could probably have turned off the heating on the odd occasion which is something that we do when requested by our guests.

I will certainly pass on your thoughts to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just got back home after staying at the crown spa, we were given an upgrade on our room. The room was very spacious and the bath room was very clean and inviting, love the coloured light in the bottom of the bath. Got a view of the back alleyway but you can't always have everything. Alex on check in was lovely. We then went to our room and left our luggage as it was lunch time. We ate in the taste bar where the F&B supervisor was very friendly (sorry i cannot remember his name) we had the paninis for lunch as these were excellent and filling. We then followed this by a trip down to the spa, the facilites in the spa are fantastic felt really relaxed and we then followed this by treatments. I had the mens facial with neck and scalp massarge, and added on the the back rub the girl who did this treatment was excellent sorry can not remember her name, my wife had the full body aromatherapy massage done by Jenny who was equally excellent and really polite. Thank you to the girls for making us feel so well looked after and very sleepy when we left!!!! The bed was comfy. However we left very disappointed to what was an excellent stay after the girl on check out (didnt have a name badge on so cannot give her name) was very unfriendly, gave us our bill didn't ask how our stay was once, we then queried our bill as we were charged for breakfast when we were told several times that this was part of our package as my wife purchased the romantic package - however this was not the case, we asked for this to be rectified and also to speak to the F/O manager, she disappeared for 15 minutes to come back and say i cannot take this off the bill as you were only on a room only rate and the romantic packeage does not include breakfast only the option to have this in your room (confused - and i will say this this was overpriced for what we got in which we wasn't told correctly and the girl on check out blamed the fact that we hadnt booked the room direct!!!). Needless to say i didnt speak to the front office manager which is in my opinion bad manners, and what upset my wife was that she didnt even say sorry, we paid the bill as we didnt want to cause a fuss however this has resulted in the review on here we would of given this 5/5 but the bad mannered girl on reception ruined what was a really nice stay. This was by far the worst customer service i have recieved in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosco508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
May I first of all say thank you for a mostly positive review. As always we are a little disappointed when our customers leave and there is a sense of disappointment.

I have looked into your booking and can see where the error occurred, you originally booked over the internet and booked room only after which you called the hotel and asked to have a romance package to be attached, the romance package sold to you was one that should have been attached to a rate code that had a breakfast plan attached to it, with you booking room only no breakfast was attached and the package should not have been sold with room only. When you called reception to ask if breakfast was included the reception answered yes as that is the case when booked with a breakfast package. This is the first time that this issue has arisen and staff now have a new procedure for adding upsells to a reservation.

I must apologise if the receptionist came over as bad mannered but Cheryl is a long standing member of staff who often has positive comment made regarding the service she provides on reception.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team. I do hope that any future visits to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks/Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

In summary a very good hotel with excellent staff let down by a town that is not trying.

In Decemeber we needed something to look forward and so booked a package weekend to Stay at the Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough. We anticipated bracing walks on the beach and then diving into a hot sauna.....there can't be many who are a little disappoited that the sun is out and when the wind wasn't blowing it is t shirt weather. But the sun was out!

We were not disappointed with our room. We can highly recommend the sea view rooms, Ours was spacious with a large sofa which made relaxing very comfortable. We had coloured mood lightling which was a novelty at first but then got a bit annoying especially as there seemed to be no instructions on how to operate it. Neon flasjin gthat we could not seem to turn off ended our mood lighting experience...and for us a pink glow in the bathroom is a bit weird!.....and I don't think a full length mirror opposite the loo is ever a good idea!!!!.

The receiption staff and hotel staff generally were very heplful and friendly. In the restaurant it is a bit more hit and miss.

We would go back to the hotel were it not for the fact that it is in Scarborough....what a waste of a lovely beach!

Room Tip: It is worth the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am a little disappointed that there were issues with the mood lighting and that the full length mirror was not to you taste.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very friendly staff beautiful room with great sea view and one of the best breakfast we have ever had. Such a good choice at breakfast and we are used to staying away a lot. Nice gym didnt get to the pool but will try it next time there

Room Tip: Book a seaview room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks you for a great review I am delighted that both the staff and facilities were to your requirements and that you enjoyed our Yorkshire Breakfast.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing