We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Rather than being a review after a stay, I would like to comment in advance.
My husband and I were due to return to the hotel this weekend for what is becoming an annual wedding anniversary treat. Unfortunately my husband has caught influenza so is not well enough. I contacted the hotel to advise them of this expecting to lose our deposit but was very pleased to be told that because I had stayed on previous occasions the hotel would rearrange to another time. We are now going at Easter.
All too often nowadays customer service takes second place but it is reassuring to know that loyalty is rewarded at the Crown Spa even when business priorities have to be maintained. Thank you Rachel Laura and Amy. Thank you to Daphne the sales manager. We are so much looking forward to a late wedding anniversary stay which will be all the better for the wait

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_SNorthLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

I do hope that your husband is feeling better and we look forward to seeing you over the Easter period. The weather this weekend was wonderful and I do hope that it’s like this for the rest of the year.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,509 - 4,515 of 5,002 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Highly recommended - good continental breakfast - good spa facilities - only strange thing was watching football in the tea room

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thanks you for a great review I am delighted that both the staff and facilities were to your requirements

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is great, located at the south bay which is really handy with a lovely walk to the centre and has the greatest view. Service is great unintrusive but with the helpfulness and satisfaction. Rooms are clean. Dinner and breakfast are both superb without a doubt. Would definately return a gemstone in Scarborough's crown

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleater1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you so much for such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Me and my husband have just visited the Crown Spa for a weekend break and truly enjoyed ourselves from start to finish. The evening meal was very good and a real bargain, £54 for 2 x 3 course meals, I had the lamb that was melt in your mouth. The room was great (310) very clean, warm and comfortable and we loved the lighting in the bathroom and the shower. The staff were very polite and capable!! Then we went for a massage at the spa and personally I was blown away, the girls Abbie and Jenny were very welcoming, knew what they were doing and again really nice girls. This weekend away really meant alot to us as with 4 children getting away is really hard and I have to say we were NOT dissapointed. Regarding some of the other reviews, it really is a good job that hotels can't write reviews on us.

Once again Crown Spa thank you for a lovely weekend.

Ps Just 1 more thing and a very small complain ( I did make reception aware on departure) as part of our deal we had late check out till 12 but when we went back to our room at 11 am our card would not unlock the door as I'm guessing the rooms card keys are cleared at the normal 11am check out time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

May I first of all say thanks you for a great review I am delighted that both the staff and facilities were to your requirements and that you have left the hotel having enjoyed a great weekend.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team especially Abbie and Jenny and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With regards to the key card the information is programmed into the key and reception can only override the 11am check-out by re-writing the card.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just come home from a weekend here,didnt book direct booked through a search engine cheaper, The room we had was on the fifth floor well decorated clean , large flat screen tv i pod dock room finished to high standard even had a tv in the bathroom only fault was this morning shower cold

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sujo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

May I first of all say thank you for a mostly positive review. We are always a little disappointed when things are not perfect for our customers and a cold shower is not acceptable.


With regards to booking please don’t hesitate to check the hotels website where I’m sure you will find plenty of great deals.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just got back from a fabulous weekend at the Crown Spa, without doubt one of the best hotels I've stayed at in the UK. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the feature rooms which was impeccable, the twin sinks and television at the end of bath were great touches. Like a couple of other reviewers the room did seem a little warm even after we'd turned the radioator off so having a french door and a balcony we could sit on was fantastic - not something I thought I'd be saying about a weekend on the East Coast in February! To be fair though the weekend was unseasonably warm so it might have been that the heating system was still in winter mode. All the staff we encountered were great and went out of their way to help us during our stay. I'd definitely recommend paying the little extra for a room facing the sea as the view down is breath-taking. The hotel is just far enough away from the main strip to make it feel all the more exclusive but a ten minute walk and you're in the heart of things gives you the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out go for a feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you so much for such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

Room 112 is a delightful room and the views across the bay are fantastic, unfortunately the weather in Scarborough has turned a little cold so the heating system will have to stay in winter mode a little longer.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff, we always endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The best hotel we have stayed at.the staff are so helpfull and nothing is to much trouble even when they are very busy. The breakfast is to Die for and the meals in the restaurant are of the same standered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, we're very proud of the hotel and really do appreciate hearing the great comments made.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing