We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in an elegant resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an elegant resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Wonderful location, spotlessly clean, very spacious and comfortable rooms, relaxed lounge, excellent stylish spa facilities, friendly staff, whats not to like?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank adriangrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you so much for your short yet positive review, both the Crown and Scarborough are wonderful places and all that visit are often surprised how wonderful both are.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    1,443
    525
    179
    130
See reviews for
679
2,842
131
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We decided at short notice to have a Saturday night away. Found this hotel on the internet and booked it based on the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Everybody was correct, the staff were brilliant from the moment we checked in, receptionist was polite and very helpful. Our room (306) was large, spotlessly clean with a great view over the sea. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom with its rain shower was superior to many 5* hotels we have stayed in around the world. We dined in and the food, the service was exemplarary. We didnt use the Spa because of a shortage of time, had a look and will use next time we come, which we will definately do. Thanks to all for making a quick night away so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph8546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
What a pleasure to read your review not only have you had a relaxing stay and pointed out in great detail what some of the features of the hotel. I do hope that more people read your review and follow suit and visit Scarborough.

Room 306 was once a very cramped family room but during our renovations we turned it into a king-size double with views of the bay from the bed .

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at the Crown Spa last Friday for the 25th anniversary of when Scarborough got promoted to the football league. As a Hotel General Manager for the last 30 years I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The bedroom standard was very good as was the bathroom. Really enjoyed the excellent ground coffee in the room. This little touch was appreciated. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
What a pleasure to read your review not only from a customer but also a fellow hotel manager. Im glad that the staff and function went well and do hope that one day in the not too distant future that Scarborough will have a football team in the higher leagues and bring back the old glory days.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had our wedding reception here in 2005 and this was our third stay since. Whilst enjoying every experience i have had at the Crown, i would have to say this was my favourite return visit. We booked for two nights in a "feature" room, complete with balcony and took advantage of the "fine dining" on the first night. From the moment i checked in every member of staff i spoke to were excellent. The young lady at reception was very helpful and friendly, the staff in the restaurant were very good, particularly the man who seated us, and this standard was carried on through every member of the team we encountered. The room was of a very good standard as i have come to expect and the dining experience was indeed, fine. My wife is a vegetarian and was delighted with the choices available and shared my view that the food was amazing. I had the catch of the day, sea bream, it was fantastic!. A very comfortable and relaxed stay, my only complaint would be we had to leave. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: If you can, try a feature room. Also, make use of the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
First of all I would like to say thanks for the positive comments regarding the Crown and so pleased that you enjoyed the feature room. Nothing pleases me and the staff more than when our customers return time after time it tells us all that all of the hard work we put in is worth while.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

arrived at hotel reception staff helpful, given our room 254 walked into room to be greeted with a large bare bay window witch gave you the feeling of been over looked by the street and other building it would benefited from net curtains like some of the other rooms had

partner then made coffee to relax and discovered a carton of milk witch was open and had gone off some time ago, following morning had contintail breakfast witch was very good at an extra cost of £9.95,

After a good night out we returned to the hotel around 8pm hoping to eat at the hotel wanted to go into the taste restaurant told have to wait at least an hour table we were told we could go in to the light bite room to eat from that menu however the staff on duty were very rude to us leaving us to find our own table and then ignored us for half an hour despite trying to attracted attention of staff. after waiting for so long with no service despite staff chatting to each other witch included managers we decided to return to our room hungry.

on conclusion it took the edge off the weekend with was our first anniversary as a couple
our first visit was very good this is why we returned to this hotel not sure if we would ever book this hotel again now

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Lowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
I would like to say how shocked I am at your review, we do not accept poor customer service at the Crown and anyone that reads our tripadvisor reviews will see that good service from polite staff is something that we are praised for and are very proud of. If you could please contact me with the date of your stay on the following email I shall look into what happened on that evening and deal with the issues. davidchambers@crownspahotel.com.

We do always ask that reservations are made for the restaurant as we are an extremely busy hotel and hate when our guests are disappointed. Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention as we do take all of our customers comments and reviews very seriously.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I spent a glorious 4 hours in the Spa which is an absolute must if you stay in the hotle or just visit Scarborough. I heard someone talking to his friend in the venicular lift on the sea front about their experience so I decided to give it a go myself. I had the best body massage I have ever had combined with a 'fire and ice' experience. The staff are lovely and helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed myself - I was walking on air for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDaisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review, I have been lucky enough to experience the wonderful treatments that the spa provide and fully agree that it is something not to be missed, I would also say the the level of service in the spa is also carried out through the building in all departments.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The crown spa has got to be scarborough's jewel in the crown !!!!!!! . Arrived on fri for a 2nt stay and was upgraded to a lovely penthouse room free of charge . We decided to dine in the hotel's Taste restaurant the 1st night which was nicely presented and cooked to perfection all washed down with a good bottle of wine . Free parking just outside the hotel just ask at reception for a parking disc . Lovely friendly staff and all in all a very well run hotel .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyQBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Your review says it all and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, on occasion we are able to offer free upgrades and as in this case they are always appreciated. As always we are even more happy when any guest makes a return visit which once again is the case.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing