We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Crown Spa for my Sisters wedding and all I can say is that the hotel, the spa and all other satff were nothing short of amazing. The level of service this hotel gives is impeccable and everyone who is a part of the Crown Spa should be very proud of the service they provide.
We will most definitely be back soon.. Thank you...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

May I first of all say thank you for such a positive review. We are often too busy to appreciate what a lovely hotel we work in and its great when somebody responds using the words amazing and what’s better still is that you are the second customer in two days.

I am delighted that all went well with the wedding and that a wonderful time was had by all.


I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,417 - 4,423 of 4,954 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

i love the fact that we have such a beautiful hotel in scarborough .... I have used the gym facilities before and also have had a room for a romantic evening... it is beautiful and just as a hotel should be.. an asset. and the Gym is amazing it has everything you need and more... the spa!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, we're very proud of the hotel and really do appreciate hearing the great comments made.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Wonderful location, spotlessly clean, very spacious and comfortable rooms, relaxed lounge, excellent stylish spa facilities, friendly staff, whats not to like?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank adriangrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you so much for your short yet positive review, both the Crown and Scarborough are wonderful places and all that visit are often surprised how wonderful both are.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We decided at short notice to have a Saturday night away. Found this hotel on the internet and booked it based on the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Everybody was correct, the staff were brilliant from the moment we checked in, receptionist was polite and very helpful. Our room (306) was large, spotlessly clean with a great view over the sea. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom with its rain shower was superior to many 5* hotels we have stayed in around the world. We dined in and the food, the service was exemplarary. We didnt use the Spa because of a shortage of time, had a look and will use next time we come, which we will definately do. Thanks to all for making a quick night away so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph8546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

What a pleasure to read your review not only have you had a relaxing stay and pointed out in great detail what some of the features of the hotel. I do hope that more people read your review and follow suit and visit Scarborough.

Room 306 was once a very cramped family room but during our renovations we turned it into a king-size double with views of the bay from the bed .

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at the Crown Spa last Friday for the 25th anniversary of when Scarborough got promoted to the football league. As a Hotel General Manager for the last 30 years I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The bedroom standard was very good as was the bathroom. Really enjoyed the excellent ground coffee in the room. This little touch was appreciated. Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

What a pleasure to read your review not only from a customer but also a fellow hotel manager. Im glad that the staff and function went well and do hope that one day in the not too distant future that Scarborough will have a football team in the higher leagues and bring back the old glory days.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had our wedding reception here in 2005 and this was our third stay since. Whilst enjoying every experience i have had at the Crown, i would have to say this was my favourite return visit. We booked for two nights in a "feature" room, complete with balcony and took advantage of the "fine dining" on the first night. From the moment i checked in every member of staff i spoke to were excellent. The young lady at reception was very helpful and friendly, the staff in the restaurant were very good, particularly the man who seated us, and this standard was carried on through every member of the team we encountered. The room was of a very good standard as i have come to expect and the dining experience was indeed, fine. My wife is a vegetarian and was delighted with the choices available and shared my view that the food was amazing. I had the catch of the day, sea bream, it was fantastic!. A very comfortable and relaxed stay, my only complaint would be we had to leave. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: If you can, try a feature room. Also, make use of the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

First of all I would like to say thanks for the positive comments regarding the Crown and so pleased that you enjoyed the feature room. Nothing pleases me and the staff more than when our customers return time after time it tells us all that all of the hard work we put in is worth while.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

arrived at hotel reception staff helpful, given our room 254 walked into room to be greeted with a large bare bay window witch gave you the feeling of been over looked by the street and other building it would benefited from net curtains like some of the other rooms had

partner then made coffee to relax and discovered a carton of milk witch was open and had gone off some time ago, following morning had contintail breakfast witch was very good at an extra cost of £9.95,

After a good night out we returned to the hotel around 8pm hoping to eat at the hotel wanted to go into the taste restaurant told have to wait at least an hour table we were told we could go in to the light bite room to eat from that menu however the staff on duty were very rude to us leaving us to find our own table and then ignored us for half an hour despite trying to attracted attention of staff. after waiting for so long with no service despite staff chatting to each other witch included managers we decided to return to our room hungry.

on conclusion it took the edge off the weekend with was our first anniversary as a couple
our first visit was very good this is why we returned to this hotel not sure if we would ever book this hotel again now

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris-Lowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

I would like to say how shocked I am at your review, we do not accept poor customer service at the Crown and anyone that reads our tripadvisor reviews will see that good service from polite staff is something that we are praised for and are very proud of. If you could please contact me with the date of your stay on the following email I shall look into what happened on that evening and deal with the issues. davidchambers@crownspahotel.com.

We do always ask that reservations are made for the restaurant as we are an extremely busy hotel and hate when our guests are disappointed. Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention as we do take all of our customers comments and reviews very seriously.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing