We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but needs improving”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It was a good stay and the staff were great but a few annoying things.

OK not major but the TV was a nightmare and to be honest too big which is not mornally the case.

The biggest complaint is that due to flexibility of the hotel to use the rooms they do (as many hotels) join twin beds to make king size ones. Annoying as it forms a ridge down the centre and in this case it was not comfortable.

The breakfast was good and service was great but it was overpriced for what you get.

Free wifi that worked was good and welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
May I first of all say how disappointed I am you feel the hotel needs to improve? We constantly request and embrace customer feedback and always feel disappointed when such small issues spoil a customer’s stay.

Yours is the first review that has ever stated the television was too big which leaves me in a position of believing this has not been an issue to other customers. We have over the last couple of weeks had one or two issues with the televisions which have since been remedied by the engineer who noted that the frequency and strength of the signal in the area had been changed which meant a little tweaking at this end brought all televisions back to normal.

As with the beds you are on the right track with how hotels turn rooms from a double to a twin. The beds are an industry standard and are called zip and links in our case they are almost permanently zipped together and occasionally pulled apart at customers request.

I do hope that these minor issues wont stop you from returning to the Crown and that you feel we have improved, I would also ask that yourself and any customers that may have issues whilst staying with us however small that you speak to us during your stay.

Kind Regards


David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,357
    1,522
    549
    186
    135
See reviews for
711
3,008
142
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Was dissapointed with the Crown Spa Hotel, not 4 star in my opinion. The reception was good, room although they said had upgraded us to superior wasnt that good.

The spa including swimming pool was excelent.

The restaurant was poor. When we checked in I booked a table for 6, I was shown the restaurants as there were 3 areas, I chose the area, when we actually went down to the table was told by the head man that he had to set us a table up in the tv room as overbooked. We had our dinner which was very expensive in a very small TV lounge with Football on full blast!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinebrown186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
May I first of all say how disappointed I am that your stay was not an enjoyable one, if possible could you forward me the date of your stay and the name the reservation was under to davidchambers@crownspahotel.com.


We always aim to please all of our customers and in cases where this doesn’t seem to happen I always make sure that it is investigated so that customers can receive the four star service that they deserve.


Kind Regards


David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

First time I went away for a spa weekend and it won't be the last, tried a mud rasul with my girlfriend which was included in our package, then enjoyed a few cycles of the fire and ice experience steam and ice room before retiring to the chill out room thoroughly relaxed and feeling a million miles away from the stress of work, 3 times a year for me from now on

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thanks for a great review and please do come back soon, customers always feel that the batteries have been recharged after the treatments.

I will pass on your positive comments to all staff and management who I know will be delighted we have another satisfied customer.


Kind Regards


David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have just returned from a weekend at the Crown Spa Hotel with 30 family and friends to celebrate my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary.

What a superb hotel, my father has recently fallen and broken his hip and it was touch and go up until the last minute whether the celebrations would go ahead. Thankfully he made it and the hotel did everything they could to make sure he was comfortable, providing hand rails in the bathroom and everything he could possibly need. They were allocated a large room to accomodate the wheelchair, with large windows and a balcony (pity he didn't get chance to use it), but my Mum did!

The staff, facilities and certainly the food really deserve 5*

The hotel is in a lovely position with lovely view of the coastline towards Filey, some rooms have better views than others!

The Spa facilities are good, you need longer than a weekend to try them all.

The only criticism of the hotel I have is that it could do with air conditioning in the rooms and the water temperature control in the bathroom wasn't brilliant - too hot, usually people complain in hotels the water is cold!

Would certainly recommend it for either a break or a family celebration and I know all our party wouldn't hesitate to do the same!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you so much for a wonderful review and I do hope that your father is getting back to full fitness. All too often this forum is used in a very negative way but when we have a customer commenting on a party of 30 people an d claiming that the staff facilities and food deserve five stars then we know we are doing a great job.

We have in the past looked into Air Conditioning but feel that it would be detrimental to both the environment and our green credentials.

I will pass on your positive comments to all staff and management who I know will be delighted we have another satisfied customer.


Kind Regards


David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Absolutely amazing hotel, facilities are excellent and staff cannot do enough to please. We have recently held our wedding at the hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. We had a fantastic stay and cant wait till our next visit

Room Tip: definatley has to be a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Once again congratulations and thanks for a wonderful review, as always it gives us great pleasure to be a part of a couples special day and I do hope that you keep returning to the Crown for years to come.

I will pass on your positive comments to all staff and management who I know will be delighted we have another satisfied customer.


Kind Regards


David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Crown Spa for my Sisters wedding and all I can say is that the hotel, the spa and all other satff were nothing short of amazing. The level of service this hotel gives is impeccable and everyone who is a part of the Crown Spa should be very proud of the service they provide.
We will most definitely be back soon.. Thank you...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
May I first of all say thank you for such a positive review. We are often too busy to appreciate what a lovely hotel we work in and its great when somebody responds using the words amazing and what’s better still is that you are the second customer in two days.

I am delighted that all went well with the wedding and that a wonderful time was had by all.


I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

i love the fact that we have such a beautiful hotel in scarborough .... I have used the gym facilities before and also have had a room for a romantic evening... it is beautiful and just as a hotel should be.. an asset. and the Gym is amazing it has everything you need and more... the spa!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, we're very proud of the hotel and really do appreciate hearing the great comments made.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing