We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mutton dressed as lamb” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed as lamb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Nice rooms, very nice staff (except restaurant manager) great facilities. Grossly overpriced.Food poor, I dont know which part of yhe coninent the breakast comes from but it is not in Europe.Health facilities were book solid for the duration of our stay. Not recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.

I can only ask that future customers continue reading other reviews for the Crown so that they can form a solid reason of why to book with us, as I do not feel that yours is a true representation of the food or service we provide.

We have a health spa with four therapy suites that is staffed right through the weekend, its success is shown in that bookings are a must before a visit as we rarely have any slots free at weekend unless there has been a cancellation.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,224
    1,442
    525
    178
    130
See reviews for
678
2,832
131
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Booked a Feature Room as a treat Web Site States Same as a Superior King Room, plus: a touch of opulence Mmmm Old yes Opulent No No was given room 120 very disappointing it should be a touch of class & grandeur, search Google images for a opulent hotel room this is what they should be like, i would say not as described but that is my view so other views on Opulent could be different & we would not recommend, anyway i will not go on it was not what we were expecting & very very disappointing big 0 stars here.

However all was not lost we have stayed here before on the Modern 5th floor so asked at reception to be moved to a more modern room did not want to ask for another feature room, Not a problem & we were offered room 516 with a sea view much much more like it clean & fresh & how it should be for a Modern executive room & as described , i would not hesitate in recommending the top floor rooms 5 Stars.

All the little room extras teddy, good bath towels & robes, fresh coffee and tea and a tv in the bathroom & much more go a long way in making the stay more relaxing

Continental Breakfast was very good quality, plenty of choice

If we had booked a Executive Room on the 5th floor we would of given 5 stars we paid for a Feature room & we were totally disappointed.

The individual scores for value we have marked terrible Value for the Feature room if we could have another for Executive room this would be Excellent.

Room Tip: Room 516 5th Floor Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Crown is 167 years old and the first floor feature rooms do I feel have opulent characteristics, anyone who takes the time to read through many of the reviews on trip advisor will see that feature rooms do get a great deal of praise and are enjoyed by many customers. I am sorry that on this occasion this is not the way you feel.

Bedrooms on the top floor were built three years ago and are built in a style that would be called 21st century and not Victorian, enabling us to add lots of quirky feature giving them a more contemporary look and feel.

I will certainly take the positive aspects from your review and pass on your kind words to our team.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in a superior king room and it was a fabulous room. Loved the pink spotlights in the bathroom and the contemporary decor. In a great location overlooking the sea and well worth a little extra for a great 4starhotel.
The pool and relaxation suite was one of the best and teamed old world tyling with lots of coloured spotlights and LED's to make the whole place feel modern. Amazing gym and superb range of complimentary therapies to enjoy.
Great breakfast finished off a perfect relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Once again thank you for your comments that I can assure you we take on board to enable us to provide a better service for future customers

Thank you for a lovely review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and left the Crown feeling relaxed.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have been staying at the Crown for many years and have seen it change and 'upgrade' over this period. Mostly the upgrading of this lovely Georgian building has been good - excellent bathrooms, comfortable bed rooms with super king sized beds - but we were sad when the elegant dining room with its white tablecloths was replaced a few years ago by a series of noisy small rooms decoratively resembling motorway service station cafes. We kept returning because of the lovely bedrooms with their stunning sea views, because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the enjoyable swimming pool, jacuzzi and spa facilities...

Our most recent visit was a three night stay earlier in September and as usual the staff were very welcoming and friendly, particularly the staff who helped my husband to recharge his mobility scooter overnight. Also several of the bar staff were especially friendly and welcoming.

Because of his mobility problems my husband needs a walk in shower, and it is surprising that in such a large hotel which caters for disabled visitors, with a dedicated ramp from the footpath to its elegant front doors, that there are only two rooms with walk in showers in the entire hotel - and only one of those rooms has a sea view. All other rooms have showers over the baths. Our shower room was ideal; in addition it had two basins, one at a level for wheelchair users and the hotel supplied four grab rails, which we were able to attach to the walls where they were needed. However, these suction based handles are not always foolproof - my husband did once find one come away as he was holding on to it - and in a room which caters for the disabled it would be more sensible to have permanently fixed handrails in the shower area.

On our first night, after a fraught journey, we had hoped for a quiet bar meal in relaxing surroundings. The lounge adjoining the bar, where we could have eaten, was full and we were shown to one of the several dining areas - the others being used for 'restaurant' diners. The room was dominated by a huge wall- mounted flat- screen TV showing a noisy cricket match; most of our fellow diners seemed to be solitary men who were intent on watching the match so we didn't feel we could ask for it to be turned off, or the sound lowered. As the hotel bedrooms all have more than adequate TVs it seems unnecessary to have such a dominating screen in an eating area and on this occasion we found it intrusive and unpleasant. We gave our drinks order to the maitre d' who showed us to our seats and said he would bring the drinks to our table. At least fifteen minutes later the drinks hadn't arrived, we asked again, and eventually they were brought with apologies.. We had to wait another noticeably lengthy period before our meal arrived, all the time trying to block out the obtrusive noise of the TV and have a quiet conversation and relax. Usually the Crown food is excellent; on this occasion my pizza was unpleasantly over flavoured and my husband's meal was also not up to the usual Crown standards; the constant television background, and the long wait for our drinks and then the meal made us reluctant to linger to order puddings or coffee..

At breakfast we were lucky to get a table by the window in the small sunny dining room which overlooks the front garden. (The main dining room also has a large wall mounted television screen although at breakfast, while Sky news was showing, the sound was off; instead we had background music from some commercial radio channel interrupted with ads - it might have been the local radio - the same channel was playing in the lounge for much of our stay.While not everyone likes background muzak, some can be pleasant - when it is accompanied by loud advertisements it's not so appealing)

The Continental breakfast is self service, with one hot dish available;e.g. scrambled eggs one day ,a sausage mixture another. Full English breakfast can be ordered from a comprehensive menu.. In addition to the buffet of cereals, fruit, berries, prunes, tinned grapefruit segments, mandarin segments and yogurt there is a display of cheeses and hams and two trays of pastries.

However,an earlier review (which I hadn't read before our visit) mentioned seeing flies crawling on the uncovered cheeses and hams during their visit. On our visit these trays were covered (with ill fitting muslin cloches); but the other trays were uncovered and there were flies crawling on the buns and Danish pastries. When my husband mentioned this to the waiter, he was told that "Unfortunately" nothing could be done because there were only two covers available and these were already being used. This is a hotel which has a notice by the front door announcing a 5 star rating for hygiene; which prides itself on being the only 4 star hotel in Scarborough and which charges accordingly. It seems totally unbelievable that it does not have adequate funds to invest in a few attractive metal mesh, plastic or properly fitting fabric food covers to maintain its hygiene standards and protect the food on display. As far as we were concerned, the presence of the flies on the pastries rendered these inedible - and all the other uncovered food,including cereals and bread for toasting, highly suspect and totally unacceptable in a hotel of this standard.

Although we enjoyed our stay and as always I loved the swimming pool, the jacuzzi and our spacious and comfortable sea view room where we saw the sun rise over the beautiful bay, these concerns do leave us with some unpleasant impressions of our latest stay at what used to be our favourite seaside hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room; if you want a balcony room and are booking on line don't forget to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
May I first of all thank you for the positive comments made in your review and say how disappointed I am that there were issues that you felt strongly enough to reconsider a future visit. I do hope that I am able to change your thoughts and that you will return.

Unfortunately the hotel does only have one sea view room with a walk in shower but we do have a further eight rooms with this same facility and not a total of two, we have them in all areas of the hotel as to accommodate the needs of our varied clientele.

About five years ago the hotel was three star and what can only be described as a chintzy seaside dining room and the company realised that times were changing and customers wanted a more contemporary look in hotels. This along with the fact that the tourism business has changed considerably in Scarborough, along with customers staying for a week at a time are few and far between. All in all this made us look at the setup of the restaurant and move forward to what we class as a contemporary restaurant with four individual dining areas to accommodate all tastes. In the five years that we have had the restaurant this way we have had many compliments along with one or two customers that would prefer the old dining room.

Sky television is an expensive service to purchase and we only have a budget to have it the one lounge, this has been a success story for us as many business travellers do sit alone for dinner with a during and enjoy following whatever sporting event may be on. Had the staff been asked I am sure they would have been more than happy to serve a bar meal in the restaurant and even with a tablecloth if requested.

I have taken on board the issues regarding the breakfast buffet and myself and the restaurant manager have purchased containers that will prevent issues like this in the future, I can assure you that there are no financial restraints when hygiene is concerned.

I do hope that you return to the Crown in the future and find that the recommendations put forward by yourself have been put into place.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stopped en route to Scotland, previous stop had been enjoyable at this Hotel and whilst the Room was first class, the issue lay around whether the team who were on duty for our two days, really were bothered about their clients.
Service with a smile, what happened to that, courtesy of a good morning when sitting down for breakfast would have been nice, rather than the feeling that we were not as important, as the wedding guests and the wedding fayre on the Sunday. This appears to be where the Hotel is concentrated, and seems to be the driver for their attention.
Car Parking on day 1 was ok, on the front, but day 2 was 3 streets away, not great for a Hotel of this standard, and to charge £6 per night for the open car park at the rear is taking money raising to the extreme, we paid more than enough to stop, without having to pay out further extras !!!
Car parking is a lottery and unfortunately for this hotel has always been the same.

The Spa experience was good, and probably worth the cost - Fire & Ice package taken.
Room was excellent - roomy, tidy, plenty of hanging and draw space, bed was large with plenty of pillow options and all in all this offset the lack of attention from the staff. Nice to be able to view the sea and the unexpected firework display added value.

Room Tip: Sea view would be recommended. Parking is by scratch card which is ok, but finding a space near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I must apologise that some of the staff may not have been as welcoming as they should have been but feel that this was due to a very busy weekend which also contributed to difficulties parking.

We would love the luxury of having a car park with enough spaces to accommodate a car for all 115 rooms but this isn’t the case and the hotel car park is limited to 20 spaces which like many hotels are sold on a daily basis.

Thank you for the positive comments regarding both the room and the Spa.

Once again thank you for your comments that I can assure you we take on board to enable us to provide a better service for future customers

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights 23rd sept to the 25th sept
Was a birthday treat, first impressions were lovely, lavish entrance, and staff well appointed.

Positives
Location
Friendliness’ of the staff, bar staff the most
Bathroom, lovely, good sized bath, and well decorated
Free use of umbrella’s (we needed them)

Negatives
Hotel parking £6 per day or free on the road if spaces are available
No English breakfast
Terrible route through hotel from hotel car park. Park at front and drop bags off there.
hallways need a deep carpet clean.
Beds poorly made, valance missing off one side

Room Tip: make sure you get a seaview room, otherwise your at the back of the hotel and the is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1971lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am a little confused that you feel the hotel is not as luxurious as it once was. We have always tried to improve the hotel and many guests do comment that the hotel just keeps getting better, I am sorry that you didn’t feel the same and do wish that you had asked to speak to me during your stay.

Once again thank you for your comments that I can assure you we take on board to enable us to provide a better service for future customers

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Throughly enjoyed our stay at The Crown Spa over the weekend. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, sorted out parking my car and arranged for our bags to be taken to the room so we could head straight out. The room was great and well apppointed. We did not have a sea view as we were at the back of the hotel but this was fine for us. I am not complaining but the room was very very warm, however, I opened the room window and the bathroom window and once the sun dropped it soon cooled down. I used the bar in the evening and enjoyed rapid service. The continental breakfast was superb and once again the guy that showed us to our seats was helpful and explained everything clearly. We will almost certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D3rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for a lovely review and must say that I am delighted that you would be happy to return to the Crown.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing